Research Guides: Nursing: Statistics &amp; Data

Statistics or Data?

The terms data and statistics are often used interchangeably; however, in scholarship there is a distinct difference that is important to understand as you choose your sources. Data are generally considered raw information and are the product of research. Data often come in machine-readable formats and are analyzed. One of those outputs are Statistics. Statistics are an end-product of data that have be interpreted, analyzed and presented in a specific manner - this could be a table, a chart, a graph, or just a number or percentage.

For more in-depth information, check out this ebook from the library's collection:

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by Susan White
Publication Date: 2020

EBOOK
Unlimited simultaneous users

Health Statistics - General

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect allows users to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network)

A rich resource, updated daily, for infectious disease, epidemiology, and microbiology information. The platform features tools for finding disease, drug, vaccine, microbe, and country-specific information; identifying pathogens; performing diagnoses; and visualizing epidemiological data, including disease outbreaks and vaccine coverage. GIDEON also contains books on infectious diseases in specific countries, specific diseases globally, and major topics in the study of infectious diseases and epidemiology.

CT Department of Health
Find CT-specific data and statistics under "Statistics & Research."
Quinnipiac Valley Health District
Find regional data in the annual reports under "about us."
CT DataHaven
At DataHaven, the mission is to improve quality of life by collecting, interpreting and sharing public data for effective decision-making. Includes the DataHaven Community Wellbeing Survey, neighborhood profiles, and data mapping options.
CT Data Collaborative
Includes town profiles

AHRQ State Snapshots
The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.
CDC State and Territorial Data
Births, births rates, deaths, and death rates by state and territory
Dartmouth Atlas
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.

AHRQ Data, Statistics, & Tools
Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. National and State databases on inpatient, emergency department and ambulatory surgery visits as well as information from reports and tools facilitate research on a broad range of health policy issues.
CDC Data and Statistics by Topic
CDC provides statistics and data by topic. There are over 35 topic areas.
IMPORTANT: Make sure to peruse the other data systems in the right-hand tool bar.
CDC Fast Stats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
CDC Healthy People 2010 (DATA 2010)
DATA2010 is an interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010. Healthy People 2010 contains 467 objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health in the first decade of the 21st Century.
CDC Healthy People 2020 (DATA 2020)
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. This is the archived version of the page.
CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. MMWR readership predominately consists of physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists and other scientists, researchers, educators, and laboratorians.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
The CMS Data Navigator is an easy to use, menu driven search tool designed to guide users to CMS data and information that is already available on the web. The Data Navigator does not house or maintain data but connects users by organizing data into categories, such as program, topic, or setting of care.
Dartmouth Atlas
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
Data.Census.Gov
Search for town, county, zipcode, or state to generate tables and maps of data. Use the filters to help narrow your results.
Data.gov
Find over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including U.S. federal agencies, states, counties, and cities.
National Library of Medicine Health Services Research Information Central
An exhaustive list of data, statistics, and survey data on the web.

Gapminder
"Fighting devastating ignorance with fact-based worldviews everyone can understand." Gapminder aggregates a variety of data, including health, from reputable sources. It has over 500 indicators listed.
OECD
Global statistics on a wide range of health, political, agricultural, and business indicators.
UNICEF Data & Statistics
UNICEF supports countries in collecting data related to children and women through Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), an international household survey program.
World Health Organization Data & Statistics
WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. The link above will take you the the country statistics. The page is in Beta form, so make sure to click around!

Health Statistics - Subject Specific

American Cancer Society - Cancer Statistics Center
A direct link their Cancer Statistics Center. The Cancer Statistics Center website is a comprehensive interactive resource about cancer burden in the US. The website provides detailed statistics on a range of topics including:
--The estimated numbers of new cancer cases and deaths in the current year
--Current cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends
--State-level risk factor and screening metrics
Cancer Stat Facts
Cancer Stat Facts are a collection of statistical summaries for a number of common cancer types.
National Cancer Institute
Find the latest topical reports, interactive maps and graphs, and cancer statistics by cancer type, geographic area, and demographic subgroups.
National Cancer Institute SEER
SEER Explorer is an interactive website that provides easy access to a wide range of SEER cancer statistics. It provides detailed statistics for a cancer site by gender, race, calendar year, age, and for a selected number of cancer sites, by stage and histology.

CDC: COVID Data Tracker
From the CDC. Includes interactive maps and figures.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) disease pandemic- Statistics & Facts
From Statista. Includes stats and facts on topics such as total deaths and cases, public opinion data, and more.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) in the U.S. - Statistics & Facts
From Statista. Stats and facts on COVID in the United States.
Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19)
Features country profiles which allow you to explore the statistics on the coronavirus pandemic for every country in the world. Each profile includes information that covers the following four topics: deaths, testing, cases, and government response.
COVID-19/Coronavirus Facts and Figures
From Statista. This facts and figures page includes a wide variety of information. Here you will find information broken down by country, including data on the economic impact of COVID, and survey data from Statista.
CT Data: COVID-19 Data Resources
This data portal provides centralized access to data on the COVID-19 emergency and response, and supplements information available on the state's COVID-19 portal.

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Aggregated statistics from reputable websites across the internet. Topics include diabetes, digestive diseases, kidney diseases, liver diseases, obesity and being overweight, and urologic diseases.
CDC Diabetes Data
American Diabetes Association

National Alliance on Mental Illness
Mental Health By the Numbers
National Institute of Mental Health
The information on these statistics pages includes statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data, Outcomes, and Quality
SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities.
Navigation is on the left side of the page.

CDC Office of Minority Health & Health Equity
The Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (OMHHE) reports on its coordination of CDC activities for White House and Departmental Initiatives aimed at improving the ability of educational institutions to serve racial and ethnic minorities and addressing the health and human service concerns of racial and ethnic minorities.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Connect with reports, data sets, and articles, and related sources on minority health and health disparities provided by NIMHD’s federal and non-federal partners and grantee institutions. This is not a comprehensive repository of information; instead, NIMHD highlights a few of the latest resources produced and links to organizations that are generating and posting new sources of information.
Office of Minority Health Resource Center
The Office of Minority Health provides the most current quantitative information related to minority health. This includes sourcing and maintaining a body of expert knowledge on minority health status initiatives, and demographic statistics and analyses on minority populations, compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics, the Census Bureau, private foundations, clinical practitioners, private data sources and public agencies. Includes population profiles.
Women of Color Health Information Collection
The Women of Color Health Information collection presents data on race/ethnicity and disease. Through data, clues about how culture, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic background, and geographic location contribute to the health status of women of color can be identified. In order to explore sex differences, scientists need data about the similarities and differences between women and men in diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and other conditions.
**This collection is dated

Guttmacher Institute Public-Use Data Sets
Includes data sets on sexual and reproductive health care, abortion worldwide, and pregnancies, births, and abortions in the US.
*NOTE* These are data sets, NOT statistics.
March of Dimes Peristats
Includes country (US) and state-level reports and/or data on topics around the health of pregnant people. This includes care deserts, prematurity, risk factors, mental health, and community level factors.
NCHS Fast Stats: Contraceptive Use
NCHS Fast Stats: Infertility
Pregnancy Mortality Surveillance System
A CDC-conducted national pregnancy-related mortality surveillance. Its aim is to better understand the risk factors for and causes of pregnancy-related deaths in the United States.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Fact sheets and statistics regarding alcohol and alcohol abuse.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
There are a variety of sources of information the National Institute on Drug Abuse uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources included cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data, Outcomes, and Quality
SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities

AgingStats.gov
Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
American Heart Association
Each year, the American Heart Association, in conjunction with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institutes of Health and other government agencies, compiles up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases in the Heart Disease and Stroke Statistical Update. This is a valuable resource for researchers, clinicians, healthcare policy makers, media professionals, the public and others who seek the best national data available on disease morbidity, mortality and risks; quality of care; medical procedures and operations; and costs associated with the management of these diseases. The Heart Disease and Stroke Statistical Update is a major source for monitoring cardiovascular health and disease in the population.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Statistics on complementary and alternative medicine use.
National Eye Institute
A collection of eye health data and statistics.

Miscellaneous Statistics

CT DataHaven
At DataHaven, the mission is to improve quality of life by collecting, interpreting and sharing public data for effective decision-making. Includes the DataHaven Community Wellbeing Survey, neighborhood profiles, and data mapping options.
CT Data Collaborative
Includes town profiles.
Crime in Connecticut
Annual publication of the Connecticut Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program maintained by the Connecticut State Police Crime Analysis Unit.
CT Department of Education

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The United State's primary source for criminal justice statistics.
Crime in Connecticut
Annual publication of the Connecticut Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program maintained by the Connecticut State Police Crime Analysis Unit.
FBI Crime Statistics
The FBI regularly publishes or contributes to a series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help one better understand crime threats both nationally and locally. Reports include: Crime in the U.S, Hate Crime Statistics, & Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

EdSight: CT Department of Education Data
Data and reports for CT schools. Profile and Performance Reports give a good overview; raw data is also available for download and interpretation.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Education Statistics State Profiles
Search for statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states.
National Education Association Rankings of States and Estimates of School Statistics
The data presented in this combined report provide facts about the extent to which local, state, and national governments commit resources to public education. NEA Research offers this report to its state and local affiliates as well as to researchers, policymakers, and the public as a tool to examine public education policies, programs, and services.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

US Department of Education Statistics
World Bank EdStats
The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity.

The General Social Survey
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Quinnipiac University Poll
Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than a dozen states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Data.gov
Find over 200,000 datasets from hundreds of data sources including U.S. federal agencies, states, counties, and cities.
New Strategist Publications
A series of statistical sources profiling the American public. The data comes from the federal government and is compiled into volumes that address demographic themes such as household spending, income, generation X, baby boomers, millennials, older Americans, health, etc.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

U.S. Census Data
Search for town, county, zipcode, or state to generate tables and maps of data. Use the filters to help narrow your results.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
The main purpose of the Statistical Yearbook is to provide in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of
internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, covering a ten-year period to the extent possible.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
Environmental Justice Index
The Environmental Justice Index uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to rank the cumulative impacts of environmental injustice on health for every census tract. Census tracts are subdivisions of counties for which the Census collects statistical data. The EJI ranks each tract on 36 environmental, social, and health factors and groups them into three overarching modules and ten different domains.

Data

CDC Wonder
CDC WONDER manages nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics. These data collections are available as online databases, which provide public access to ad-hoc queries, summary statistics, maps, charts, and data extracts. Most of the data are updated annually; some collections are updated monthly or weekly.
Data.gov Datasets
Over 200,000 datasets from the US Government.
Data.Medicare.Gov
Heathcare Cost and Utilization Project
The HCUP family of administrative longitudinal databases contains encounter-level information on inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgery in U.S. hospitals. These databases are created by AHRQ through a Federal-State-Industry partnership.
WHO Global Health Observatory
The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
World Bank Data Catalog
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates
EdSight: CT Department of Education Data
Data and reports for CT schools. Profile and Performance Reports give a good overview; raw data is also available for download and interpretation.