Research Guides: Nurse Anesthetists: Research Databases

Core Databases

Start your research with these databases, but don't get discouraged if you can't find what you need. Specialized databases can be found in the box below this one.

CINAHL Ultimate

Features journal articles, dissertations, conferences, images and book chapters in Nursing and Allied Health professions from 1937 to present. Contains resources related to nursing and allied health; consumer health, biomedicine; and health sciences. Also includes research instruments, diseases and conditions, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets.
PubMed

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes MEDLINE, with over 35 million citations. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health sciences, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950-present. Includes links to full text through Quinnipiac.
Cochrane Library

A collection of six databases that contain rigorous, high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Mobile application available.

Use the drop-down menu below to select from the full list of Netter databases.

Other Useful Databases

ERIC Resources in Education (EBSCO version)

The ERIC Resources in Education database using the EBSCO interface which allows easy import into RefWorks citation manager.
ERIC is a comprehensive database of education research and information. Includes indexing of ERIC documents and over 600 education journals. To check for full text at the Arnold Bernhard Library, click on "Find in a library" and follow the links to our Journal Locator.
Scopus

Provides access to peer-reviewed research and conference literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 23,500 academic journals, conference papers, trade publications, books, and links to quality web sites. Note: Per our license terms with this publisher, Scopus data may not be used to to train artificial intelligence tools.

AI restriction: you may not "use the Subscribed Products without Elsevier's permission in writing in combination with an artificial intelligence tool except where such artificial intelligence tool is used in a closed hosted environment solely for use by the subscriber.

Basic Searching

Boolean Searching

Creating a Better Search

PubMed I: The Basics

CINAHL I: The Basics

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

If Quinnipiac does not have full text access to the journal articles that you are looking for, you may order them through Inter-Library Loan, free of charge. Please allow two weeks (maximum) for delivery.

Accessing Full Text Articles from Databases

Click the icon in the database results and you will be linked directly to the full text or PDF if QU has access to the article

If QU does not have access, you are linked to the Journal Locator page where you will see the “Request via Interlibrary Loan” link. Clicking the link opens ILLiad, QU’s interlibrary loan program and automatically fills the citation information into a new ILLiad request so you can request a copy of the article.

There is no charge for requesting articles through ILLiad and most ILL requests are filled within 2 business days.