Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine by
The latest addition to the Kumar & Clark family, this thoroughly updated new edition covers more than 200 cases presenting with acute symptoms in the hospital, everything from shingles and breathlessness to chest pain, acute coronary syndromes, poisoning, renal failure and stroke. The authors give clear and concise advice on immediate and further management, management of complications, differential diagnoses, history-taking, tips and pitfalls, alerts, investigations, and prioritization. . More than 200 cases . Remember! boxes . Investigations boxes . Information boxes Edited by Parveen Kumar, CBE, BSc, MD, FRCP, FRCP(Edin) and Michael L Clark, MD, FRCP Enhanced e-book accompanies the print book, for ease of transportation and use on the move. Over 200 cases
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in DSM-5-TR, bringing DSM-5-TR alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. With chapters that correspond to the main DSM-5-TR diagnostic categories (i.e., the first 19 chapters in Section II), this book guides the reader through the complexities of clinical assessment and the many types of contextual information needed to obtain a full diagnostic picture of a patient. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * The cases and discussions make for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the diagnostic categories described in the specific case. * Cases and their accompanying discussions adhere to a consistent format developed by the editor to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Areas explored in case discussions may include patient history (e.g., present illness, family psychiatric history, medical conditions), mental status exam and laboratory test results, and sex-, gender-, and culture-related issues. Each case closes with one or more diagnoses and a list of suggested readings.* As is often true in real life, the cases are incomplete, and not all diagnoses are clear-cut. The discussions often explore how the case may not entirely fit diagnostic criteria, and what other information might be helpful.* A comprehensive index enables readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5-TR diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as an auxiliary text in a variety of contexts--from graduate-level psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs to social work curricula. In addition, practicing clinicians can use the book to help firm up their diagnostic skills and to prepare for specialty examinations. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing DSM-5-TR to the examining room.
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine by
Using an easily accessible, highly templated format, Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2nd Edition, provides more than 100 realistic scenarios for tropical infectious diseases. Full-color photographs and maps, a convenient question-and-answer presentation, and succinct summary boxes help you identify and understand the tropical diseases you're likely to encounter. This up-to-date 2nd Edition is an excellent resource and study tool for infectious diseases fellows, doctors preparing for exams in tropical medicine, primary care doctors with patients who are global travelers, and global health nurses and practitioners alike. Offers realistic scenarios for encountering patients in rural, resource-poor settings, presenting cases as "unknowns," just as in a real clinic or emergency situation. Covers newly emerging diseases such as Zika virus, severe fever with thrombocytopenia syndrome (SFTS), and knowlesi malaria. Features topics in migrant medicine of particular importance to clinicians in non-tropical countries, including louse-borne-relapsing fever, spinal brucellosis, and hyperreactive malarial splenomegaly. Includes "classic" tropical diseases such as African trypanosomiasis, chagas, leprosy, and yaws. Reflects the use of novel diagnostics used in resource-poor settings, as well as developing drug resistance in relevant cases. Serves as a companion to Manson's Tropical Diseases, with a reading list at the end of each case referring to the corresponding chapter in the larger text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Cases in Eye Care by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Clinical Cases in Eye Care provides real-world case examples to illustrate the current scope of primary eye care practice. Over 120 clinical cases help readers gain familiarity with frequently seen scenarios as they would unfold in a typical setting. This case collection is a useful teaching and learning tool for instructors, students and clinicians. Provides more than 120 clinical case examples written by global experts who discuss conditions that they encounter on a regular basis in the clinical setting. Supports problem-based learning strategies used in contemporary eye care education, stimulating real-world questions and discussion throughout the curriculum. Covers a wide range of cases commonly seen in today's practice, including refractive, perceptual, binocular vision, anterior and posterior segment, neurological and systemic disorders. Includes a detailed account of patient history and clinical findings for each case, as well as the diagnosis, a sample treatment plan and clinical pearls from the contributing author. Features detailed photos and illustrations throughout, many in full color. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Clinical Cases in Coronary Rotational Atherectomy by
This concise practical guide is designed to facilitate the clinical decision-making process in the management of rotational atherectomy procedures by reviewing a number of cases and defining the various diagnostic and management decisions open to clinicians. It will be well illustrated but concise, enabling the reader to obtain relevant information regarding both standard and unusual cases in a rapid, easy to digest format. Each case will also include a narrative description and patient management tips. Rotational atherectomy ('rotablator') is used to treat heavily calcified lesions within coronary arteries at the time of percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI). Lesions that are inadequately treated may not be dilatable by balloons; and stents that are implanted in such lesions are at high risk for acute stent thrombosis and stent failure. However, rotablator therapy is high risk and present unique challenges to the interventionalists. Complications are generally uncommon. However, when they do occur, they tend to be disastrous. In this case book, we present a series of rotablator cases: basic, complex cases, difficult cases, complications and unusual situations. Although PCI operators all have some degree of experience with this therapy, each operator is unlikely to have significant experience given the cost of the device and the risk involved. Therefore, this book will provide interventionalists with a valuable compendium of cases which can help them in the management of patients whom they plan to treat with rotational atherectomy.
Clinical Cases for Pediatric Medical Students and Residents by
The thirty-six cases presented in this volume are the pedagogic result of the author's years working in a pediatrics medical setting. These cases include scenarios that aim to help students improve such skills as evaluating clinical presentations, formulating differential diagnoses, determining appropriate work-ups and interpreting their results, and producing working diagnoses and subsequent treatment plans. The text also examines appropriate responses to emergency situations. The cases come in a variety of formats to give a well-rounded tour of myriad scenarios. Suggested answers provided at the end of each case allow for critical assessment without immediate access to work-up results. This text is essential for those looking to build the critical skills necessary to succeed in the pediatric field.
Clinical Cases in Anesthesia by
Prepare for the oral boards with the thoroughly updated Clinical Cases in Anesthesia. This comprehensive and current anesthesia review tool presents case studies representing today's most commonly encountered clinical situations, equipping you to master the latest anesthesia treatment protocols and practice guidelines and achieve your very best score. Learn the most practical solutions to contemporary problems, and understand the relevant scientific and clinical principles, through actual case studies presented in a helpful Q&A format. Study on the go! Browse the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com! Review the most recent knowledge with updated coverage of the cardiovascular, respiratory, and central nervous system; updated abdomen, trauma, and post-anesthesia care sections; and a completely new section on critical care. Stay abreast of the latest treatment options, practice guidelines, and pharmacology information with comprehensive updates throughout.
Clinical Cases in Autoimmune Blistering Diseases by
This clinical case book serves as a useful guide for dermatologists, internists, family practitioners, pediatricians, and anyone else charged with the care of the skin. The case-based format distinguishes this work from a reference-style textbook, instead allowing readers to relate the presented cases to their own patients. Clinical Cases in Autoimmune Blistering Diseases provides help and insight for clinicians in managing this group of serious and debilitating skin conditions, with each case serving as a springboard for further pursuit and more extensive training. It will enable those new to the field to begin to develop a literacy and competence in autoimmune blistering diseases, while experienced dermatologists will find new ways to sharpen their diagnostic and treatment skills.
Clinical Cases in Cardiology by
This book presents and describes a series of informative clinical cases with the aim of providing the reader with a clear understanding of the most frequent and challenging scenarios that a cardiologist may face during daily clinical practice. All major topics in modern clinical cardiology are addressed, including acute ischemic heart disease, conditions that mimic ischemic heart disease, heart failure and resynchronization therapy, cardiomyopathy, valvular heart disease, arrhythmias and channelopathies. Guidance is provided on imaging techniques and their interpretation, patient management taking into account potential comorbidities and follow-up appropriate to the clinical circumstances. The paradigmatic clinical cases in this book will serve as a sound basis for learning for medical students, residents and others wishing to meet successfully the challenges posed by cardiac disease. In addition, the book will be a very useful reference for the more experienced cardiologist.
Clinical Cases in Geriatric Dermatology by
This concise practical guide is designed to facilitate the clinical decision-making process by reviewing a number of cases and defining the various diagnostic and management decisions open to clinicians. It is richly illustrated and diverse in scope, enabling the reader to obtain relevant information regarding both standard and unusual cases in a rapid, easy to digest format. The first in the series will be on Geriatric Dermatology and will be prepared within one month of acceptance and include photos. Each case will also include a narrative description and patient management tips
Clinical Cases in Infections and Infestations of the Skin by
This clinical case book serves as a useful guide for dermatologists, internists, family practitioners, pediatricians, and anyone else charged with the care of infectious diseases of the skin of parasitic, fungal, bacterial, and viral origin. The case-based format distinguishes this work from a reference-style textbook, allowing readers to relate the presented cases to their own practice. Clinical Cases in Infections and Infestations of the Skin provides help and insight for clinicians in managing skin disease, with each chapter serving as a springboard for further pursuit and more extensive training. The reader will find useful information and tools to help patients and will enable readers to add to their current clinical regimens by becoming familiar with healing systems beyond medical dermatology. The book will enable those new to the field to develop a literacy and competence in the management of infectious dermatology. For the more experienced learner, it will assist in finding new ways to sharpen diagnostic and treatment acumens.
Clinical Cases in Psychocutaneous Disease by
Clinical cases are a key component in modern medical education, assisting the trainee or recertifying clinician to work through unusual cases using best practice techniques. Dermatology is an important discipline in this regard since it is a highly visual subject requiring the reader to describe often very subtle differences in the presentation of patients and define accurately the diagnostic and management criteria to base their clinical decision-making on. This is particularly the case in the field of psychocutaneous disease where scientific advances are shedding new light on the understanding and treatment of long-recognized conditions located at the interface of dermatology and psychiatry. Psychodermatology covers all aspects of how the mind and body interact in relation to the onset and progression of various skin disorders.
