Skip to Main Content
Edward & Barbara Netter Library

For Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences

Module 4: Literature Search Strategy

Advanced Search

Subject heading searching is a standardized set of words or phases utilized in specific databases. It is another method of searching that will  yield results that are relevant to your topic

  • Also known as "controlled vocabulary"
  • Used by a database to describe concepts in the literature collected by that database
  • Consistent in their definition across all records in the database
  • Less flexible than keywords -- you need to know the proper term to use
What to Look For

To search for subject headings for your topic, check to see if the database features an online thesaurus that you can use to browse for subject that match your topic:

  • PubMed has MeSH -- see below to learn more about MeSH
  • CINAHL has CINAHL Subject Headings
  • PsycInfo has APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

Alternatively you can try:

  • Starting with a keyword search
  • Browsing the results -- select a handful of results that seem relevant
  • Looking at the section for Subject Headings, also commonly labeled "Subjects"
  • Taking note of any relevant terms
  • Redoing your search with the new terms

What is MeSH?

Controlled vocabularies are standardized and organized arrangements of words and phrases and provide a consistent way to describe data. Metadata creators assign terms from vocabularies to improve information retrieval. Medical Subject Heading, or MeSH, is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles in PubMed, MEDLINE, Cochrane Reviews and part of their clinical trials, and CINAHL (CINAHL has its own subject headings, but accepts MeSH as the standard vocabulary for disease, drug, anatomical, and physiological concepts). Controlled vocabularies are not used in all databases; for instance, Scopus operates without one.

Visit PubMed Subject Search: How It Works to learn more about MeSH. 

Why Include Controlled Vocabularies in the search? 

MeSH group terms into concepts, or in other words, multiple alternative words for the same concept can be retrieved by using the MeSH term. See examples below:

If you search "otitis media" in the MeSH terms field, in the search result, you should be able to see articles that use any of the following terms: middle ear inflammation, middle ear infection, otitis media if the article was indexed by the MeSH term "otitis media". 

Use MeSH to Build a PubMed Query

Step 1: Locate and Search for Terms in the MeSH Database

The easiest way to access the MeSH database is by using the link on PubMed's homepage, located right under the Explore icon.

Search for one term at a time. Although the MeSH database is extensive, it is important to note that not every term is going to have a corresponding MeSH term.

Results will be displayed with brief definitions, ranked by relevance. Select the entry that best fits your needs to view the full record page. If there is only one result available, you will be brought directly into the record

undefined
Step 2: Review the MeSH Record

At the top of the MeSH record page, you will see the term's definition and a list of subheadings. Scroll down to view Entry Terms (if available) and the MeSH Hierarchy.

  • Entry Terms: terms that, when used to search in the MeSH database, will "map" to the current MeSH term
  • MeSH Hierarchy: displays a hierarchy tree and where your term falls within it. The MeSH Hierarchy is very helpful for those who may not be familiar with their topic. The hierarchy shows the term in a variety of contexts

undefined

Step 3: Refine your Search with the MeSH Record

There are three possible options for refining your search with the MeSH record:

  • Apply one or more subheadings: Adding subheadings to a MeSH term allows you to focus your search to those specific topics. If you do not apply any subheadings, PubMed will include all of them when it searches for your MeSH term
  • Restrict to MeSH Major Topic: This will retrieve only citations where your subject is one of the main topics featured in an article
  • Choosing the option "Do not include MeSH terms found below this term in the MeSH hierarchy: Only do this if you do not want PubMed to search for the narrower terms that appear beneath your MeSH term in the MeSH hierarchy
Step 4: Search for your MeSH Terms in PubMed

When you are ready, click the "Add to Search Builder" button located right under the PubMed Search Builder box, found on the right side of the screen. If you are using any subheadings, be sure to check their boxes  prior to select "Add to Search Builder". 
If you are ready to search for your MeSH term in PubMed, select the Search PubMed.

undefined

An online tool to find MeSH terms - MeSH on Demand 

"MeSH on Demand identifies MeSH® terms in your submitted text (abstract or manuscript). MeSH on Demand also lists PubMed similar articles relevant to your submitted text."

Video tutorial - MeSH on Demand: Finding MeSH Terms in Your Text.

Keywords vs Subject Headings

Keywords Subject Headings
Natural language used to describe your topic Pre-defined vocabulary used to describe the content of an item such as an article in a database
Flexible in how you search -- terms can be combined together in multiple ways Limited flexibility in how you search -- the term must match the pre-defined vocabulary 
Database will look for the terms anywhere in the record  Database looks for terms only in the subject heading or description field 
May yield too many or too few results Used to focus on one or a select number of aspects of a broader subject 
Can yield many irrelevant results, especially if you are using broaden or commonly used terms Results are typically very relevant to the topic -- exclusive use can create too specific of a query

Adapted from https://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=175963&p=1160804