Research Guides: Marketing: Home

About This Guide

This Marketing Research Guide will help you navigate business-related topics using Library resources as well as credible sources accessible via the Web. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources and search tips!

Please don't hesitate to contact the Library Liaison to the School of Business, Rebecca Toolsidass, via email or check with the librarian at the Reference Desk if you have any questions!

Research Starting Points

To get you started on your research, here is a list of top library databases for Marketing students:

ABI/Inform Collection
Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
IBISWorld
This resource offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.

Library OneSearch
Library OneSearch is an interdisciplinary discovery resource. It searches most of the library databases and the book collection in a single platform. It identifies scholarly journal articles, magazines, books, e-books, etc. While results can be large, searches can be refined or narrowed through the use of limiters such as peer reviewed, date, type of source, discipline, subject, and language.

Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect allows users to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nexis Uni
Quick and comprehensive access to more than 10,000 full-text business, legal, and news sources.

* Please use FIREFOX or SAFARI browser *
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Professional Associations

American Marketing Association (AMA)
The American Marketing Association (AMA) is the largest professional marketing association in the world and is trusted by more than 445,000 professionals who work, teach and study in the field.
Association of National Advertisers (ANA)
The Association of National Advertisers (ANA) offer advocacy, innovation, education and connections to help marketers seize the full potential of their data.
International Advertising Association (IAA)
The IAA asserts it is the ‘world’s most influential network of marketing and marketing communications professionals’. It has a presence in 56 countries around the world.

Marketing Dictionary

Universal Marketing Dictionary
The Universal Marketing Dictionary is a free, educational resource for students, educators and marketing practitioners with 1,900+ cross-referenced marketing terms and definitions reviewed and updated monthly by our team of marketing authorities. Administered by the Marketing Accountability Standards Board (MASB).

News Sources

New York Times
Requires registration. Access to current NYTimes (excluding Cooking, The Athletic, and Crosswords) and the archive back to 1851.
When you first access the NYTimes, you must register an account. At the activation page, find and select Quinnipiac University. When you register your account you must use a valid Quinnipiac email address.
New York Times (1980 - current issue)
Each issue of the NYT is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
US Major Dailies
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current)
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Wall Street Journal (Online)
Access to the Wall Street Journal Online is provided by Quinnipiac's Business School.
more...less...
To get access:

1. Enter Quinnipiac University into the University Name box. Click Search.

2. Log-In with your Quinnipiac credentials via SSO OR fill out the account information in the form:
- Account Type: Student / Staff / Professor
- First & Last Name
- Email (Use your QU email here)
- Password (Create a password)