The physical therapy program uses the AMA Manual of Style for citing. Please use this section of the guide to refer back to for citing help.
It is important to note that the library provides the following resources to help with AMA citing:
1. The library has the print version of the AMA Manual of Style.
2. The library online full-text to the AMA Manual of Style
3. The library also provides a Research Guide for AMA with helpful tips and examples.
Watch the following videos:
1. AMA Style Overview (5:03)
This video provides an overview of the AMA Manual of style from the Netter Library. It includes citations and in-text citing.
2. How to Locate Journal Abbreviations in PubMed (1:48)
AMA Manual of Style requires abbreviations for journal titles in citations. This video from the Netter Library provides instructions on how to locate them using PubMed.
The library also provides access to RefWorks. RefWorks is a web-based software application that helps you manage citations. It helps you keep track of the sources you are using for your research and your own notes about the sources. It can also help create bibliographies. Use the tutorials listed below to learn more about it.
Click here to access RefWorks from the library.
RefWorks Videos
a. What is Refworks? (4:45)
In this brief introduction to RefWorks, you'll learn how to find and save references while doing your research, how to organize references once they're in RefWorks, and how to cite those references in your writing.
b. Accessing RefWorks: (3:01)
This RefWorks training session will cover how to access RefWorks, including creating a new account, and accessing through single sign-on.
c. RefWorks Basic Functionality: (5:13)
This RefWorks training session will cover the basic functionality of the RefWorks website. We won't cover all the features available to you, but we'll look at the ones you will use most frequently in RefWorks as you conduct your research.
d. Exporting References to RefWorks: (2:51)
This RefWorks training session covers ways to export references from other systems, so users can import them into RefWorks.
e. Creating References and Adding Documents Within RefWorks: (5:27)
This RefWorks training session will cover several different ways to add references directly into RefWorks, including uploading a document, importing references from a file, creating a reference manually, and searching library databases for references.
See also, How do I import citations from PubMed into New RefWorks? or Importing Citations from PubMed to RefWorks (3:29)
f. Editing References in RefWorks: (4:39)
This training session will cover how to edit references in RefWorks, including correcting metadata before and after saving to RefWorks, adding tags, editing many references at once, and more.
g. Organizing References with Folders in RefWorks: (3:19)
This RefWorks training session will cover ways to organize your references into folders, including sharing folders with other researchers.
h. Writing with RefWorks: (6:50)
This RefWorks training session will cover several tools you can use when writing a research paper and using RefWorks to supply citations and bibliographies. We'll be showing RefWorks Citation Manager, Write-N-Cite, ProQuest RefWorks for Google Docs, and Quick Cite.
i. Editing Citation Styles in RefWorks: (5:28)
This RefWorks training session will show how to edit citation styles, including editing styles for yourself or your institution using the Citation Style Editor in RefWorks, and editing styles for the open-source Citation Style Language project.
j. Collaboration Through Sharing in RefWorks: (5:34)
This RefWorks training session will cover ways to collaborate with colleagues by sharing references, folders, and even entire projects.
k. Organizing References with Projects in RefWorks: (3:44)
This RefWorks training session will cover ways to organize your references using Projects.
For more information
Library Reference Guide from your librarians:
RefWorks Help from the QU Library
Additionally, feel free to ask questions. Librarians are available.
