The Lender Family Special Collection is a repository of primary and secondary resources documenting the devastating 19th century Irish tragedy known as An Gorta Mór (The Great Hunger). The collection was established in 1997 by Quinnipiac University President John Lahey, and funding was made possible through the generous support of alumnus Murray Lender and his brother Marvin Lender. The collection comprises over 750 books, 4000 British Parliamentary Papers, The Lady Sligo Family Letters, and a number of films about the famine.
The collection is housed in the The Lender Family Special Collection Room, which was designed by Centerbrook Architects to evoke the appearance of the immigrant hold of a 19th century passenger ship. In addition to being the repository for the collection, the room is also utilized as a space to display special exhibits about The Great Hunger and other events in Irish History.
Highlights from the collection include -
Accessing Materials from The Lender Special Collection - Guidelines for Researchers
The book and manuscript collection may be accessed by appointment. For information on making an appointment and using materials, please see Accessing Materials from The Lender Family Special Collection . The book collection may be searched by consulting the Library Catalog.
The British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland are a selection of 4000 official publications relating to various aspects of Irish affairs during the period of Union, including bills, reports, commissions of inquiry, and census reports. The documents are a rich source for the social history of Ireland, as well as statistics relating to population, emigration, famine relief, agriculture, crime, poverty, etc.
The papers are currently in the process of being organized, and indexed. Researchers interested in accessing the collection should contact the library via e-mail.
Digital copies of the papers are also freely accessible through the University of Southampton database: The Enhanced Parliamentary Papers on Ireland. Note: The site also includes a grouping of documents related to specifically to The Great Hunger, click HERE to access those publications.
The Lady Sligo Family Letters collection comprises some 220 handwritten documents, dating from the 1820s to the 1860s. The letters were written by and to the Browne family of Westport, County Mayo, who were members of Ireland's landed gentry.The Brownes resided at Westport House, a 18th century country estate, and were the largest landowners in Mayo. Of particular significance and interest are the letters of Hester Catherine Browne, second Marchioness of Sligo, or Lady Sligo, that were written during the years of An Gorta Mór (The Great Hunger), 1845 - 1852. Lady Sligo's letters provide a wealth of detail and insight on how one of Ireland's "Big Houses" responded to the catastrophe. The letters also provide a view of this period from the seldom heard and unique perspective of a woman of wealth and privilege.
In 2014, Ireland's Great Hunger Institute and the Arnold Bernhard Library mounted an exhibition dedicated to telling Lady Sligo's story. Note: The letter collection is still being organized and transcribed. Researchers interested in accessing the collection should contact the library.
The British Parliamentary Papers in the library’s collection contain a number of volumes that can be regarded as historical “treasures.” In the forefront, The Commissioner Reports on the Nature and Extent of Bogs in Ireland, 1810-1814 can be regarded as a resource of unique historical importance and outstanding visual beauty.
The bog reports consist of four survey-volumes that include a series of detailed topographical maps. The British government commissioned a survey of the bogs of Ireland for the purpose of transforming them into hemp-growing areas. Hemp was used in the making of masts for ships, and during the early 19th century the British Navy played a key role in protecting Britain and Ireland from French invasion.
The maps provide invaluable details on the topography and history of Ireland in the decades prior to the Great Hunger. And the text of the volumes provide insights into British government policy as it related to the governance of its colony, Ireland.
Due to the fragility of the volumes and maps, researchers will need to consult with the library and arrange an appointment to access the volumes.
Related Site:
Accessing Materials from The Lender Family Special Collection
Guidelines For Researchers
The Quinnipiac University community, as well as qualified researchers, are welcomed and encouraged to use the collection that includes over 750 books, 4000 British parliamentary papers, and more than 200 private letters. Information about the collection can be found at The Arnold Bernhard Library Special Collections page.
All research is to be conducted Monday-Friday, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., and is by appointment only. Researchers will be asked to check book bags, handbags, briefcases, etc. at the Circulation Desk. Researchers are allowed to take notes in pencil or on a personal laptop/mobile device. Pens are not allowed. Researchers will be asked to request the materials they wish to see before their visit, and those items will be retrieved and placed on hold for them. To search for processed materials in the collection, please consult the Library Catalog. If they wish to see additional materials during their visit to the library they may do so by consulting with the public services librarian.
Quick Facts about Usage:
Ireland's Great Famine or An Gorta Mór (The Great Hunger), as it is more commonly referred to today, ranks among the worst tragedies in the sweep of human history. Between 1845 and 1852, approximately 1.5 million Irish men, women and children died of starvation or related diseases.
By 1855, more than two million more had fled Ireland to avoid a similar fate. This decimation of her population makes Ireland's Great Hunger both the worst chapter in the country's history, and arguably, the single worst catastrophe in 19th century Europe.
Scalpeen of Tim Downs at Dunmore Dec 27 1849 Illustrated London News (scanned from Great Irish Potato Famine - Christine Brendel Scriabine)