Research Guides: International Business: Sustainability

Library Databases

MarketAtlas

Note that Market Atlas replaces the former Mergent Online. Market Atlas provides tools and reports that are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis. The Market Atlas database of corporate information covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Passport (GMID)

Business intelligence on countries, consumers, and industries.

Web Resources

The 17 Goals
From the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the 17 goals are listed with links to more information on each. The history of their adoption in 2015 is also provided.
Global SDG Indicators Data Platform
SDG Global Database gives access to data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries across the globe by indicator, country, region or time period.
For country information: click on the country tab and then "Select a country or area." There are 132 country profiles provided.

SDGs Explained for Business
From the UN Global Compact this page will provide some basic information.

How Your Company Can Advance Each of the SDGs. Linked from the above page, here will be detailed information about the relationship of business to the SDGs.

Voluntary Sustainability Standards in International Trade
Published by the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in 2023.
The Trade and Development Report 2022
The report warns that monetary and fiscal policy moves in advanced economies risk pushing the world towards global recession and prolonged stagnation, inflicting worse damage than the financial crisis in 2008 and the COVID-19 shock in 2020.
The World Investment Report 2022
Global flows of foreign direct investment recovered to pre-pandemic levels last year,reaching $1.6 trillion. Cross-border deals and international project finance were particularly strong, encouraged by loose financing conditions and infrastructure stimulus. However, the recovery of greenfield investment in industry remains fragile,especially in developing countries.

Suggested E-Books

Encyclopedia of Management [electronic resource] by Gale (Firm) Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781410389350

Publication Date: 2019-03-15

Encyclopedia of Management (EoM) provides authoritative information on the ever-changing field of business management. This comprehensive resource explores hundreds of topics in management theory and application, from balance sheets to virtual organizations.
The Role of Business in Global Sustainability Transformations [electronic resource] by Dalia D'Amato (Editor); Anne Toppinen (Editor); Robert Kozak (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367434830

Publication Date: 2022-11-23

Drawing on contributions from more than thirty scholars and experts in the field, this book examines the role of business as an enabler, as an inhibitor, and ultimately as a co-actor in global sustainability transformations expected over the next few decades. The Role of Business in Global Sustainability Transformations employs several theoretical perspectives and provides abundant examples and cases to discuss a variety of emerging concepts, phenomena, and trends shaping business sustainability. Weaving through the chapters, the editors present core tensions and sources of inertia towards transformative change, and acknowledge that envisioning multiple solutions and pathways are possible and desirable. They advocate for the need to align visions, actions and time horizons between policy, society and business in addressing the interlinked socio-ecological challenges that our society currently faces.