Research Guides: Clerkships : Critical Care/Intensive Care

Book List

If a book is available both electronically and in print, the featured link will bring you directly to the eBook. If you want to look up the information for a book that is available in print, Please search the library's online catalog.

Critical Care Medicine by John J. Marini; David J. Dries
ISBN: 9781496302915
Publication Date: 2018-11-03
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by Richard S. Irwin; James M. Rippe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781608311835
Publication Date: 2011-10-14
Marino's the ICU Book: Print + Ebook with Updates by Paul L. Marino
ISBN: 9781451121186
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
The Washington Manual of Critical Care by Marin Kollef
ISBN: 9781496328519
Publication Date: 2017-12-16

Review Books

Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Manuel Suarez
ISBN: 9781259641855
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by Ronaldo Collo Go
ISBN: 9781259834356
Publication Date: 2019-01-09
Intensive Care Medicine MCQs by Steve Benington (Editor); Shoneen Abbas; Ruth Herod; Daniel Horner
ISBN: 9781910079072
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
MCQs in Intensive Care Medicine by Steve Benington; Peter Nightingale; Maire Shelly
ISBN: 9781903378649
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery by Forrest "Dell" Moore (Editor); Peter M. Rhee (Editor); Carlos J. Rodriguez (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119756750
Publication Date: 2022-07-05

Guidelines

ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
The ECRI guidelines trust is the continuation/replacement for the National Guideline Clearinghouse. It is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Tips for searching for guidelines in PubMed:
1. Search your topic in the search box
2. Select the 'Customize' feature under the 'Article Type' filter
3. Select 'Guidelines' and 'Practice Guidelines'. Click 'Show' to add these filters to your search results screen
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Tips for searching for guidelines in ClinicalKey:
1. Select the 'Practice Guidelines' option from the drop down menu next to the search bar
2. To browse through all guidelines in ClinicalKey, select 'Guidelines' from the search bar underneath the search box

Access Medicine: Current Practice Guidelines 2023
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2021-2022 is available here: https://qcat.quinnipiac.edu/record=b4727209~S8

Additional Resources

The following electronic resources will provide you with quality, evidence-based clinical information. Many of these resources are available as mobile applications as well. The Netter Library has an entire Mobile Resources Guide dedicated to mobile resources related to the biomedical sciences. On our mobile resource guide you will find clinical, drug, and database resources as well as installation instructions.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Innovative online resource that offers health professionals access to more than 65 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic and point-of-care tools. Mobile application available.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Video streaming series based on Bate's Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking (Book). Videos are organized by body systems, accompanied with explanation of examination procedures and demonstrations of techniques. Health history and documentation, communication and patient/practitioner interaction, are emphasized. Also included are heart sound interpretation, OSCEs, age specific examination, neurological exam and more.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Features expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. ClinicalKey includes over 1000 books, more than 600 journals, 13,000 procedure videos and millions of images. Users are able to quickly move from topic overview to in-depth specialty information in order to meet clinical challenges. Also includes the Frank Netter anatomy books and images. Mobile application available.

Communication and Interpersonal Skills Video Collection
New from Bates's Visual Guide to Physical Examination. These new videos present interpersonal and communication techniques most often demonstrated in clinical encounters and have a strong focus on diversity and inclusion. They include approaches for patients who identify as LGBTQIA+, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.

SymptomMedia This link opens in a new window
An online mental health education and training film library. Symptom Media's library of over 300 mental health simulations including a DSM 5 and ICD Guided Film Collection and Assessment Tools provide viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, synthesized medical support resource comprised of original articles written, reviewed, and continually updated by a faculty of physician experts. Content includes major aspects of conditions, symptoms, tests, diagnosis, and treatment options. Users have access to over 11,000 clinical topics, patient information topics, graphs, medical calculators, and over 6,000 unique drug entries. Mobile application available.
Visible Body's Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
Visible Body’s Human Anatomy Atlas 2018 features 3D models, illustrations, and animations created by biomedical visualization experts. Users have access to definitions, pronunciations, and disease descriptions through any of the available models. Mobile application available.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
A web-based clinical decision support tool containing over 25,000 medical images with concise specialist-developed clinical information in areas such as dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases. Also includes demonstrative 'how-to-use' video tutorials. Mobile application available.

Clerkships

Other eBook Collections

Book List

Recommended Textbooks

Review Books

Guidelines

Additional Resources

Resources »

Services »

About »