Research Guides: International Business: Global / Country

Global / Country Databases

ABI/Inform Collection

Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

Check out the Browse option on the database homepage to see many country, commodity and industry reports. The Economist publication is included in ABI/Inform.

MarketAtlas
Market Atlas provides tools and reports that are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis.

In MarketAtlas, select the Country tab to find Country Insight reports. See the Sustainability tab to find company ESG Rating Reports.

Passport (GMID)

Business intelligence on countries, consumers, and industries.

It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles, country/product reports, and additional information sources.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Some Statista search examples for international business interests are for country information or particular country product/industry information (for example "Smartphone market in China"). You can search by country name to see comprehensive listing or by country name and topic, for example China cosmetics.

Websites

These websites are from organizations that present credible sources of information.

Census Bureau - International Data Base
From the U.S. Census Bureau, find tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries.
CIA The World Factbook
Provides basic country information, primarily statistical in nature.
Freedom House
Freedom House is an independent American watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world. Founded in 1941, it analyzes the challenges to freedom, advocates for greater political rights and civil liberties, and supports frontline activists to defend human rights and promote democratic change. Conduct a keyword search or check the Reports section.
Hofstede Insights
A successfully managed culture is at the very heart of every leading company in its field. Culture shapes and defines the people, the atmosphere, the parameters of how things get done
Index of Economic Freedom
For over two decades, the Index of Economic Freedom has measured the impact of liberty and free markets around the globe.
International Monetary Fund
Check for a variety of information including International Financial Statistics and World Economic Outlook. Can also search "Data by Country/Economy."
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
ITU is the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies - ICTs.
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. They analyse and compare data to predict future trends.
Poverty and Inequality Platform
A World Bank computational tool that allows you to calculate the poverty measures under different assumptions and to assemble the estimates using alternative country groupings or for any set of individual countries. For decile breakdown: click on "Poverty Calculator" at the top of the page and in left margin under Income Inequality, open "Income Decile." Also listed is the Gini Index.
Transparency International (TI): The Global Coalition Against Corruption
Founded in 1993 it is politically non-partisan and does not undertake investigations of alleged corruption or expose individual cases, but at times will work in coalition with organizations that do. TI raises awareness and diminishes apathy and tolerance of corruption, and devises and implements practical actions to address it.

United Nations iLibrary
United Nations iLibrary includes publications, journals and series comprising facts and expertise on international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, climate change, international law, governance, public health, and statistics.

World Bank Open Data
Much of the data comes from the statistical systems of member countries, and the quality of global data depends on how well these national systems perform. The World Bank works to help developing countries improve the capacity, efficiency and effectiveness of national statistical systems.
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Economic Forum
An independent, international organization it engages the foremost political, business and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas. The Forum strives in all its efforts to demonstrate entrepreneurship in the global public interest while upholding the highest standards of governance.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

Database User Guides

To learn more about how to use a specific database, consult a User Guide: