First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition by
The resident's trusted, one-stop guide to acing the USMLE® Step 3 - co-written by residents who recently took the exam and know what it takes to pass STRONG FOCUS ON TEST-RELEVANT MATERIAL MAXIMIZES YOUR STUDY TIME! First Aid for the USMLE® Step 3, Fifth Edition provides busy residents with thousands of high-yield facts, mnemonics, and full-color visual aids to help them pass the last of the required USMLE® examinations. Also included are the reader-acclaimed "mini-cases" designed to help residents pass the case portion of the examination. First Aid for the USMLE® Step 3, Fifth Edition is carefully written to focus on high-yield, top-priority information, most likely to be included on the exam. FEATURES: *Updated diagnosis and treatment sections reflect the sequence in which diagnostic tools and therapies are implemented in actual clinical practice *Increased number of vignette-style "flash cards" and full-color clinical images *Proven test-taking strategies from residents who've been there and excelled *Basic science correlations prepare residents for foundational science questions
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Flashcards by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A fun, fast, effective way for students to learn how to perform a complete diagnostic examination Based on content from the classic point-of-care guide DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, these flashcards enable students to brush up on their diagnostic examination procedural skills by asking questions that test their knowledge and providing answers that impart must-know information. Over 200 two-sided cards that contain an open-ended question with a concise, bulleted answer on the flip side. The cards focus on the diagnoses most frequently tested on the USMLE Step 2 and 3 examinations. Perfect for enhancing diagnostic and decision-making skills, each card features: A common patient complaint, or physical finding, that forms the basis of a clinical vignette--which emphasizes a key diagnostic hypothesis concept Guidance for taking a methodical, systematic approach to diagnosis based on the patient history and physical examination A focus on diagnostic clues and progressive problem-solving that facilitates clinical decision-making Clinical Pearls that highlight a clinical dilemma and provide high-yield nuggets of information that are relevant to day-to-day practice Identifier icons for main topic areas designed to make the cards easy to use and shuffle
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master every facet of family medicine with this comprehensive, engaging, meticulously updated guide and enjoy doing it! This is the go-to resource for students and practitioners Whether you're studying for the boards or USMLE or looking to boost your professional knowledge, Family Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers everything you need to move to the next level of your career. Packed with 350+ progressive cases and thousands of questions with right and wrong answers explained in detail, this matchless guide provides both the information and practice required for complete mastery of the subject. This new edition gets you fully up to date with critical information on a host of topics--from health maintenance, metacognition, and diagnoses/treatments to new guidelines on cholesterol, blood pressure, heart failure, and anticoagulation--and includes a succinct guide to the recommended health maintenances for children and adults, perfect for a quick review. With its trademark wit and humor, quick quizzes, clinical pearls, and other learning features peppered throughout, Family Medicine Examination& Board Review is a dynamic, fast-moving guide that keeps you engaged and motivated beginning to end.
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A comprehensive one-stop reference for critical care medicine - bolstered by more than 500 Q&A McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review: Critical Care Medicine is an evidence-based multidisciplinary perspective to critical care medicine. The format of each chapter consists of text followed by questions and answers. Authors from major academic centers discuss the basic principles of their field, along with the most recent studies. This unique review reflects the author's belief that competency in critical care medicine is derived from multiple factors: an understanding of the basics of medicine, access to the most current evidence, clinical experience, and openness to palliative care. Features: *500+ questions and answers, with detailed answer explanations *Covers all key topics on the ABIM Critical Care exam blueprint *Numerous high-quality images, including: x-rays, CT scans, and electrocardiograms *Essential for critical care fellows or intensivists studying for the critical care boards, as well as medical students, residents, and any other healthcare provider interested in critical care *Each of the 36 textbook-style chapters are followed by Q&A *Current guidelines from various specialties are incorporated, including their levels and/or grades of recommendation
Cardiology Board Review by
An accessible and engaging review of board exam essentials Cardiology Board Review lays the groundwork for board exam success with its instructive and easy-to-read explanations of the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with cardiovascular disease. Breaking topics down into case �unknowns,� this innovative revision aid provides examples of everyday cardiological issues and then explains how best to address the problem at hand. All content is complemented by clinical images and illustrations, as well as helpful summaries and key points. Featuring 56 different cases, this essential text: Places learning in a practical context. Information about disease states is presented in case-based format which leads to better retention. Covers topics including congenital heart disease, coronary artery disease, cardiomyopathies, valvular heart disease, arrhythmias, heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, and more Designed to present important concepts and information in a unique way to complement textbook learning Features electrocardiograms, angiograms, and pressure tracings Is applicable to those working towards certification in Cardiovascular Disease from the American Board of Internal Medicine or preparing for board examinations in other countries Is also suitable for those requiring MOC recertification Features cases on aortic insufficiency, atrial fibrillation, Brugada syndrome, carotid artery disease, myocardial bridging, congenital heart disease, electrolyte abnormalities, apical HCM, mitral regurgitation, RV outflow tract tachycardia, pulmonary hypertension, arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia, aortic stenosis, atrial myxoma, atrial tachycardia, pulmonic insufficiency, Takotsubo, tricuspid regurgitation, Wolfe-Parkinson-White syndrome, pulmonic stenosis, coronary anomalies, ECG changes of hypothermia, endocarditis, pulmonary embolus, ventricular septal defect, hemodynamics of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, complete heart block, heart failure, coronary artery disease, atrial septal defect, constrictive pericarditis, fractional flow reserve, dextrocardia, STEMI, early repolarization, giant cell myocarditis, peripheral arterial disease, pericardial tamponade, peripheral arterial disease, pericarditis, myocarditis, long QT syndrome, mitral stenosis, tetralogy of Fallot, and supraventricular tachycardia among others. Cardiology Board Review offers fellows a fresh and engaging approach to the information required to achieve success in board examinations.
Fast Facts for the Family Medicine Board Review by
From cover to cover, Fast Facts for the Family Medicine Board Review is designed to help you achieve success on the American Board of Family Medicine exam. This easy-to-use, up-to-date review tool is aligned with the ABFM exam, providing essential information to help you succeed. In every chapter, succinct clinical knowledge is structured to allow immediate practice for testing that knowledge--a proven format for success on medical board exams and in practice. Key Features Organized according to ABFM exam sections, including Pediatrics, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Internal Medicine, Emergency/Surgery, Psychiatry and Geriatrics. Content is weighted according to ABFM exam coverage. The eBook format includes flashcard capability that allows you to quiz yourself easily in either print or electronic formats. General and specific guidance on the skill and art of test-taking, as well as the blueprint of the ABFM exam, prepare you for exam day. Ideal for family medicine residents, medical students in their family medicine clerkship, and physicians taking the ABFM recertification exam. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Review by
The quintessential neurosurgical text review for acing the ABNS written exam! Since its publication nearly 20 years ago, Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Review has garnered legendary status as the leading high-yield review for neurosurgical residents preparing for the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS) primary exam. The updated third edition by Jonathan S. Citow and associate editors R. Loch Macdonald, Ross C. Puffer, Syed I. Khalid, Bob S. Carter, Alan R. Cohen, Robert J. Spinner, and Daniel Refai reflects technological advances made in the past decade. Seven comprehensive, systematically formatted chapters succinctly cover the tested core topics: anatomy, physiology, neuropathology, neuroradiology, neurology, neurosurgery, and critical care. Key Highlights: The streamlined outline format and handy tables enhance memorization and retention of knowledge More than 1200 high-quality illustrations and images, many in full color, detail impacted anatomy and processes Each chapter has concise sections encompassing important concepts, disease states, diagnostic criteria, and treatment approaches As with prior editions, this reader-friendly textbook does a remarkable job summarizing the vast data and knowledge required to ace the ABNS exam. The new edition is destined to build on its legacy as an indispensable resource for every young neurosurgeon sitting for the exam. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Ophthalmology Q&a Board Review by
Looking for an efficient and thorough question-based Ophthalmology review for residency exams, board review and beyond? Look no further! Ophthalmology Q&A Board Review features a compilation of board review questions curated by expert subspecialists and edited by Harvard- and Columbia University-trained ophthalmologist Lora Glass. The text mirrors the multiple-choice format of the Written Qualifying Examination (WQE) portion of the American Board of Ophthalmology. The Q&A board prep review encompasses a thorough ophthalmology curriculum, with more than 1,000 questions classified as easy, medium, or hard. Clear and detailed explanations make difficult topics such as optics easier to understand. Key Highlights Written and online formats provide multi-modal and on-the-go review Each question includes a detailed answer explaining correct and incorrect choices, enhancing learning and knowledge retention A wealth of high-quality images augments the text This is a great resource for ophthalmology residents preparing for OKAP and candidates studying for the ABO boards. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Epilepsy Board Review by
This concise text mirrors the content of the Epilepsy Board as distributed by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. Epilepsy diagnosis, classification and treatment are thoroughly covered, along with seizure classification, epidemiology, normal and abnormal EEG, and treatment with antiepileptic medications and other modalities. Formatted with multiple choice questions and explanations, this complete resource will prepare physicians and students for the Epilepsy Board examination and provide the latest clinical approaches.
Vascular Neurology Board Review by
This concise, yet comprehensive review covers the diagnostic and treatment information needed for the vascular neurology board exam. The assembled material is easy-to-read with chapters emphasizing clinically relevant scientific principles that must be mastered by the stroke clinician. Neurology, vascular neurology and neuro-critical care residents and fellows will find this text to be an invaluable preparation guide and a succinct source to complement treatment guidelines and protocols.
Neurology Board Review by
This is an easy to read question and answer book that was created to prepare the reader for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) certification and recertification exams. It was specifically designed to cover the topics listed in the ABPN content outline including basicneuroscience, behavioral neurology, psychiatry, and clinical neurology. It includes questions about recent practice parameters published by the American Academy of Neurology. This book utilizes a multitude of question formating, including case-based and multiple choice questions.
Neurosurgery Board Review by
Designed to evaluate candidates' expertise and provide direction for continued learning, the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS) primary (written) examination is a required step to attaining board certification in the U.S. The rigorous exam requires substantial preparation. Each author brings unique qualifications to this publication from writing previous editions, to achieving the second highest exam score in the U.S. to the insights of a current chief resident. Their mission is to help readers comprehend the material and retain this knowledge, rather than solely striving for the highest score. This essential board prep review mirrors the exam's multiple-choice format and seven sections: neurosurgery, clinical neurology, neuroanatomy, neurobiology, neuropathology, neuroradiology, and clinical skills/critical care. Presented in a new and improved layout, the third edition encompasses the numerous advances in neurosurgery since the 2004 edition was published. New Key Features: Expanded coverage of endovascular techniques for the treatment of cerebral aneurysms, the latest advanced imaging technologies, and treatment paradigm updates for acute ischemic stroke More than 1,000 questions with answers that include detailed, insightful explanations High-quality illustrations and superb anatomical dissections by Albert L. Rhoton Jr., MD, and other masters This invaluable board review will help neurosurgical residents prepare thoroughly for the primary ABNS exam. It is also beneficial for neuroscience residents specializing in neurology and neuropathology.
Comprehensive Board Review in Orthopaedic Surgery by
Comprehensive Board Review in Orthopaedic Surgery Although the scope of orthopaedic surgery continues to expand on a daily basis, the fundamental information required to pass orthopaedic in-training, board, and maintenance of certification (MOC) exams remains largely unchanged, yet essential. Preparation for the Orthopaedics In-Training Exam (OITE) and American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) Part 1, is highly challenging. Recognizing the considerable challenges faced by residents and practicing orthopaedic surgeons, the authors have written an essential guide that provides invaluable knowledge and clinical pearls on the fundamentals of orthopaedic surgery. Every chapter is coauthored, providing readers with a well-rounded perspective from both a senior faculty member and a recently matriculated orthopaedic resident/fellow. Chapters are organized by subspecialty, with margin boxes that highlight test-taking components, clinical insights gleaned from years of experience, and figures specifically focused on helping readers understand and retain difficult concepts. Pertinent anatomy is precisely illustrated and described in each subspecialty chapter, enabling understanding of normal and pathologic musculoskeletal system structures and functions. Key Features: An emphasis on subjects that are frequently tested on exams Nearly 500 meticulously created illustrations Structured treatment algorithms that include best diagnostic modalities, expected outcomes, and most common complications Study tips, mnemonics, and classification schemes Easy-to-read bulleted formatting enables the reader to organize, synthesize, and memorize the information with ease This indispensable book will greatly benefit orthopaedic residents preparing for board examinations and board-certified orthopaedic surgeons who need to fulfill MOC requirements.
Tumor Board Review by
Praise for the First Edition As everyone in oncology fellowship training knows, there is a huge information gap in this field. Most oncology books are massive and loaded with information by the time the book is published it is outdated. Tumor Board Review is fresh and just out of the oven. I haven't seen any book in oncology like this so far. I think my investment in this book was wise and worth it. Humaid Al-Shamsi, MB(Hon), BMedSc, MRCP(UK), FRCP, FACP, Assistant Professor, The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center Culling the knowledge and expertise of respected oncology specialists, this is a concise yet comprehensive review of all areas of oncology practice for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, and pathologists both students and practitioners. The second edition of Tumor Board Review has been thoroughly revised to encompass recent scientific advances in assessment and treatment, new clinical guidelines, and new FDA-approved drugs and indications. It also contains approximately 250 multiple-choice questions and answers to assist readers in testing their knowledge, especially those preparing for the MOC exam. The book features case presentations and evidence-based management discussions that clearly demonstrate how to apply new information in daily practice. In a consistent format, each chapter addresses epidemiology, risk factors, natural history, and pathology of each major organ-specific tumor type an abbreviated display of relevant staging and several tumor board style illustrative patient case studies. This is followed by an evidence-based case discussion, which reinforces current guidelines and explains the rationale for the diagnostic and therapeutic steps taken. Algorithms and decision-tree graphics further illuminate the decision process. New To The Second Edition of Tumor Board Review: Presents the most recent guidelines and management standards in user-friendly format Focuses on current indications, use of new drugs, and new treatment of side effects Includes new FDA-approved drugs and guidelines Offers approximately 250 multiple-choice questions and answers
Rheumatology Board Review by
The field encompassed by rheumatology has evolved rapidly over the last decade to include multiple immune-modulating and biologic medications, new classification criteria, significant updates on bone metabolism, and completely new paradigms of treatment based on groundbreaking studies published within the last 5 years. Although much has been adopted as standard of care based on new data, most textbooks do not reflect these practice changes. Rheumatology Board Review highlights the latest advances in the field and new standards of care, including references to current citations in the medical literature. It provides international standards and guidelines and is designed to convey a maximum amount of information quickly and efficiently, with many helpful schematics, radiographs, and tables. Rheumatology Board Review offers chapter coverage of: * Non-inflammatory joint and soft tissue disorders * Selected topics in rheumatoid arthritis * Selected topics in systemic lupus erythematosus * Antiphospholipid antibody syndrome * IgG4-related disease * Myopathies * Selected topics in pediatric rheumatology * HIV and rheumatic diseases * Miscellaneous arthropathies * Osteoporosis * Review of musculoskeletal radiology * Study design, measurement, and basic statistical analysis * Update on vasculitis Rheumatology Board Review is a must-have reference for rheumatology fellows and professionals seeking a concise yet thorough review of state-of-the-art rheumatology.
Clinical Neuropsychology Study Guide and Board Review by
The Clinical Neuropsychology Study Guide and Board Review provides an easy to study volume with sample questions and recommended readings that are specifically designed to help individuals prepare for the ABCN written examination. In addition, this book can also be used as a teaching tool forgraduate students and trainees at various levels. The book is divided into three sections: Section 1: Foundations of Clinical Neuropsychology; Section II: Fundamentals of Assessment; and Section III: Disorders and Conditions. The format is geared toward exam preparation and is much less dense thana typical textbook.Materials are provided in a concise, outlined manner, with liberal use of bullets, boxes, and illustrations/tables that allow readers to easily review and integrate information into their already established knowledge base. To augment the study guide, a recommended readings list at the end of eachchapter provides references to more comprehensive materials considered important or seminal in each topic area.
Nuclear Medicine Board Review by
Complete with more than 2,000 questions and answers, the third edition of Nuclear Medicine Board Review: Questions and Answers for Self-Assessment fully prepares readers for certification or re-certification exams administered by the American Board of Radiology, the American Board of Nuclear Medicine, the Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology, and the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board. It is also a handy reference for residents, clinicians, and technicians, as it contains up-to-date coverage of all major advances in the field. Special features of the third edition: Updated chapters on PET/CT: new technology, NOPR coverage issues, and dementia imaging Many questions and answers on the expanding modality of SPECT/CT Chapter on radionuclide therapy updated to include extensive information on radioimmunotherapy of lymphoma and Y-90 SIRT of hepatic malignancies Important new data on radiation safety requirements and NRC regulations Designed to enhance retention, comprehension, and self-assessment, this concise text is ideal for all those who need a quick and efficient review for board exams.
