Occupational Therapy

The following databases are good places to start when looking for occupational therapy infomation:

Library OneSearch is a search engine that provides simple access to relevant information including scholarly resources at Quinnipiac University through an integrated search of all our databases, e-books, print books, full-text journals and the Quinnipiac Library Catalog.

Library OneSearch

Typing your search in Library OneSearch is as easy to use as 1-2-3:  Search, Sort and See.

Search: Enter search terms into a single search box, or select an Advanced Search option.

Sort: Arrange results by criteria such as date, subject, academic journals and other options.

See: View results, and link directly to full text for more details.

There are TWO TITLES that you encounter when searching the literature and looking at database results.

1. The title of the INDIVIDUAL ARTICLE.   
2. The title of the JOURNAL (think 'publication' or 'source') that the individual article appeared in, along with many other articles. 

AOTA-The American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF) and the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) jointly support OT SEARCH, a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, only the bibliographic information to identify the material and an author's abstract, when one exists. Currently, OT SEARCH contains over 41,900 records of materials dating from 1910 to the present. 

If you access OT Search through the Library (here in the Research Guide or the list of Health and Medicine Databases from the Library Databases page) when you are off campus you will use your QU network username and password, as you do with any database from off campus.

Plagiarism:

The American Occupational Therapy Association, Advisory Opinion for the Ethics Commission:  Plagiarism

Click the  icon in the database results and you will be linked directly to the full text or PDF if QU has access to the article

• If QU does not have access, you are linked to the Journal Locator page where you will see the “Request via Interlibrary Loan” link. Clicking the link opens ILLiad, QU’s interlibrary loan program and automatically fills the citation information into a new ILLiad request so you can request a copy of the article.  

• There is no charge for requesting articles through ILLiad and most ILL requests are filled within 2 business days.

If you need a journal article that is not ownded by the library, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). 

• The service is free. 
• Articles in PDF format will be sent to your QU email. Articles usually arrive within a few days but might take longer. 

ILL requests should be submitted online from the Interlibrary Loan page.