Anatomy Resources

Histology - an Essential Textbook by D. J. Lowrie Learn to identify histological structures and their correlated functions! Histology: An Essential Textbook is a concise, multimedia study guide for medical students who need to learn the functions and related correlations of cells, tissues, and organs of the human body. Professor D.J. Lowrie, Jr. has written a unique and practical medical histology resource based on self-directed modules originally created to replace live histology laboratory sessions. This resource will help medical students learn how to identify histological structures on slide preparations and electron micrographs. Short videos by the author, who demonstrates structures via digitized histology slides, provide additional guidance. Shorter, targeted concepts and brief explanations accompanied by numerous illustrations, self-assessment quizzes, and videos demonstrating key features of histological structures set this resource apart from existing, text-dense books. Key Features Nearly 850 images, consisting primarily of electron and light micrographs, aid in identification of histological structures and long-term retention Correlation of histological structure with other basic science disciplines, such as gross anatomy, embryology, and pathology allows students to integrate material effectively Over 1000 online multiple choice questions and answers mirror exam topics students frequently encounter in curriculum and the USMLE® Nearly 375 videos provide a personal tutor that teaches students histological structures, while providing tips for proper identification This is a must-have self-study guide for medical students, as well as a stellar teaching tool for instructors. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Netter's Essential Histology by William K. Ovalle; Patrick C. Nahirney With strong correlations between gross anatomy and the microanatomy of structures, Netter's Essential Histology, 3rd Edition, is the perfect text for today's evolving medical education. Concise and easy to use, it integrates gross anatomy and embryology with classic histology slides and state-of-the-art scanning electron microscopy, offering a clear, visual understanding of this complex subject. Additional histopathology images, more clinical boxes, and new histopathology content ensure that this textbook-atlas clearly presents the most indispensable histologic concepts and their clinical relevance. Helps you recognize both normal and diseased structures at the microscopic level with the aid of succinct explanatory text as well as numerous clinical boxes.  Features more histopathology content and additional clinical boxes to increase your knowledge of pathophysiology and clinical relevance.  Includes high-quality light and electron micrographs, including enhanced and colorized electron micrographs that show ultra-structures in 3D, side by side with classic Netter illustrations that link your knowledge of anatomy and cell biology to what is seen in the micrographs.  Provides online access to author-narrated video overviews of each chapter, plus Zoomify images and Virtual Slides that include histopathology and can be viewed at different magnifications.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Seventeenth Edition by Anthony L. Mescher This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For five decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, this trusted classic provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology. With coverage of all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more, Junqueira's is a valuable foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to clarify key concepts. This is an essential resource for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology. Junqueira's Basic Histology, Seventeenth Edition features: New: 550 Q&A - 300 more than the previous edition! Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlighting key content Clinical correlations for each topic Illustrations depicting key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs that deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable Appendix that explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online New: PowerPoint slides with illustrations and micrographs via AccessMedicine

Histology - an Essential Textbook by D. J. Lowrie Learn to identify histological structures and their correlated functions! Histology: An Essential Textbook is a concise, multimedia study guide for medical students who need to learn the functions and related correlations of cells, tissues, and organs of the human body. Professor D.J. Lowrie, Jr. has written a unique and practical medical histology resource based on self-directed modules originally created to replace live histology laboratory sessions. This resource will help medical students learn how to identify histological structures on slide preparations and electron micrographs. Short videos by the author, who demonstrates structures via digitized histology slides, provide additional guidance. Shorter, targeted concepts and brief explanations accompanied by numerous illustrations, self-assessment quizzes, and videos demonstrating key features of histological structures set this resource apart from existing, text-dense books. Key Features Nearly 850 images, consisting primarily of electron and light micrographs, aid in identification of histological structures and long-term retention Correlation of histological structure with other basic science disciplines, such as gross anatomy, embryology, and pathology allows students to integrate material effectively Over 1000 online multiple choice questions and answers mirror exam topics students frequently encounter in curriculum and the USMLE® Nearly 375 videos provide a personal tutor that teaches students histological structures, while providing tips for proper identification This is a must-have self-study guide for medical students, as well as a stellar teaching tool for instructors. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques by Kim S. Suvarna; Christopher Layton; John D. Bancroft For 40 years, Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques has established itself as the standard reference for histotechnologists and laboratory scientists, as well as histopathologists. With coverage of the full range of histological techniques used in medical laboratories and pathology departments, it provides a strong foundation in all aspects of histological technology - from basic methods of section preparation and staining, to advanced diagnostic techniques such as immunocytochemistry and molecular testing. This revised and updated 8th Edition by Kim S. Suvarna, Christopher Layton, and John D. Bancroft is a one-stop reference for all those involved with histological preparations and applications, from student to highly advanced laboratory professional. Presents a thorough, up-to-date, and detailed approach to the theory and protocols for preparing cells and tissues for laboratory evaluation, covering topics ranging from basic to advanced Features new content on automation (computer logging and tracking, sub-sampling and archiving of samples), digital scanning techniques for slides used in remote/telepathology, and specialist molecular techniques. Provides superb visual guidance through the use of vivid color illustrations, including additional illustrations of diagnostic modalities and techniques. Contains more summary tables, charts, and boxes throughout for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.