Biochemistry and Genetics by 
BRS Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Genetics by
Practical, approachable, and perfect for today's busy medical students and practitioners, BRS Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Genetics, Seventh Edition helps ensure excellence in class exams and on the USMLE Step 1. The popular Board Review Series outline format keeps content succinct and accessible for the most efficient review, accompanied by bolded key terms, detailed figures, quick-reference tables, and other aids that highlight important concepts and reinforce understanding. This revised edition is updated to reflect the latest perspectives in biochemistry, molecular biology, and genetics, with a clinical emphasis essential to success in practice. New Clinical Correlation boxes detail the real-world application of chapter concepts, and updated USMLE-style questions with answers test retention and enhance preparation for board exams and beyond. Updated content keeps students current with the latest clinical approaches to molecular biology, genetics, amino acids, and more. The proven Board Review Series outline format helps students make the most of their study time. Updated Clinical Considerations boxes demonstrate the practical applications of chapter concepts. More than 500 USMLE-style review questions ensure confidence on course exams and the USMLE Step 1. More than 250 high-quality images clarify concepts and clinical details. Chapter overviews, tables, algorithms, and other learning aids save time and simplify the review process. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Thirty-Second Edition by
The biochemistry fundamentals every medical student needs to master--presented clearly and succinctly, with numerous case studies Concise but packed with medically relevant examples, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease. This authoritative clinical guide includes more than 600 illustrations, with each chapter featuring a section on biomedical importance summarizing the given topic. This authoritative guide presents information in a way that helps you retain everything you read, including case studies emphasizing the clinical relevance of biochemistry, review questions following each of the eleven sections, "Objectives" boxes defining the goals of each chapter, and tables encapsulating key information you must know. In addition, the authors have updated this edition with a new chapter on the importance and pervasiveness of transition metals. Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Thirty-Second Edition delivers critical coverage of: Toxic naturally occurring amino acids Extraterrestrial biomolecules Computer-aided drug design cells, basophils, and eosinophils The role of complement cascade in bacterial and viral infection Secreted mediators of cell-cell signaling between leukocytes The hazard of antioxidants that down-regulate radical signaling for apoptosis and increase risk of cancer And much more
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established, first-and-best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised this best-selling biochemistry textbook for its matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. Master all the latest biochemistry knowledge, thanks to extensive revisions and updated content throughout, including an expanded chapter on macronutrients, a completely new chapter on micronutrients, and much more. A bonus chapter on blood clotting with new, additional questions is included online. See how biochemistry applies to everyday healthcare through integrative, chapter-based cases as well as "Clinical" boxes throughout. Learn and study effortlessly with a concise outline format, abundant full-color artwork, and chapter overviews and summaries. Look for icons that signal an animation at thePoint or an integrative clinical case in the Appendix. Assess and reinforce your learning with more than 200 new review questions available online.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021, 2022 and 2023! Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy.
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, 6th Edition links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, empowering students to confidently apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine -- from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments. This proven, application-centered approach builds biochemical coverage around related clinical concepts to anchor students' understanding to a clinical context from day one. Intuitively organized chapters center on hypothetical patient vignettes to emphasize clinical applications, and helpful icons, images, and review questions make complex concepts easier to grasp. New Genetics chapter instills a foundational understanding of this essential topic without the need for a separate resource. More than 700-chapter review questions -- including over 200 new questions -- with answers and explanations prepare students for success on USMLE exams and others. The Waiting Room clinical case studies at the beginning of each chapter emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemical concepts and enable students to practice applying knowledge to real-world clinical scenarios. Clinical Notes and Method Notes in the chapter margins help students hone their critical thinking and laboratory application skills. Chapter Summaries and Key Content lists that detail essential chapter takeaways at a glance allow students to study more efficiently. Clinical Comments and Biomechanical Comments, throughout the text, allow students to make a smooth transition to practice. Additional Online Features: New End-of-Section Exams- totaling 100 questions Animations Supplemental text, tables, and figures Disease links Disease methods Full patient profiles
Medical Biochemistry by
Written by carefully selected global experts, practicing physicians, and educators in the various sub-disciplines of biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today's latest developments. You'll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice. Features a strong clinical orientation, emphasizing the relevance of biochemistry to the daily practice of medicine. Highlights the latest developments in regulatory and molecular biology, signal transduction, age-related chronic disease, epigenetics, and bioinformatics and the "-omics," as well as important global medical issues such as diabetes mellitus, obesity and malnutrition, cancer and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, and nutrition and exercise. Emphasizes clinical evaluation, maintenance of good health, and disease prevention, as well as translational medicine and the diagnosis and treatment of disease. Contains organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the bone, kidney, liver, lungs and muscle; and system-focused chapters on the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems, neurochemistry and neurotransmission, and cancer. Includes clear, colorful icons and illustrations that help you easily navigate the text and understand the material. Provides online features such as challenging "Active Learning" questions for independent study, relevant websites that reinforce or supplement chapter content, 150+ multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions, a quick-reference glossary, additional images and case studies, references to current literature, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Deja review. Biochemistry by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MAXIMUM RETENTION--MINIMAL TIME "...a clear and concise review of the material...there is enough content to give the student an understanding rather than them just memorizing, which allows for maximum success on the USMLE Step 1. This book is an excellent quick board review and a necessary addition to any medical student's books for the first two years." -- Adam Darnobid, Fourth Year Medical Student, SUNY Upstate Medical University "All of the questions that pertain to a specific disease or clinical presentation are extremely high-yield...a good review of the topic." -- Lee Donner, Fourth Year Medical Student, SUNY Downstate College of Medicine Deja Review: Biochemistry boils down your coursework to just the critical concepts you need to know for exam success. This unbeatable guide features a quick-read, two-column "flashcard" Q&A format--specifically designed to help you remember a large amount of pertinent information in the least amount of time. The format allows you to zero-in on only the correct answers to promote memory retention and get the most out of your study time. Great for last minute review of high-yield facts, Deja Review provides a straightforward way for you to assess your strengths and weaknesses and so you can excel on your course exams and the USMLE Step 1. Active recall questions allow you to understand, not just memorize, the content Clinical vignettes at the end of chapters prepare you for board-style questions Portable size for study on the go--fits in your white coat pocket Bookmark included to guide you through easy-to-use flashcard presentation
