Orthopaedic Neurology by
Since its original publication, Orthopaedic Neurology: A Diagnostic Guide to Neurologic Levels has distinguished itself as a clearly written, uniquely focused text sought after by practitioners and trainees in orthopaedics, neurosurgery, physical medicine and rehabilitation, pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, and nursing, as well as primary care specialties. The second edition retains this standard of excellence while providing thorough updates in medical illustration, teaching techniques, and new approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of patients with spinal cord injuries. Now in vibrant full color, it offers a distinctive and practical combination of anatomy, the physical exam, and clinical pearls, highly readable and abundantly illustrated. Features: Discusses the diagnosis of neurologic levels according to common denominators, and combines them with the basic principles of neurology to assist in the appraisal of spinal cord and nerve root problems. Presents classic original drawings now carefully colorized for optimal visual reference, and additional drawings added as necessary. Corresponding radiographic imaging techniques (predominantly MRI and CT) have also been added. Each chapter first covers basic neurologic information, then provides clinical significance by applying it to the diagnosis of the more common neurologic pathologies. Ideal for those who wish to understand more clearly the clinical concepts behind neurologic levels, moving systematically from concept to practice, and from general rules to specific applications. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Neonatology for Primary Care by
The revised and updated second edition covers practical approaches to caring for healthy and high-risk infants. The book covers maternal and fetal health, care of the newborn after delivery, breastfeeding, follow-up care, common congenital anomalies, the newborn with a heart murmur or cyanosis, neurologic findings, primary care issues relating to infants requiring intensive care, and health and developmental outcomes. More than 40 chapters cover step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when to admit, and when to refer. Recommendations and lists detailed references within each chapter. New in the second edition: 8 new chapters added including: Prenatal Diagnosis Fetal Interventions Optimizing Nutrition for the Preterm, Very Low-Birth-Weight Infant After Discharge From Neonatal Intensive Care Newborn Immunizations and Immune Prophylaxis Balancing Safe Sleep and Other Newborn Recommendations Vascular Anomalies Endocrine Disorders Presenting in the Newborn Period Shared Decision Making Around Home Technologies
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by
Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Textbook of Family Medicine by
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Family Medicine by
A staple of family medicine training for 30 years, Essentials of Family Medicine offers a comprehensive introduction to this specialty designed just for clerkship students. Covering principles of family medicine, preventive care, and a full range of common ambulatory care problems, it provides all the guidance you need to succeed on a clinical rotation in family medicine. This 7th Edition features many significant changes, including a new, stronger focus on the hands-on "how-tos" of family medicine...a great deal of new coverage related to direct care, the context of care, and community medicine...input from a new Student Advisory Board to ensure the practicality and utility of the content... and many other key updates to keep Essentials of Family Medicine as relevant as possible for today's practice. You'll appreciate its user-friendly writing style, focus on common clinical problems, and use of case studies to illustrate practical applications of key concepts. Meet the challenges of contemporary practice with many brand-new chapters and updates throughout. Effectively navigate the challenges you'll face in your clerkship thanks to a new emphasis on how to approach specific situations. Enjoy content that's optimized for your needs through input from an advisory team of 4th-year medical students. See how concepts apply to practice with chapter-opening case studies, and build your clinical skills with clinical questions and case discussions that simulate the patient encounter.
Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine by
Designed for today's busy practitioner, Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine, 4th Edition , provides practical, expert guidance for the issues you face daily in family practice and primary care. Easy to understand and clinically useful, this trusted manual has been thoroughly updated with the latest clinical information and evidence, including electronic resources. Whether you're a physician in a clinic, extended care, or hospital setting, or a resident or practitioner looking for a high-yield board review tool, this manual addresses the real-world issues you see most, allowing you to provide optimum care for every patient. Stay up to date with all-new chapters and expanded chapters on delirium, movement disorders, dementia, pregnancy loss and stillbirth, acute musculoskeletal injuries, and more. Get the latest practical information on commonly encountered clinical problems, including OB/GYN and childbirth, pediatrics, and mental health. Find what you need quickly with templated chapters that cover diagnostic criteria, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and screening, including physical diagnosis, laboratory findings, and imaging studies. Understand how to make the right diagnosis and know when to order the right test, based on common presenting symptoms. Use this manual to study efficiently and effectively for the ABFP certification and recertification exams. Topics follow ACGME and AAFP program requirements for residency training. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Case Files Family Medicine 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Realistic patient cases to help sharpen clinical decision-making skills The 60 cases in Case Files: Family Medicine feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study.
Bratton's Family Medicine by
Prepare for your ABFM boards - find your weak spots and eliminate them now! Handy in print and as an eBook, Bratton's Family Medicine Board Review is the essential practice test for those facing the ABFM exams. Opening with the basic requirements of the ABFM Board certification process, it provides crucial background information on all three AFBM exams and their formats, describes a typical exam day, and offers excellent test-taking advice--taking the mystery out of the exam process. Features: 1,800 multiple-choice questions drawn from common clinical situations, presented in ABFM-exam format Detailed explanation supporting each answer Key points highlighted throughout Additional reading suggestions after each correct answer Pictorial atlas offers clinical photographs and lab smears Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Interactive Q&A with more than 1,800 questions
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: * New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues * New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter * New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques * Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Fast Facts for the Family Medicine Board Review by
From cover to cover, Fast Facts for the Family Medicine Board Review is designed to help you achieve success on the American Board of Family Medicine exam. This easy-to-use, up-to-date review tool is aligned with the ABFM exam, providing essential information to help you succeed. In every chapter, succinct clinical knowledge is structured to allow immediate practice for testing that knowledge--a proven format for success on medical board exams and in practice. Key Features Organized according to ABFM exam sections, including Pediatrics, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Internal Medicine, Emergency/Surgery, Psychiatry and Geriatrics. Content is weighted according to ABFM exam coverage. The eBook format includes flashcard capability that allows you to quiz yourself easily in either print or electronic formats. General and specific guidance on the skill and art of test-taking, as well as the blueprint of the ABFM exam, prepare you for exam day. Ideal for family medicine residents, medical students in their family medicine clerkship, and physicians taking the ABFM recertification exam. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An engagingly written case-based review for the Family Medicine Board Examination and the USMLE Step 3 Widely recognized as the ideal study guide for the primary and recertification exams in family medicine and licensure exams, Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition has been updated throughout to maintain currency and freshness--including new bits of humor that make the book fun to read and studying more enjoyable. Featuring hundreds of progressive cases, this acclaimed review has been applauded by residents and students for its "building-block approach" to learning that assures readers understand one subject before moving on to the next. The Fifth Edition has also been enhanced with cutting-edge coverage of topics such as health maintenance, decision-making, and metacognition. *More than 350 progressive case studies that reflect the realities of clinical practice and prepare readers for the exams *A 200-question final exam with answers referenced to pages in the book *Detailed answer explanations for most questions that explain not only why an answer is right, but why the other answers are wrong *Comprehensive coverage of ALL topics on the boards and recertifying exam *Super-effective learning aids such as Quick Quizzes, learning objectives, clinical pearls, and more *Color photographs of conditions most easily diagnosed by appearance *Written not only to help pass exams, but to also update knowledge of family medicine with state-of-the-art information *An outstanding refresher for primary care physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners
Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine by
Designed for today's busy practitioner, Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine, 4th Edition , provides practical, expert guidance for the issues you face daily in family practice and primary care. Easy to understand and clinically useful, this trusted manual has been thoroughly updated with the latest clinical information and evidence, including electronic resources. Whether you're a physician in a clinic, extended care, or hospital setting, or a resident or practitioner looking for a high-yield board review tool, this manual addresses the real-world issues you see most, allowing you to provide optimum care for every patient. Stay up to date with all-new chapters and expanded chapters on delirium, movement disorders, dementia, pregnancy loss and stillbirth, acute musculoskeletal injuries, and more. Get the latest practical information on commonly encountered clinical problems, including OB/GYN and childbirth, pediatrics, and mental health. Find what you need quickly with templated chapters that cover diagnostic criteria, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and screening, including physical diagnosis, laboratory findings, and imaging studies. Understand how to make the right diagnosis and know when to order the right test, based on common presenting symptoms. Use this manual to study efficiently and effectively for the ABFP certification and recertification exams. Topics follow ACGME and AAFP program requirements for residency training. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Obstetrics in Family Medicine by
This book surveys the normal obstetrics encountered in primary care and serves as a practical guide to the evaluation and management of common prenatal, peripartum and postpartum complications. Thoroughly revised and updated, Obstetrics in Family Medicine, Second Edition, addresses the major issues and problems related to each stage and outlines management protocols. It provides critical information about physical and ultrasound examinations, laboratory tests, drug toxicities, and screening techniques and highlights new and emerging areas of obstetrical care, such as prenatal testing protocols, treatment options for HIV in pregnancy and antenatal monitoring. Key points for each topic are summarized in tabular form for quick reference and diagnostic flow charts illuminate all aspects of the decision-making process. Concise and clinically oriented, this book is designed to help primary and family medicine physicians improve the quality of women's health care.
