Research Guides: Introduction to Literature Search: Database Searching

Database Searching

Below is a list of our most commonly used databases. Looking for more databases? Be sure to check out our complete database list and your disciplines' research guide for more suggestions.

Where to search

Select Citation Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 35 million citations. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health sciences, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950-present. Includes links to full text through Quinnipiac.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed research and conference literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 23,500 academic journals, conference papers, trade publications, books, and links to quality web sites. Note: Per our license terms with this publisher, Scopus data may not be used to to train artificial intelligence tools.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain rigorous, high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Mobile application available.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Features journal articles, dissertations, conferences, images and book chapters in Nursing and Allied Health professions from 1937 to present. Contains resources related to nursing and allied health; consumer health, biomedicine; and health sciences. Also includes research instruments, diseases and conditions, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and full-text articles from major psychology journals, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage begins in 1894 and includes international material.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for sports & sports medicine journals. Also allows users to search for images. For some titles, full-text coverage dates back to 1985.

All Health Science and Medicine Databases
View the Netter Library's complete database collection.

Clinical Trials

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain rigorous, high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Mobile application available.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Information on publicly and privately supported human clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Features expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. ClinicalKey includes over 1000 books, more than 600 journals, 13,000 procedure videos and millions of images. Users are able to quickly move from topic overview to in-depth specialty information in order to meet clinical challenges. Also includes the Frank Netter anatomy books and images. Mobile application available.

EU Clinical Trials Register
The European Union Clinical Trials Register allows you to search for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials that are conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) and those that are conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.

Netter Library Libguides

Looking for more recommendations on where to search? Check out the Netter Library's collection of department-specific libguides for suggestions regarding database and other research tools

Accessing Full Text Articles from Databases

Click the icon in the database results and you will be linked directly to the full text or PDF if QU has access to the article

If QU does not have access, you are linked to the Journal Locator page where you will see the “Request via Interlibrary Loan” link. Clicking the link opens ILLiad, QU’s interlibrary loan program and automatically fills the citation information into a new ILLiad request so you can request a copy of the article.

There is no charge for requesting articles through ILLiad and most ILL requests are filled within 2 business days.

Introduction to Literature Search

Interlibrary Loan

Database Searching

Where to search

Select Citation Databases

Clinical Trials

Netter Library Libguides

Accessing Full Text Articles from Databases

Resources »

Services »

About »