Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Articles

Physical Therapy Selected Databases

The following databases are good places to start when looking for physical therapy information:

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Features journal articles, dissertations, conferences, images and book chapters in Nursing and Allied Health professions from 1937 to present. Contains resources related to nursing and allied health; consumer health, biomedicine; and health sciences. Also includes research instruments, diseases and conditions, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 35 million citations. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health sciences, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950-present. Includes links to full text through Quinnipiac.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Features expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. ClinicalKey includes over 1000 books, more than 600 journals, 13,000 procedure videos and millions of images. Users are able to quickly move from topic overview to in-depth specialty information in order to meet clinical challenges. Also includes the Frank Netter anatomy books and images. Mobile application available.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is a free database of over 46,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and full-text articles from major psychology journals, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage begins in 1894 and includes international material.

Scopus
Provides access to peer-reviewed research and conference literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for sports & sports medicine journals. Also allows users to search for images. For some titles, full-text coverage dates back to 1985.

All Health Science and Medicine Databases
View the Netter Library's complete database collection.

Know the Difference Between Article and Journal Titles

There are TWO TITLES that you encounter when searching the literature and looking at database results.

The title of the INDIVIDUAL ARTICLE.
The title of the JOURNAL (think 'publication' or 'source') that the individual article appeared in, along with many other articles.

Accessing Full Text Articles from Databases

Click the icon in the database results and you will be linked directly to the full text or PDF if QU has access to the article

If QU does not have access, you are linked to the Journal Locator page where you will see the “Request via Interlibrary Loan” link. Clicking the link opens ILLiad, QU’s interlibrary loan program and automatically fills the citation information into a new ILLiad request so you can request a copy of the article.

There is no charge for requesting articles through ILLiad and most ILL requests are filled within 2 business days.

Physical Therapy

Get Help

Physical Therapy Selected Databases

Know the Difference Between Article and Journal Titles

Accessing Full Text Articles from Databases

Resources »

Services »

About »