Research Guides: School of Medicine: Practice & Review

Practice and Review

The Library has a number of online resources available that include practice cases and review questions.

If you encounter any issues with accessing these materials, please reach out to the Netter Library.

Access Medicine
Includes clinical scenarios for you to use for self-assessment. Find under the Cases tab.
Case Files Collection

From the makers of AccessMedicine. Includes the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books.

Case Files Podcast
Presented by Dr. Eugene Toy, author of the Case Files series, these podcasts provide students with an engaging discussion emphasizing key concepts in an easily consumable format.
Clinical Cases of the Month -- from LSU School of Medicine
The Clinical Case of the Month is a regular educational feature coordinated by the Louisiana State University Department of Medicine in New Orleans. Medical students, residents, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty collaborate in the preparation of these discussions. These articles are published regularly in the Journal of the Louisiana State Medical Society, and are made available in PDF format by permission from the Society.
Interactive Medical Cases -- NEJM
To save your progress and resume later, Create a FREE account.
LITFL Clinical Case Collection
Includes over 250 Q&A style clinical cases to assist ‘Just-in-Time Learning‘ and ‘Life-Long Learning‘. Cases are categorized by specialty and can be interrogated by keyword from the Clinical Case searchable database.
LWW Health Library: Clerkships/Clinical Rotations -- Cases
Practice cases covering a wide variety of topics.
You must create a free account in order to use.

LWW Health Library
LWW Health Library has a library of cases, delivered as PDFs. There are questions associated with each case.

MedPix -- Practice Cases
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
NEJM Clinical Cases
Updated weekly. Read real-life clinical cases and how they were solved.

LWW Health Library: Clerkships/Clinical Rotations -- Self Assessment
Features review questions for a wide variety of topics. You can create custom quizzes with one or multiple topics.
You must create a free account in order to use.

Access Medicine

Innovative online resource that offers health professionals access to more than 65 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic and point-of-care tools. Mobile application available.

AccessMedicine: Clerkship Topics
This collection of materials covers major topics associated with the the internal medical clerkship. These feature select chapters and cases from throughout AccessMedicine's library. Each topic starts with learning objectives, then directs you to to ebook chapters, tables, charts, and case files for your own self study.
Clinical Capsules by Thieme MedOne Education
A series of clinical learning modules that cover individual diseases and disorders. Tailored specifically for students preparing for rotations and the Shelf and USMLE® exams, these modules offer templated structures encompassing Epidemiology, Pathogenesis, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Treatment for a wide array of commonly tested diseases

PICO & Clinical Question Creation Tutorial
This non-graded interactive PICO tutorial introduces the elements required for creating a well-built clinical question using the PICO format.
Forming Focused Questions with PICO
A guide from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.
Evidence-Based Practice: An Inter-professional Tutorial
From the University of Minnesota Libraries.
Practice Formulating Clinical Questions
Includes prompts and recommendations for answering w/ PICO.