The JCCC Collections
The Junior College of Commerce of Connecticut, which eventually became Quinnipiac University, was originally founded in 1929. Before it was Quinnipiac, it primarily focused on business education, offering courses in accounting, business administration, and secretarial studies. The aim was to provide practical, career-oriented education that would prepare students for the workforce.
In 1951, the institution was renamed Quinnipiac College, reflecting its expansion beyond purely business courses to include liberal arts and sciences. This change marked the beginning of its transformation into a more comprehensive institution of higher education. Over the years, Quinnipiac continued to grow, adding more programs and facilities, and eventually achieved university status in 2000.
The archives of the Junior College of Commerce are crucial to provide a historical record of the institution's evolution. These materials offer insights into the educational trends and societal needs of the times, showing how the college adapted and expanded to meet changing demands. The archives help us understand the roots of Quinnipiac University and appreciate its journey from a small business school to a renowned university.
Photo Gallery
JCCC Student Life
JCCC Academics
JCCC Campus
JCCC Athletics
Junior College of Commerce of Connecticut (1929-1952)
The Chronicle
(The First Issue of the Chronicle, September 1929)
University Archives -- The Chronicle
The Chronicle, the student newspaper for The Junior College of Commerce of Connecticut, has a rich history that continues today at Quinnipiac University under the same name. Our archives hold a collection of these newspapers starting from when the school reopened following its closure during the years of World War II. This collection provides a fascinating first-hand look into what life was like for students in the past.
The Index
University Archives -- The Index
Discover the Junior College of Commerce of Connecticut's a rich history captured through its student yearbooks "The Index". Our collection starts from the years following World War II (1949), a significant period when the school reopened and began documenting student life in earnest. These yearbooks provide a fascinating glimpse into what life was like for students during that era, offering a first-hand look at their experiences, challenges, and triumphs.
