Research Guides: Study Break: Mind &amp; Body

Payton Rae Mickey, DPT '21 Health & Wellness Collection in the QU Libraries

The Edward and Barbara Netter Library and Arnold Bernhard Library house duplicate collections in memory Payton Rae Mickey, DPT '21. The Payton Rae Mickey Health & Wellness Collection supports the mental, emotional and physical wellness of members of the Quinnipiac University community.

ABL News Archive: Payton Rae Mickey Collection
Payton Rae Mickey, who passed unexpectedly in July 2021, was a recent Quinnipiac University graduate, receiving her bachelor's degree in 2018 and her Doctor of Physical Therapy in 2021. She was a member of the Quinnipiac women’s field hockey team, Camp No Limits and the Co-Director of the EQUIP Eboard. Payton was always full of energy, passion and kindness, with a smile that could light up any room. She loved to travel and live life to the fullest.
Quinnipiac Today: Campus community honors graduate with book collection
Mickey’s friends were determined to find the best way to remember her – they came together to create a book legacy in partnership with the Edward and Barbara Netter Library at Quinnipiac. Over several months, Mickey’s former classmates, friends, and family put together the Payton Mickey, DPT, Health & Wellness Collection, amassing more than 150 of her favorite books.

View the book titles in the Payton Rae Mickey Health and Wellness Collection.

View the book titles in the Payton Rae Mickey Leisure Reading Collection.

Donate to the collections in Payton’s memory and have your name placed on a bookplate inside the book.

Mind and Body

Think Positive!

Positive Thinking: Stop negative self-talk to reduce stress
The power of body positivity
Practicing Gratitude: Ways to Improve Positivity
Positive thinking helps with stress management and can even improve your health. Practice overcoming negative self-talk with examples provided.
What Is Positive Thinking?

Wellness Podcasts

Hurdle
Hurdle features people who got through a tough time—a hurdle of sorts—by integrating wellness into their routines. This podcast brings you peoples' stories, the lessons they learned, and hopefully gives you the push you need to live a healthier, happier, more motivated life.
The Science of Happiness
Learn research-tested strategies for a happier, more meaningful life, drawing on the science of compassion, gratitude, mindfulness, and awe
Being Well
Dr. Rick Hanson and Forrest Hanson explore the practical science of lasting well-being, and teach you how to build reliable inner strengths, overcome your challenges, and get the most out of life.
Unlocking Us
Join Brené Brown as she unpacks and explores the ideas, stories, experiences, books, films, and music that reflect the universal experiences of being human, from the bravest moments to the most brokenhearted.
Available on Spotify
Ten Percent Happier with Dan Harris
In this podcast, host Dan Harris explores happiness (whatever that means) from all angles. Guests include legendary meditation teachers -- from the Dalai Lama to Western masters -- as well as scientists, and even the odd celebrity.
The Ultimate Health Podcast
Jesse Chappus has in-depth conversations with health and wellness leaders from around the world. Topics include lifestyle, nutrition, fitness, self-help, sleep, meditation, spirituality and so much more. Tune in weekly to take your health to the next level!
The Well-being Connector
The Coalition for Physician Well-Being presents conversations with healthcare professionals who support wholeness within their organizations. Our guests understand that in the pursuit of wholeness we must encompass the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health care of each individual, in order to reinvigorate their purpose and meaning.
Physician First
The Physician Wellness First podcast brings you closer to what really matters—joy in your work, balance at home, a life well-lived. Physician wellness is not optional; it is a necessary condition to being an excellent physician.

Fitness and Recreation

QU Bobcat Well Being Toolkit
In need a of a mindful tools to help you relax, destress and reconnect to yourself? This toolkit has links to resources to assist you... from short 5 minute breathing practices, guided meditations, to yoga classes.

Resources from Quinnipiac University Counseling

Apps and Resources Apps designed to relieve stress and/or anxiety, improve sleep or otherwise support a healthy lifestyle.

CampusWell Resources, news, and events.

Download the CampusWell app for free Find all wellness info in one place.

Informational Videos A variety of videos on topics including relaxation, relationships, homesickness and more.

Quinnipiac Counseling The Office of Counseling Services provides a range of clinical services and mental health support to QU undergraduate and graduate students who experience emotional distress at no cost.

College Student Health

Dealing with Daily Stress

Exam Time

eBooks from the Library

10 Steps to Mastering Stress by David H. Barlow; Ronald M. Rapee; Sarah Perini
This updated edition of 10 Steps to Mastering Stress: A Lifestyle Approach is a step-by-step program that will help you identify what is causing your stress, teach you proven calming techniques, and most importantly, show you how to think more realistically in ways that will reduce, rather than increase, your stressful reactions to daily events in your life. This program is based on nearly two decades of research, during which the authors have learned more about stress than was ever known before - and how to control it.
Stress Management for Dummies by Allen Elkin
Tired of letting stress have a negative impact on your life? It's impossible to get through life without encountering stress. And unfortunately, most of us learn the incorrect ways to cope with it. Thankfully, Stress Management For Dummies gives you trusted, time-tested guidance on teaching your body and mind to properly cope with stress while keeping your sanity intact.

QU Health and Wellness Center

Professional counseling services are available throughout the academic year and during the summer sessions.

In an emergency situation regarding a mental health issue, immediately call 911 or contact campus security at 203-582-6200.

In a non-emergency situation, contact the Office of Student Affairs at 203-582-8735.

Study Break: Mind & Body