BRS Microbiology and Immunology by
BRS Microbiology and Immunology is a popular volume in the Board Review Series for medical students. Written in a concise, readable outline format, this book is intended to cover topics most commonly tested on USMLE. Included are 300 to 500 review questions in the USMLE-style format, and a comprehensive examination.
BRS Microbiology and Immunology by
BRS Microbiology and Immunology is a popular volume in the Board Review Series for medical students. Written in a concise, readable outline format, this book is intended to cover topics most commonly tested on USMLE. Included are 300 to 500 review questions in the USMLE-style format, and a comprehensive examination.
Case Files Microbiology, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. LEARN MICROBIOLOGY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE STEP 1 A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Microbiology provides 54 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, microbiology pearls, and USMLE-style reviewquestions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 54 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions A Doody's Core Title for 2021! Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: 640+ USMLE-style review questions 350+ illustrations 140+ tables 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies Full-color images and micrographs Chapter-ending summaries Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
Microbiology in Your Pocket by
Highly Commended by the BMA Medical Book Awards for Basic & Clinical Sciences! Microbiology in Your Pocket: Quick Pathogen Review by Melphine Harriott is a concise guide to common and rare bacteria, viruses, fungi, and parasites that begins with pathogens that infect the nervous system and ends with pathogens infecting multiple organs. The presentation of material by organ system facilitates easy organization and provides versatility of use. Each card presents similar information with variations due to inherent pathogen differences. On the front is an introduction to each pathogen with clinical vignettes and images. The back provides the taxonomy or morphology, infections, pathogenesis, epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, treatment options, and an explanation. Key Features More than 230 graphics including full-color clinical images, pathogen photomicrographs, cell stains, biochemical tests, and diagrams Six color-coded pathogen types further facilitate quick acquisition of knowledge Online content via Winking Skull.com provides navigation by organ system or pathogen type Promotes long-term retention of complex material Animations further enhance learning This is an essential guide for medical students preparing for the USMLE®. It is also an ideal choice for graduate-level students in health science and dentistry looking for a user-friendly microbiology review.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Seventeenth Edition by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, as well as a new chapter on COVID-19. Outstanding Tools for USMLE Studying: Facilitates any study objective or learning style Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework 654 USMLE-style practice questions test your knowledge Complete USMLE-style practice exam Pearls cover the basic science necessary for passing the USMLE 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis Concise summaries of medically important organisms Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions Color micrographs of stained microorganisms Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers New chapter on COVID-19 with images
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2023! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, this renowned text has helped readers develop a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Now, with a NEW four-color design, the book is shorter and more assessable for students! Outstanding pedagogical elements are carried throughout this edition including: Over 400 outstanding images with hundreds of tables and illustrations Detailed legends under the art so the reader can better understand what's occurring within the illustration, without having to flip back to the text Clinical Cases with USMLE Style Questions Margin Notes identifying the "high-yield" must know content in each chapter Bulleted Summaries that conclude each chapter Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition is divided into five parts: Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. Features and Learning Aids: 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases (plus one online only chapter) Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical case with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases Numerous full-color photographs, tables, and illustrations Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Chapter-ending case questions PLUS a collection of 100 practice questions Innovative study aids including boxed narrative Overviews that open each disease-oriented chapter or major section, highlighted Margin Notes pointing out high-yield material for USMLE Step 1 preparation, bulleted lists of Key Conclusions at the end of each major section, a THINK ➔ APPLY feature that randomly inserts thought-provoking questions into the body of the text, and more. A set of tables that presents the microbes in context of the clinical infections they produce
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Microbiology and Immunology Q&a by 
Deja Review: Microbiology and Immunology, Third Edition by
This high-yield, rapid-fire Q&A book simulates flashcards in a book to help medical students review microbiology and immunology for their course exams as well as prepare for the USMLE Step 1. It is also a great review for students in basic courses in other health-related programs. The book features an at-a-glance, two-column "flashcard" Q&A format, which reinforces familiar material, while accelerating mastery of commonly tested topics. The Q&As help readers efficiently absorb a large amount of pertinent information and streamlines study time by focusing only on the correct answers. Ideal for last-minute cramming, this quick-reference also enables students to pinpoint their weaknesses and strengths so they can fine-tune their preparation--and tackle the most difficult exam questions with confidence. *First and second year US and Canadian medical students in their basic science courses *Provides a flashcard experience with the convenience of a book *USMLE® -style vignettes deliver review material in a board-simulating clinical presentation *Active recall questions allow readers to understand, not just memorize, the subject matter *Clinical correlations of basic science help readers gear up for coursework and board exams *Compact and easy to carry for on-the-spot studying
Medical Laboratory Science Examination Review by
Elsevier's Medical Laboratory Science Examination Review is a brand-new resource that offers all the review, practice, and support you need to prepare for the either the MLS or MLT certification examination. Each chapter in the book offers a thorough review on one of the core areas of Medical Laboratory Science as outlined by the ASCP Board of Certification. Practice questions are also featured at the end of each chapter and explanations and rationales for each correct answer appear at the end of the text. Plus, an eight-page full-color insert displays photomicrographs of hematological and microbiological specimens exactly as they appear under the microscope and on the MLS and MLT certification exams. A mock certifications exam is included in the print book as well as online at the companion Evolve website - which also houses additional practice questions - totaling 1,000 questions in all. Inclusion of both MLS and MLT level content and questions enables the book to be used for both certification exams Print mock exam at the end of the book contains 100 certification examination preparation questions. Content reviews in outline form enables each topic to be easily reviewed but covered in an appropriate depth. Online mock exams on the companion Evolve website include all the practice questions from the book plus additional unique questions that can be used to create mock exams for extra practice. Eight-page full-color insert within the book features 50 illustrations that show hematological and microbiological photomicrographs. Test-taking tips and suggestions discuss the exam, how it's set up and scored, when to answer, guess and not answers questions, how to identify distracters, and more.
