Research Guides: Medical Laboratory Sciences: Articles

Select Databases

PubMed

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes MEDLINE, with over 35 million citations. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health sciences, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950-present. Includes links to full text through Quinnipiac.
BioMed Central (BMC)

Online publisher of free peer-reviewed scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology.

Science Direct
Indexing and abstracting of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals, with approximately half of them full text. Coverage is primarily from the mid- 1990s. Click on the Search button, type in the keywords, and limit Subject as needed.

more... less...

Indexing and abstracting of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals, with approximately half of them full text. Coverage is primarily from the mid- 1990s. Click on the Search button, type in the keywords, and limit Subject as needed. Select the “PDF” scanned image version since this accommodates graphics. If a “Login” screen appears, the article is not available in the database. An Interlibrary Loan request would then be necessary. When looking for a particular journal article, type the journal title in the box next to Journal/book title. Those journals with a green page at the beginning of the title provide the full articles in the database. Select the journal of interest and the journal volumes available in Science Direct appear, click on the appropriate one and then the issue number. At that point a table of contents appears arranged by page number. Locate the article of interest and click on “PDF” for the article.

To search only the journals that provide full text articles, click on Search and then the gray Journals tab. After entering the keyword terms, limit the Source option to Subscribed journals. Apply other limits as needed.

Scopus
An abstracting and indexing database of almost 13,000 academic journals and allows tracking of citations. It provides 100% coverage of the Medline database.

AI restriction: you may not "use the Subscribed Products without Elsevier's permission in writing in combination with an artificial intelligence tool except where such artificial intelligence tool is used in a closed hosted environment solely for use by the subscriber.

All Health Science and Medicine Databases
View the Netter Library's complete database collection.

Searching Tips

To begin looking for articles on your topic, the following electronic databases are the place to start. It is important to develop a search strategy using keywords that you have identified describing your topic. Additional terminology may be found as you use the databases. Remember to distinguish between scholarly and popular articles.

Begin your search using keywords which describe your topic. Connect keywords using "and" to narrow and focus the search statement –both concepts must appear in each article reference. More than two concepts can be used, for example: gender and lung volume.

Skim the titles of the articles and then read the abstracts for more detail. If an article looks good, check the subjects, descriptors, or other terms assigned by the database to describe the content of the article. Incorporate some of these terms into your search strategy. Also think of other ways to describe your topic, scientific terms or medical terms (check a science or medical dictionary).

Finally, if an article is on-point, click on the authors’ names for additional articles by them. When you have the full article, review the list of references that the authors provide since some of these article titles might be helpful to you, too. You will then need to check the periodical list for availability.