Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Books

Book Collection Best Bets

Thieme:Physical Therapy ebooks
An online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme's Color Atlases and Flexibook series. Includes a collection of physical therapy textbooks.

Selected Book Collections

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
An online resource that provides health professionals with access to more than 65 medical book titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

ClinicalKey
Provides current clinically relevant evidence-based answers, as well as expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. ClinicalKey includes over 900 books, 500 journals, 13,000 procedure videos and millions of images. Users are able to quickly move from topic overview to in-depth specialty information in order to meet clinical challenges.

Merck Manual for Health This link opens in a new window
Online version of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.
MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme's Color Atlases and Flexibook series. Content covers every course in the medical school curriculum. Includes Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy. Mobile application available.

Reference Books

Clinical prediction rules: a physical therapy reference manual.

Please remember that subject-specific reference sources provide background information on topics. They were written by experts in field and use the terminology or language of that discipline. They are a great place to begin for a quick introduction to topic. These resources may include:

Definitions
Overviews
Facts & dates
Legislation
Statistics
Bibliographies

There are many other reference materials that may be helpful and save you time. Please just ask for suggestions.

APTA Book

Writing Case Reports: a how-to manual for clinicians by Irene McEwen (Editor)
Call Number: Netter Library Circulation Stacks RM700 .W74 2009
Contents Pt. I: Before you write: -- Why write case reports? -- Choosing a case, or cases, to report -- Searching the literature -- Defining and measuring -- Determining real change.
Pt. II: Start writing: -- 'The introduction': making the case for your case -- Describing the patient or other entity -- Describing the intervention -- Describing the outcomes -- 'The discussion': time for reflection -- Preparing for peer review.
Pt. III: Appendixes: -- 1: Checklist for case reports focusing on diagnosis/prognosis -- 2. Checklist for case reports focusing on intervention -- 3. Checklist for case reports focusing on application of theory to practice -- 4. Checklist for case reports focusing on clinical measurement procedures -- 5. Checklist for case reports focusing on administrative/educational processes -- 6. Checklist for case reports focusing on risk management -- 7. Checklist for 'full,' traditional case reports.
Pt. IV: Online supplements: -- 1. Annotations for published case reports -- 2. Fictional case report -- 3. What peer-review feedback looks like.

Physical Therapy

Get Help

Book Collection Best Bets

Selected Book Collections

Reference Books

APTA Book

Resources »

Services »

About »