Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. National and State databases on inpatient, emergency department and ambulatory surgery visits as well as information from reports and tools facilitate research on a broad range of health policy issues.
A direct link to their Facts & Statistics page. The American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year. In addition, the regularly updated Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival, as well as information on symptoms, prevention, early detection, and treatment.
CDC provides statistics and data by topic. There are over 35 topic areas.
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
DATA2010 is an interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010. Healthy People 2010 contains 467 objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health in the first decade of the 21st Century.
Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. MMWR readership predominately consists of physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists and other scientists, researchers, educators, and laboratorians.
The Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (OMHHE) reports on its coordination of CDC activities for White House and Departmental Initiatives aimed at improving the ability of educational institutions to serve racial and ethnic minorities and addressing the health and human service concerns of racial and ethnic minorities.
The CMS Data Navigator is an easy to use, menu driven search tool designed to guide users to CMS data and information that is already available on the web. The Data Navigator does not house or maintain data but connects users by organizing data into categories, such as program, topic, or setting of care.
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
Find over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including U.S. federal agencies, states, counties, and cities.
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Find the latest topical reports, interactive maps and graphs, and cancer statistics by cancer type, geographic area, and demographic subgroups.
Statistics on complementary and alternative medicine use.
Data was obtained from a review of the major epidemiological studies with the cooperation of their authors. Age, race and sex-specific prevalence rates were then combined using a meta-analysis technique for reducing the overall variance of the pooled rate. Appropriate logistic regression models were fit to the age, race and sex-specific pooled prevalence rates. In the initial report, these rates were applied to the 2000 U.S. Census population. In collaboration with Prevent Blindness America, the prevalence rates have now been applied to the 2010 U.S. Census population.
Aggregated statistics from reputable websites across the internet. Topics include diabetes, digestive diseases, kidney diseases, liver diseases, obesity and being overweight, and urologic diseases.
The information on these statistics pages includes the best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Fact sheets and statistics regarding alcohol and alcohol abuse.
There are a variety of sources of information the National Institute on Drug Abuse uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources included cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
An exhaustive list of data, statistics, and survey data on the web.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
Data from the U.S. Census
The Women of Color Health Information collection presents data on race/ethnicity and disease. Through data, clues about how culture, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic background, and geographic location contribute to the health status of women of color can be identified. In order to explore sex differences, scientists need data about the similarities and differences between women and men in diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and other conditions.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
"Fighting devastating ignorance with fact-based worldviews everyone can understand." Gapminder aggregates a variety of data, including health, from reputable sources. It has over 500 indicators listed.
Global statistics on a wide range of health, political, agricultural, and business indicators.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
UNICEF supports countries in collecting data related to children and women through Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), an international household survey program.
The main purpose of the Statistical Yearbook is to provide in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of
internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, covering a ten-year period to the extent possible.
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates
WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. The link above will take you the the country statistics, but make sure to browse the other options on the left side of the page.
The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.
Click on map or state name for individual state data.
Find CT-specific data and statistics under "Statistics & Research."
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
The New Haven Health Department is a municipal public health agency serving New Haven, Connecticut. Public health agencies work to prevent disease, promote health, and prolong life among the population as a whole.
Find data under About and then NHV Health Data from the drop down menu.
Quinnipiac Valley Health District (Includes the towns of Hamden, North Haven, Woodbridge and Bethany).
Find regional data in the annual reports under "about us."
State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations..
