Pathologists' Assistant

Detailed understanding of gross pathology is mandatory for successful pathologists, but this knowledge also provides a sound foundation for those intending to become surgeons, internists, and obstetrician/gynecologists. For pathologists, pathology residents, and pathology assistants, knowledge of gross pathology is essential for guidance in selecting the correct areas of pathologic lesions to sample for microscopy and frozen section examination. This atlas provides a comprehensive illustration and description of a wide range and number of pathologic processes and diseases affecting all the major organs of the body. Emphasis is placed on how the anatomic structure of different organs may determine the pattern of involvement by disease processes and how such patterns may aid in the correct diagnosis of the gross pathology. In some cases, multiple illustrations of disease processes are given to show evolution of the disease. Histologic illustrations of selected gross lesions are also included where relevant. The atlas is illustrated with more than 1,200 color photomicrographs.

The pocket atlas is an excellent reference work that presents pathologic findings in all clinically relevant fields, using high-quality photographs and concise, well structured explanatory texts. Images include color photos and micrographs. Electron microscopic images are included where necessary. Clear schematic drawings illustrate procedures such as the course of infections, etc. Text boxes on clinical and morphological aspects, on complications, and with easy-to-remember mnemonic summaries are set off in color.

The perfect point-of-care guide for nurses and health professionals caring for patients undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures.

This highly practical guide helps pathology professionals quickly and accurately describe surgical and autopsy specimens as they perform gross dissection. It helps clinicians and medical students interpret pathology reports easily and exactly. Gross Pathology Handbook provides a comprehensive list of 166 gross descriptive terms paired with images of gross specimens. Each listing includes a brief commentary describing the gross appearance, the underlying disease process and commonly affected tissues.

The placenta is an organ often neglected by surgical pathologists and clinicians alike. Placental diagnoses provide risk assessment for infant prognosis, recurrent risk for future pregnancies, and explanatory findings.

Stocker and Dehner's Pediatric Pathology provides encyclopedic but very usable coverage of this complex subspecialty, detailing all major aspects of the pathologic anatomy of childhood disorders ranging from chromosomal syndromes and infections to forensic pathology.

DiMaio's Forensic Pathology maintains its concise, easy-to-read format with completely updated references and over 400 full-color demonstrative photographs and photomicrographs to illustrate concepts - making it appealing not only to forensic pathologists, but also law enforcement personnel and attorneys.

Commingling of human remains presents an added challenge to all phases of the forensic process. This book brings together tools from diverse sources within forensic science to offer a set of comprehensive approaches to handling commingled remains. It details the recovery of commingled remains in the field, the use of triage in the assessment of commingling, various analytical techniques for sorting and determining the number of individuals, the role of DNA in the overall process, ethical considerations, and data management. In addition, the book includes case examples that illustrate techniques found to be successful and those that proved problematic.

Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology is the choice of medical students.

More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more.