Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Miller's Anesthesia, 2-Volume Set by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. The initial printing of Miller's Anesthesia, 9e contained a dosage error in chapter 26, "Intravenous Drug Delivery Systems," on page 771, Table 26.5 (Manual Infusion Schemes). A maintenance infusion of Dexmedetomidine was mistakenly reported as 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/min instead of 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/hr (or 0.005-0.015 mcg/kg/min). As of October 2, 2020 all stock has been corrected. If you find that you have a book with this error please contact publisher for correction sticker.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th Edition by
The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, Seventh Edition is an essential resource for all anesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember The perfect distillation of essential information: succinct without sacrificing important details Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2nd Edition, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice. Contains new chapters on Special Populations (anesthetic pharmacology in obesity, geriatrics, and pediatrics), Oral and Non-IV Opioids, Thermoregulation, Physiology and Pharmacology of Obstetric Anesthesia, Chemotherapeutic and Immunosuppresive Drugs, and Surgical Infection and Antimicrobial Drugs. Incorporates entirely new sections on Physics, Anatomy, and Imaging. Includes new information on consciousness and cognition, pharmacodynamics, the immune system, and anti-inflammatory drugs. Features user-friendly tables, figures, and algorithms (including 100 new illustrations), all presented in full color and designed to help explain complex concepts. Helps you understand the molecular mechanism of drug actions and identify key drug interactions that may complicate anesthesia with dedicated sections on these areas. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia by
This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMA Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, a generation of anaesthetists have found the textbook invaluable during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for the FRCA and similar professional examinations. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapters on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Stoelting's Handbook of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
Get trusted anesthesiology guidance in a compact, high-yield source with Stoelting's Handbook of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice. Updated from the Fifth Edition of Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, this handbook provides succinct, current, and accurate information on the pharmacology and physiology that are relevant to anesthesiology, equipping you to deliver safe and effective perioperative patient management. Key Features Apply the latest knowledge with coverage of all new drugs, as well as new findings on the actions and interactions of established drugs. Focus on the information you need thanks to a quick-reference tabular format. Easily turn to the parent textbook for more in-depth information thanks to an organization that mirrors Stoelting'sPharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice . Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Yao and Artusio's Anesthesiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Managementis the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. Fully revised throughout, including new coverage of hypertension geriatric anesthesia, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) and updated references for further study and clarification. A consistent chapter format includes: presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case. Problem-based approach emphasizes critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills. Ideal for oral board and continuing education preparation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists. From preoperative assessment through postoperative care, this practical reference covers all perioperative approaches to today's patients with cardiac conditions. Provides guidance on the anesthetic diagnosis and management of the full range of cardiac lesions, helping minimize adverse outcomes and reduce complications for patients with common, complex, or uncommon cardiac conditions. Includes complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques needed for thorough perioperative assessment - all from the anesthesiologist's perspective. Discusses safe and effective perioperative anesthetic management of patients presenting with advanced levels of cardiac care such as drug-eluting stents, multiple antiplatelet drugs, ventricular assist devices, multiple drugs for end-stage heart failure, and implanted electrical devices that produce cardiac resynchronization therapy, as well as patients with complicated obstetric problems or other significant cardiovascular issues. Features a concise, easy-to-navigate format and Key Points boxes in each chapter that help you find answers quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, Second Edition by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) BASIC Exam blueprint and incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam, Second Edition by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
