Basic Immunology by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Contains new and expanded content on pandemics, COVID-19, and herd immunity; resistance and susceptibility to COVID-19; RNA vaccines and hybrid viral vaccines; tumor immunotherapy; innate immune responses to viruses; mechanisms of immunologic tolerance; and immunotherapy for autoimmune, allergic, and other inflammatory diseases, and cancer. Provides unrivalled instruction from an expert author team, all of whom are experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to cover new information and improve reader understanding of complex concepts. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions and self-assessment questions. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers of medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text and figures, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Berne and Levy Physiology by
Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples-all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians. Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function. Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science. Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system. Begins each chapter with a bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cell Biology by
Reader-friendly Cell Biology, 4th Edition, provides a concise but comprehensive foundation for students entering research or health care career paths. Award winning illustrations help readers quickly grasp general principles. The authors have thoroughly updated this popular text to provide readers with the current understanding of the principles of normal cellular function along with examples of how molecular defects predispose to human disease. Major new themes in the 4th edition include the roles of intrinsically disordered polypeptides and phase separation in cellular functions, the influence of new molecular structures on understanding mechanisms, and the impact of exciting new methods-from single cell RNA sequencing to second generation super resolution fluorescence microscopy-on advancing our understanding. Clear, readable explanations provide a concise story about how cells function at the molecular level. An intuitive chapter flow starts with genome organization, gene expression, and RNA processing as a foundation for understanding every aspect of cellular function and physiology. Brings cellular biology to life for students interested in medical science by explaining how mutations in genes can compromise virtually every cellular system and predispose to human disease. Knowledge of cell biology has led to new treatments for cancer, heart failure, cystic fibrosis, and many other diseases. Unique illustrations with realistic proportions and relationships explain every cellular process including the assembly of SARS CoV-2, the structures attaching mitotic chromosomes to microtubules, the mechanism of DNA replication and how pumps, carriers and channels orchestrate physiological processes from synaptic transmission to cellular volume regulation. Covers exciting breakthroughs such as SMC motor proteins actively organizing chromosomal DNA, TOR kinases regulating metabolism, new types of immunotherapy for cancer treatment, mechanisms regulating fast axonal transport and their relation to neurodegenerative diseases, how completion of DNA replication sets the time for cells to enter mitosis, how a cascade of signals specifies the site of cell division, and newly understood pathways of normal and pathological cell death. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Harrison's Manual of Medicine, Twentieth Edition by 
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by 
Histology - A Text and Atlas by 
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by 
Lange Clinical Neurology, 10th Edition by 
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introduction establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by 
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by 
The Developing Human by
Also available at the Netter Library Reserve Desk.
Medical Biochemistry by
Written by carefully selected global experts, practicing physicians, and educators in the various sub-disciplines of biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today's latest developments. You'll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice. Features a strong clinical orientation, emphasizing the relevance of biochemistry to the daily practice of medicine. Highlights the latest developments in regulatory and molecular biology, signal transduction, age-related chronic disease, epigenetics, and bioinformatics and the "-omics," as well as important global medical issues such as diabetes mellitus, obesity and malnutrition, cancer and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, and nutrition and exercise. Emphasizes clinical evaluation, maintenance of good health, and disease prevention, as well as translational medicine and the diagnosis and treatment of disease. Contains organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the bone, kidney, liver, lungs and muscle; and system-focused chapters on the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems, neurochemistry and neurotransmission, and cancer. Includes clear, colorful icons and illustrations that help you easily navigate the text and understand the material. Provides online features such as challenging "Active Learning" questions for independent study, relevant websites that reinforce or supplement chapter content, 150+ multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions, a quick-reference glossary, additional images and case studies, references to current literature, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Medical Microbiology by
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease. Clear, engaging coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials of microbiology?effectively preparing you for your coursework, exams, and beyond. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Features significant new information on the human microbiome and its influence on the immune and other body systems, and new developments in microbial diagnosis, treatment, diseases, and pathogens. Updates every chapter with state-of-the-art information and current literature citations. Summarizes detailed information in tabular format rather than in lengthy text. Provides review questions at the end of each chapter that correlate basic science with clinical practice. Features clinical cases that illustrate the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases. Introduces microbe chapters with summaries and trigger words for easy review. Highlights the text with clear, colorful figures, clinical photographs, and images that help you visualize the clinical presentation of infections. Offers additional study features online, including 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, videos, and a new integrating chapter that provides hyperlinks between the microbes, the organ systems that they affect, and their diseases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuroanatomical Basis of Clinical Neurology by 
Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases by 
West's Respiratory Physiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! For more than 40 years, West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials has remained a critical resource for medical and allied health students learning the basics of respiratory physiology as well as an effective, quick review for residents and fellows in pulmonary medicine, critical care, anesthesiology, and internal medicine as they prepare for licensing and other exams. The eleventh edition incorporates updates in many areas including blood-tissue gas exchange, mechanics, control of ventilation and the respiratory system under stress; all designed to aid clear understanding of pulmonary physiology. Clinical vignettes with questions emphasize how the physiology described can be applied to clinical situations, reinforcing reasoning and critical thinking. More than 100 USMLE-style multiple-choice questions with full explanations test reasoning skills for comprehension and exam preparation. Additional learning objectives and chapter-opening content added to every chapter to improve understanding of key topics. Appendices include important equations, answers to the multiple-choice questions, and discussions of the answers to the end-of-chapter clinical vignettes. Online resources include animations that expand on and clarify challenging topics and an interactive question bank to allow self-testing and exam review.
Williams Hematology, 10th Edition by The Netter Library offers access to a number of eBook collections. Check out the following resources for more eBooks:
