In order for students and faculty to be able to access our materials from off-campus, QU libraries use proxy links (QU authentication page is included); this ensures that only those who are affiliated with QU can access our databases.
The library’s proxy URL generator allows users to create proxy URL to be used in such as Blackboard courses.
Many of the faculty at the School of Medicine will use material from the listed textbooks to inform their courses. All required textbooks are available through the Netter Library, either as eBooks or in print via the Netter Library Reserve Desk.
Basic Immunology by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Contains new and expanded content on pandemics, COVID-19, and herd immunity; resistance and susceptibility to COVID-19; RNA vaccines and hybrid viral vaccines; tumor immunotherapy; innate immune responses to viruses; mechanisms of immunologic tolerance; and immunotherapy for autoimmune, allergic, and other inflammatory diseases, and cancer. Provides unrivalled instruction from an expert author team, all of whom are experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to cover new information and improve reader understanding of complex concepts. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions and self-assessment questions. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers of medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text and figures, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text in book-only format includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th Edition, provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice. Highly respected for its authoritative expertise and preferred by students for its concise, consistent approach, the text is fully aligned with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based. The 9th Edition is updated throughout and enhanced with engaging new features that encourage reflection, strengthen retention, and deliver critical preparation for exams and clinical practice. UPDATED! New and revised content throughout reflects the latest perspectives on lactation, hypertensive disorders, alloimmunization, postpartum infection, anxiety and depression, obstetrics procedures, family planning, and violence against women. NEW! Case Vignettes provide critical practice applying knowledge for shelf exams and the USMLE. NEW! Pause, Think, and Apply practice questions foster reflection and test students' comprehension. Concise, digestible chapters rich with helpful pedagogy and dynamic full-color imagery simplify key clinical concepts for easier understanding and retention. Clinical "pearls" alert students to specific issues encountered in gynecologic and obstetric practice.
Berne and Levy Physiology by
Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples-all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians. Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function. Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science. Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system. Begins each chapter with a bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
BRS Physiology by
The leading physiology review on the market, BRS Physiology, 8th Edition, delivers a concise, highly efficient review of all essential physiology concepts students encounter in the first and second year of medical school, as well as more than 350 clinical vignette-style, multiple-choice questions to help them prepare for course exams and practice for the USMLE Step 1. This bestselling title in the Board Review Series is preferred by students for its comprehensive yet efficient approach to exam prep and trusted by instructors for author Linda S. Costanzo's masterful approach, communicating complex physiology concepts in an accessible manner. Extensively updated and incorporating abundant illustrations, flow charts, tables, and a comprehensive practice exam, this 8th Edition equips today's students with the unparalleled preparation and confidence to excel on exams and beyond. Study efficiently with a concise outline format that makes essential information easy to review at a glance. Prepare for course and board exams with topical chapter questions and a 100-question Comprehensive Exam, accompanied by complete answers, rationales, and cross-references for efficient remediation. More than 260 multiple-choice questions in chapter exams test students' understanding of chapter content; detailed explanations provide an additional learning tool. Build long-term retention with more than 120 full-color illustrations and charts that clarify complex information, as well as 50 detailed tables. Reference essential information conveniently with appendices on Key Physiology Topics for the USMLE Step 1, Key Physiology Equations for the USMLE Step I, and Normal Blood Values. Create connections between physiology knowledge and clinical medicine with new Clinical Correlation boxes.
Cell Biology by
Reader-friendly Cell Biology, 4th Edition, provides a concise but comprehensive foundation for students entering research or health care career paths. Award winning illustrations help readers quickly grasp general principles. The authors have thoroughly updated this popular text to provide readers with the current understanding of the principles of normal cellular function along with examples of how molecular defects predispose to human disease. Major new themes in the 4th edition include the roles of intrinsically disordered polypeptides and phase separation in cellular functions, the influence of new molecular structures on understanding mechanisms, and the impact of exciting new methods-from single cell RNA sequencing to second generation super resolution fluorescence microscopy-on advancing our understanding. Clear, readable explanations provide a concise story about how cells function at the molecular level. An intuitive chapter flow starts with genome organization, gene expression, and RNA processing as a foundation for understanding every aspect of cellular function and physiology. Brings cellular biology to life for students interested in medical science by explaining how mutations in genes can compromise virtually every cellular system and predispose to human disease. Knowledge of cell biology has led to new treatments for cancer, heart failure, cystic fibrosis, and many other diseases. Unique illustrations with realistic proportions and relationships explain every cellular process including the assembly of SARS CoV-2, the structures attaching mitotic chromosomes to microtubules, the mechanism of DNA replication and how pumps, carriers and channels orchestrate physiological processes from synaptic transmission to cellular volume regulation. Covers exciting breakthroughs such as SMC motor proteins actively organizing chromosomal DNA, TOR kinases regulating metabolism, new types of immunotherapy for cancer treatment, mechanisms regulating fast axonal transport and their relation to neurodegenerative diseases, how completion of DNA replication sets the time for cells to enter mitosis, how a cascade of signals specifies the site of cell division, and newly understood pathways of normal and pathological cell death. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Costanzo Physiology by
Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles. Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more. Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo. Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text. Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Family Medicine by
A staple of family medicine training for 30 years, Essentials of Family Medicine offers a comprehensive introduction to this specialty designed just for clerkship students. Covering principles of family medicine, preventive care, and a full range of common ambulatory care problems, it provides all the guidance you need to succeed on a clinical rotation in family medicine. This 7th Edition features many significant changes, including a new, stronger focus on the hands-on "how-tos" of family medicine...a great deal of new coverage related to direct care, the context of care, and community medicine...input from a new Student Advisory Board to ensure the practicality and utility of the content... and many other key updates to keep Essentials of Family Medicine as relevant as possible for today's practice. You'll appreciate its user-friendly writing style, focus on common clinical problems, and use of case studies to illustrate practical applications of key concepts. Meet the challenges of contemporary practice with many brand-new chapters and updates throughout. Effectively navigate the challenges you'll face in your clerkship thanks to a new emphasis on how to approach specific situations. Enjoy content that's optimized for your needs through input from an advisory team of 4th-year medical students. See how concepts apply to practice with chapter-opening case studies, and build your clinical skills with clinical questions and case discussions that simulate the patient encounter.
Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Now combining general surgery and the specialties in one volume, this Sixth Edition of Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties focuses on the information all medical students need to know to pass the NBME surgery shelf or other surgery rotation examinations. This new edition of Lawrence's popular text offers concise, high-yield content and a smaller format ideal for study on the go. Updated to reflect the latest advances in the field, it provides the authoritative, up-to-date content today's busy medical students need for exam success. Includes general surgery and surgical specialties all in one volume Offers authoritative information by leading surgery educators Provides five in-book practice questions per chapter, with additional questions online Practice questions include answers and references to the area within the text where the topics are covered Focuses on high-yield information for quick reference Offers an array of online resources for both students and faculty eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2023! Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Histology: a Text and Atlas by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, this bestselling resource equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. Updated content throughout the text reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. Ideal for integrated curriculums as well as standalone histology courses, this proven approach is accompanied by popular pedagogical features that distill complex information and help students save time. "Two-in-one" approach supplements clearly written chapters with dynamic atlas plates to enhance understanding at the point of learning. Updated content equips students with the most current, clinically relevant understanding of cellular and molecular biology. 435 high-resolution, full-color digital photomicrographs across more than 100 atlas plates clarify key structures. Updated full-color illustrations and clinical images refine students' understanding of microanatomy and cell and molecular biology in rich detail. Updated Histology "101" Notebook reviews summarize chapter content in a concise, notebook-style format preferred by students. Color-coded text highlights key terms and clinical information for fast, efficient reference. Boxed Clinical Correlation Folders familiarize students with conditions they may encounter on rotations during clerkship. Tables and bulleted text give quick access to staining techniques and other essential chapter details. Online USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions and clinical vignettes help students assess their understanding and prepare for board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by
The Best-Selling Resource in Psychiatry NOW UPDATED with DSM-5! The new and thoroughly updated 11th edition of Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry: Behavioral Sciences/Clinical Psychiatry is a complete overview of the entire field of psychiatry for clinicians, residents, students, and all others who provide mental health care. In this best-selling textbook in psychiatry for over 40 years, the reader will find a thorough discussion of both the behavioral sciences and clinical psychiatry. The 11th edition integrates all the DSM-5 criteria and provides a detailed and comprehensive overview of treatment methods for every known mental disorder. The 11th edition is set apart from any other reference you have and includes: DSM-5 diagnostic tables on every major psychiatric disorder. A psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action and updated to include all of the new drugs including those in preparation. Extensive use of case studies and illustrations to enhance the learning experience. The most current treatment methods including a description of all newly introduced psychotherapeutic techniques. A completely revised section on neurocognitive disorders organized along the DSM-5 model. An updated and expanded section on child psychiatry; now includes a guide to diagnosis and treatment of autism spectrum disorder and other disorders of childhood. A fully searchable eBook, bundled with the print. This publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list. The Synopsis of Psychiatry has been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for psychiatrists both in the US and around the world. It has the reputation of being an independent, accurate, reliable and objective compendium of new events in the field of psychiatry. Now in its 11th edition, the tradition continues, both in print and digital formats--from the authorities you can trust. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Lange Clinical Neurology, 10th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic text that covers both the basic and clinical aspects of neurology - updated with the latest therapeutic advances A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since 1989, Clinical Neurology has helped students, residents, and clinicians understand the link between basic neuroscience and current approaches in diagnosis and treatment. Applauded for its practice-oriented approach to neurology based on the patient's presenting symptoms, this full-color resource delivers the clearest and most efficient introduction to the field available today. As with each new edition, the authors have retained and refined the instructional material relating to the function of the nervous system in health and disease and have updated the text with the latest diagnostic and therapeutic advances. Recent discoveries in molecular biology and immunology have led to the approval of new drugs for the treatment of multiple sclerosis (alemtuzumab), spinal muscular atrophy (nusinersen), amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (edaravone), and Huntington's disease (deutetrabenazine). These and other therapeutic advances are included in this new edition. Presented in full color, Clinical Neurology is enhanced by chapter outlines that facilitate a quick review of each topic, an emphasis on the neurologic examination and history taking as the cornerstone of diagnosis, and treatment protocols that reflect the most recent advances in the field. If you are in need of a clear, well-written introduction to neurology as practiced on the wards and in an outpatient setting, your search ends here.
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introduction establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Neuroanatomical Basis of Clinical Neurology by
Bridging the gap between the peripheral and central nervous systems, the second edition of Neuroanatomical Basis of Clinical Neurology enriches understanding of neurological conditions through a conceptual approach to neuronal circuitry. The book retains the basic outline of contents from the first edition, integrating structural organization with pertinent clinical disorders, while reflecting the substantial growth and ever-changing information in neuroscience After an introduction to the developmental and cellular aspects of the nervous system, the book discusses in depth the morphology and internal organization of the central nervous system. It examines the somatic and autonomic components of the peripheral nervous system, emphasizing nerve entrapments and neuropathies. The author describes various dysfunctions by demonstrating the neuronal interconnectivity between higher and lower autonomic centers and the mediation of visceral reflexes. The Second Edition incorporates and highlights common and relevant clinical conditions. Topics include: Various forms of cortical dysfunctions, such as seizures, disconnection syndrome, coma, and dementia The role of prefrontal cortex in behavior and attention, introducing the topic of autism Up-to-date information on the auditory, vestibular, gustatory, and limbic systems The neurochemistry of the limbic system, memory and associated disorders, and the structural and neuronal circuitry of the hippocampal gyrus Structural organization and associated pathways of the extrapyramidal system, demonstrating the neurochemical basis of movement disorders This new edition skillfully integrates over a decade of discovery in neuroscience since the publication of the first edition, and introduces deepened insights into the neuronal synaptic connectivity and the mechanisms that underlie neurologic disorders. The book remains an essential source of information for medical and allied health students, practitioners of neurology, and students of neuroscience.
NMS Medicine by
NMS Medicine, Seventh Edition is the ideal reference and review text for medical students in the internal medicine clerkship. The book provides medical students with a comprehensive and meticulously organized review of internal medicine and USMLE-style questions and case studies to reinforce key topics and concepts. Features include 500 USMLE-style questions in vignette format for self-study and assessment, a comprehensive exam, and a convenient outline format.
Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition by
A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Editionis a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. · Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Enthusiastically acclaimed by medical students and faculty worldwide, this text is specifically designed to prepare students for their first encounters with patients with cardiovascular disease. Thoroughly revised by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and a team of select cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, this seventh edition equips students with a clear, complete, and clinically relevant understanding of cardiovascular pathophysiology, setting a strong foundation for patient diagnosis and management. New seventh edition highlights: Review questions and answers in each chapter prepare students for course and board exams. New contributors include cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, who worked closely with faculty to extend coverage of clinically pertinent issues for medical students. Updated content reflects the latest understanding of mechanisms of cardiac disease and technological advances. Classic student-friendly features: Full-color illustrations help readers visualize and quickly grasp key concepts. Medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of many clinically relevant cardiovascular conditions. Introductory chapter outlines and end-of-chapter summaries provide organized, quick review of core information. Bonus online study tools: Animations help support understanding of complex, dynamic disease processes. Interactive question bank reinforces learning and improves retention.
Principles of Pharmacology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! This new edition was recognized as a highly commended title by the British Medical Association at the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards . Regarded by both students and instructors, Principles of Pharmacology: The Pathophysiologic Basis of Drug Therapy, 4th Edition , offers an integrated mechanism-based and systems-based approach to contemporary pharmacology and drug development. An easy-to-follow format helps first- and second-year students grasp challenging concepts quickly and efficiently. Each chapter presents a clinical vignette illustrating a therapeutic problem within a physiologic or biochemical system; followed by a discussion of the biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology of the system; and concluding with a presentation of the pharmacology of the drugs and drug classes that activate or inhibit the system by interacting with specific molecular and cellular targets. Chapters are integrated into sections that focus on organ systems and therapeutic areas of highest importance. Clear, concise illustrations highlight key points, and drug summary tables offer quick access to essential information. The Fourth Edition features: Comprehensive updates to all chapters, including recently approved drugs Nearly 40 popular and practical Drug Summary Tables with state-of-the-art information on clinical applications, serious and common adverse effects, contraindications, and therapeutic considerations A new chapter on drug transporters , and extensively revised information on drug-receptor interactions, pharmacodynamics, drug toxicity, and pharmacogenomics Key changes to Section 1: Fundamental Principles of Pharmacology, which now provides a comprehensive framework for material in all subsequent chapters Hundreds of meticulously updated and colorized illustrations , including many that are new or substantially modified to highlight new understanding of physiologic, pathophysiologic, and pharmacologic mechanisms
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Thompson & Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine (Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine) 9th Edition by
First published in 1966, Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine has become an essential textbook for medical students, genetic counseling students, students in laboratory medicine, and more advanced trainees. With its focus on fundamental principles in human genetics and genomics and their application to medicine, the book has served many as a well-thumbed resource they return to over and over.
Such students can continue to depend on this valuable text, joining those in newer fields of genome data analysis for all they need to know about genetics and genomics throughout their basic science training, clinical placements and beyond. Coverage includes new discoveries―such as the functional roles of non-coding RNAs, chromatin regulation and epigenetics―latest technologies, and new diagnoses they are enabling.
Under an expanded title, this ninth edition has been completely revised by a new editorial team overseeing a large cadre of contributing authors. Support groups have also assisted to update illustrations featuring beautiful images of those living with genetic conditions.
The Washington Manual of Critical Care by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The Washington Manual of Critical Care , similar to other volumes in this vaunted series, features authors and contributors who are faculty members and practicing physicians at Washington University's School of Medicine. Inside you'll find comprehensive and current information for bedside diagnosis and management of some of the most common illnesses and problems encountered in the ICU setting.Key Features Covers the treatment and management of shock, sepsis, acute episodes of COPD and asthma, myocardial infarctions, organ failure, and other conditions and disorders. Provides overviews of intubation and catheterization procedures, as well as of common drug side effects and drug-drug interactions. Contributors hail from departments in Internal Medicine, Neurology, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Anesthesiology. New chapters have been added on ECLS, critical care ultrasound, rheumatology, and management of transplant patients. Includes concise, easy-to-read diagnosis and treatment algorithms for common conditions, plus bibliographical references for additional, in-depth reading. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
