Research Guides: Marketing: Databases

What Is a Library Database?

A library database is a digital collection of information, articles, and resources curated by experts.

Unlike a general search engine like Google, library databases focus on providing high-quality, credible sources.

These sources often include:

scholarly journal articles
academic publications
eBooks (electronic books)
news archives
and other in-depth materials

Why Use a Database?

Here's why library databases are the best choice for in-depth research:

Credibility: Librarians carefully select databases that contain information from reputable sources, authored by experts in their fields.
Accuracy: Library databases are well-maintained and contain a high percentage of accurate information. The content goes through a selection process to ensure it meets quality standards.
Advanced Search Features: Library databases offer advanced search options that allow you to refine your research by publication date, author, topic, and other specific criteria. These filters help you find exactly what you need!
Full-Text Access: QU pays for subscriptions to these databases, so you can often access the full text of articles and resources directly, instead of having to pay for them or search for them on separate websites.
Focus: QU offers specialized databases for specific subjects, like history, science, and business. This allows you to find targeted information relevant to your research.

Article Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Ultimate
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Full text coverage of over 200 titles and citation coverage for additional sources in communications studies and mass media.

Emerald Insight
A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed management journals and resources for students and researchers in the management field.
more...less...
Conduct an "Advanced Search" (link to right of Search button) and can limit search to “Only content I have access to." For a more comprehensive search leave default "All content." Can also limit search by date.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly journals, with business and economic journals well represented. The majority of the database is full-text, with the earliest content dating back to 1665. Please note that the most recent few years may not be available.

Sage Journals Online
Online access to the full text of over 485 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Medicine and Technology. The SAGE Full-Text Collections in Communications, Criminology, and Political Science are also available through this platform.

Science Direct
Full text access to scholarly journals in business, the sciences and social sciences.

Company & Industry Databases

IBISWorld
This resource offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect allows users to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nexis Uni
LexisNexis® Company Dossier for detailed financials, competitive information and SWOT analysis of more than 80 million public, private, and international companies. (See box below for instructions on finding a company dossier in Nexis Uni)
Passport (GMID)
Business Intelligence on countries, consumers, and industries.
To access company information, click "Companies" in the top menu bar, then search by company name to access data, profiles, analysis, and dashboards for the company. Or, use the "Search" tool to refine your search parameters prior to executing a search
Sage Business Cases
More than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, and social enterprise.
Teaching Notes are also available for most case studies, but this feature requires instructors to sign up for a free personal instructor account with Sage and enter a verification code upon registration.

Here are the steps to access the teaching notes:
1. Log in to your profile or create a new profile by clicking "Profile" in the top right corner and following the instructions
2. Tick the box called "SAGE Business Cases Instructor Access"
3. A new box will appear called "Verification Code"
4. Enter your verification code (available from your librarian) and click Save
To obtain this verification code, contact the Arnold Bernhard Library Refdesk@quinnipiac.edu
Value Line
Value Line is an independent provider of investment-related information. Online access allows you to screen stocks, track portfolios and get access to online educational tools and up to the minute information on our listed companies.

Statistics & Data Databases

Roper Center iPOLL Databank
The largest collection of poll data available - 1936 to present, all U.S. polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. U.S. and international datasets are available for immediate download.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

News Sources

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Requires registration. Access to current NYTimes (excluding Cooking, The Athletic, and Crosswords) and the archive back to 1851.
When you first access the NYTimes, you must register an account. At the activation page, find and select Quinnipiac University. When you register your account you must use a valid Quinnipiac email address.
New York Times (1980 - current issue) This link opens in a new window
Each issue of the NYT is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current) This link opens in a new window
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Wall Street Journal (Online)
Access to the Wall Street Journal Online is provided by Quinnipiac's Business School.
more...less...
To get access:

1. Enter Quinnipiac University into the University Name box. Click Search.

2. Log-In with your Quinnipiac credentials via SSO OR fill out the account information in the form:
- Account Type: Student / Staff / Professor
- First & Last Name
- Email (Use your QU email here)
- Password (Create a password)

Database User Guides

To learn more about how to use a specific database, consult a User Guide: