Skip to Main Content
Edward & Barbara Netter Library

For Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences

Netter Collections: Leisure Reading

Test page for Netter Collections

Leisure Reading Collection


Image of a spine label for a library book with a green dot in the bottom center.

 

There are two leisure reading collections at the Netter Library. Both are integrated into the paper collection, and have a clear, green dot on the spine label. 
 

 

Netter Leisure Collection

The Netter Leisure Collection began in 2014 and was affectionately referred to as the "plague fiction" collection - popular novels about medical, nursing, or health sciences topics that were just for fun. It blossomed into a collection of over 350 fiction and non-fiction titles. These range from biographies to histories, fiction and non-fiction, medical mysteries, art books, and much more. There is no central link to the collection; however, all leisure titles have a green dot on the spine label and are clearly identifiable as you walk through the stacks. 

 

Payton Ray Mickey Leisure Collection

This leisure collection is in memory of Payton Rae Mickey. Besides focusing on wellbeing, Payton was an avid reader who loved thrillers. The Netter Library is now home to over 75 of Payton’s favorite reads. The Payton Collection Wishlist is still active if you would like to donate titles in Payton's memory. 

Button to view the Payton Rae Mickey Book List

Checkout policy

  • Books in both leisure reading collections are loaned out for 28 days. 
  • We do not charge late fees, but if you fail to return or lose the item, you will: 
    • Pay a lost item processing fee
    • Pay the cost for a replacement item

Selections from the Leisure Reading Collection