School of Medicine

Find CT-specific data and statistics under "Statistics & Research."

Find regional data in the annual reports under "about us."

The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.

Births, births rates, deaths, and death rates by state and territory

For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.

State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. A thorough and exhaustive list of paces to find data, tools, and statistics on the web. Sources include data on the global, national, and state level. Includes diseases, demographics, and general health data.

Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. National and State databases on inpatient, emergency department and ambulatory surgery visits as well as information from reports and tools facilitate research on a broad range of health policy issues.

CDC provides statistics and data by topic. There are over 35 topic areas.
IMPORTANT: Make sure to peruse the other data systems in the right-hand tool bar.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

DATA2010 is an interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010. Healthy People 2010 contains 467 objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health in the first decade of the 21st Century.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. MMWR readership predominately consists of physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists and other scientists, researchers, educators, and laboratorians.

The CMS Data Navigator is an easy to use, menu driven search tool designed to guide users to CMS data and information that is already available on the web. The Data Navigator does not house or maintain data but connects users by organizing data into categories, such as program, topic, or setting of care.

For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.

Find over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including U.S. federal agencies, states, counties, and cities.

An exhaustive list of data, statistics, and survey data on the web.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. A thorough and exhaustive list of paces to find data, tools, and statistics on the web. Sources include data on the global, national, and state level. Includes diseases, demographics, and general health data.

"Fighting devastating ignorance with fact-based worldviews everyone can understand." Gapminder aggregates a variety of data, including health, from reputable sources. It has over 500 indicators listed.

Global statistics on a wide range of health, political, agricultural, and business indicators.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. A thorough and exhaustive list of paces to find data, tools, and statistics on the web. Sources include data on the global, national, and state level. Includes diseases, demographics, and general health data.

UNICEF supports countries in collecting data related to children and women through Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), an international household survey program.

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. The link above will take you the the country statistics, but make sure to browse the other options on the left side of the page.

From the CDC. Includes interactive maps and figures.

All data are hosted on data.ct.gov, Connecticut's open data portal.

From Statista. Includes stats and facts on topics such as total deaths and cases, public opinion data, and more.

From Statista. Stats and facts on COVID in the United States.

Features country profiles which allow you to explore the statistics on the coronavirus pandemic for every country in the world. Each profile includes information that covers the following four topics: deaths, testing, cases, and government response.

From Statista. This facts and figures page includes a wide variety of information. Here you will find information broken down by country, including data on the economic impact of COVID, and survey data from Statista.

This data portal provides centralized access to data on the COVID-19 emergency and response, and supplements information available on the state's COVID-19 portal.

Aggregated statistics from reputable websites across the internet. Topics include diabetes, digestive diseases, kidney diseases, liver diseases, obesity and being overweight, and urologic diseases.

The information on these statistics pages includes the best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.

SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities

The Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (OMHHE) reports on its coordination of CDC activities for White House and Departmental Initiatives aimed at improving the ability of educational institutions to serve racial and ethnic minorities and addressing the health and human service concerns of racial and ethnic minorities.

Connect with reports, data sets, and articles, and related sources on minority health and health disparities provided by NIMHD’s federal and non-federal partners and grantee institutions. This is not a comprehensive repository of information; instead, NIMHD highlights a few of the latest resources produced and links to organizations that are generating and posting new sources of information.

The Office of Minority Health provides the most current quantitative information related to minority health. This includes sourcing and maintaining a body of expert knowledge on minority health status initiatives, and demographic statistics and analyses on minority populations, compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics, the Census Bureau, private foundations, clinical practitioners, private data sources and public agencies. Includes population profiles.

The Women of Color Health Information collection presents data on race/ethnicity and disease. Through data, clues about how culture, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic background, and geographic location contribute to the health status of women of color can be identified. In order to explore sex differences, scientists need data about the similarities and differences between women and men in diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and other conditions.

Fact sheets and statistics regarding alcohol and alcohol abuse.

There are a variety of sources of information the National Institute on Drug Abuse uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources included cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.

SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities

Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics

Each year, the American Heart Association, in conjunction with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institutes of Health and other government agencies, compiles up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases in the Heart Disease and Stroke Statistical Update. This is a valuable resource for researchers, clinicians, healthcare policy makers, media professionals, the public and others who seek the best national data available on disease morbidity, mortality and risks; quality of care; medical procedures and operations; and costs associated with the management of these diseases. The Heart Disease and Stroke Statistical Update is a major source for monitoring cardiovascular health and disease in the population.

Statistics on complementary and alternative medicine use.

Data was obtained from a review of the major epidemiological studies with the cooperation of their authors. Age, race and sex-specific prevalence rates were then combined using a meta-analysis technique for reducing the overall variance of the pooled rate. Appropriate logistic regression models were fit to the age, race and sex-specific pooled prevalence rates. In the initial report, these rates were applied to the 2000 U.S. Census population. In collaboration with Prevent Blindness America, the prevalence rates have now been applied to the 2010 U.S. Census population.

March of Dimes is a United States nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of mothers and babies. Aggregating data from nine government agencies and organizations, the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center PariStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean births, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.

The Guttmacher Institute is a leading research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) worldwide. Their website includes publicly available datasets and an interactive data center.

The CDC's FastStats site includes selected statistics on a variety of health topics such as reproductive health. The site also includes the latest data in reports, databases, and additional data and tools.

The United State's primary source for criminal justice statistics.

Annual publication of the Connecticut Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program maintained by the Connecticut State Police Crime Analysis Unit.

The FBI regularly publishes or contributes to a series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help one better understand crime threats both nationally and locally. Reports include: Crime in the U.S, Hate Crime Statistics, & Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Data and reports for CT schools. Profile and Performance Reports give a good overview; raw data is also available for download and interpretation.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Search for statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states.

The data presented in this combined report provide facts about the extent to which local, state, and national governments commit resources to public education. NEA Research offers this report to its state and local affiliates as well as to researchers, policymakers, and the public as a tool to examine public education policies, programs, and services.

The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity.

​​​Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than a dozen states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.

Find over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including U.S. federal agencies, states, counties, and cities.

A series of statistical sources profiling the American public. The data comes from the federal government and is compiled into volumes that address demographic themes such as household spending, income, generation X, baby boomers, millennials, older Americans, health, etc.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Search for town, county, zipcode, or state to generate tables and maps of data. Use the filters to help narrow your results.

The main purpose of the Statistical Yearbook is to provide in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of
internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, covering a ten-year period to the extent possible.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

The Environmental Justice Index uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to rank the cumulative impacts of environmental injustice on health for every census tract. Census tracts are subdivisions of counties for which the Census collects statistical data. The EJI ranks each tract on 36 environmental, social, and health factors and groups them into three overarching modules and ten different domains.