About the Library

Netter Library Newsletter September 2025

WELCOME

Welcome to the Fall semester! The Netter Library staff is here to help you with all your information needs. Looking for books, ebooks, journals, databases, research guides, and a whole lot more? Visit our newly redesigned website.

NLM EXHIBIT COMING TO THE NETTER LIBRARY     

The NLM exhibit, AIDS, Posters, and Stories of Public Health: A People’s History of a Pandemic, will be on display in the Netter Library (MNH-339) from August 25 to September 18! 

This exhibition explores how AIDS posters serve as highly adaptable, durable, cost effective, efficient tools in sharing public health messaging. Created by communities bonded together by illness and a desire to make change, these posters provide a gateway to AIDS history, illustrating how, in the face of illness, neglect, and, early on, the unknown, people came together to connect, create, and save one another's lives. Today, AIDS posters continue to be valuable resources for the ongoing epidemic. They teach us about community organizing processes and the ways that groups dealing with HIV heal, share fears, and strategize toward wellness together.

The libraries are also partnering with the Office of Community Engagement to pair the exhibit with sections of the AIDS Memorial Quilt.
The accompanying website from the National Library of Medicine provides even more information. 

More programming TBA around this topic, including a book club!

ARBOR VITAE

Arbor Vitae ARBOR VITAE is the online creative arts journal of the Quinnipiac University Center for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. It is a place for students, faculty, staff, clinical affiliates, and care recipients to share creative deliberations on health, illness, and humanity.

Editorial positions are available and we invite faculty, staff, clinical affiliates, students, and care recipients from the Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences to share their creative deliberations on health, illness, and humanity. We publish prose, poetry, visual arts, and multimedia content. Submissions are open for the Spring 2026 volume.

MEDICAL INSTRUMENT COLLECTION DEDICATION

Please join us in the Netter Library to dedicate and officially open our latest special collection, The Richard Silver Medical Instrument Collection.

The dedication will be held on Thursday, September 4, 2025, from 2:30 – 3:30pm in the Netter Library MNH-339. 

IPE FILM SCREENING

“America’s medical inequities have turned giving birth into a battlefield for too many Black women and their babies. BIRTHING JUSTICE tells the story of the crisis faced by Black mothers and their children and the solutions needed to transform the maternal care system.” 

The Netter Library and the Center for Interprofessional Healthcare Education are co-sponsoring the film screening for, “Birthing Justice” on Wednesday, September 24^th from 5:00-7:30pm in MNH-101. The screening will be followed by an expert panel discussion. Panelists include: Goetti Francois, Leonile Scott, and Michelle Curtis.

Registration is required to receive IPE credit hours.  

DATABASE SPOTLIGHT

Check out the new things added to ClinicalKey in the Student Resources section, and linked to throughout ClinicalKey:

• Access to more than 100 additional high-value textbooks, including Health Systems Science and Board-Review materials.
• Extra videos, images, and interactive content designed to deepen understanding of complex topics.
• Curated articles, chapters, and supplementary resources for a more comprehensive learning environment.
• Customizable bookshelf app and downloadable textbooks for offline access – study anytime, anywhere.
• Personalization features like flashcards and tools for highlighting text and making annotations, ensuring effective notetaking and study sessions.
• Enhanced accessibility options, including speech functionality with ‘read aloud’, various font choices (including OpenDyslexic), and content controls for customizing reading experiences.

LEARNING TO LEAD – A QUINNIPIAC PODCAST

Learning to Lead focuses on developing and supporting emerging healthcare leaders—students, trainees and early-career healthcare professionals—through conversations with leaders about their experiences and insights (“leader journeys”), foundational leadership concepts (“deep dives”), and the most useful and impactful tools to become better leaders (“leadership hacks”).” 

Podcast homepage: https://loom.ly/Go3y0AM
Apple Podcasts: https://loom.ly/noCCYQk
Spotify: https://loom.ly/wJSZPxs  

NORTH HAVEN CAMPUS HEALTH & WELLNESS FAIR

Make sure to visit the Netter Library table at the North Haven Health and Wellness Fair on Thursday, September 25^th from 11am – 2pm. We will be featuring titles from the Payton Rae Mickey Health and Wellness Collection. You can borrow them on the spot. You can also chat with your librarians about consumer health resources (or anything, really)!

NEW RESOURCES  

New books in the collection:

• Prioritization, delegation and assignment: practice exercises for the NCLEX-RN examination (Test Prep)
• Brant & Helm’s fundamentals of diagnostic radiology (Print Book)
• Diagnosis made easier: principles and techniques for mental health clinicians (Ebook)
• Caring for veterans and their families: a guide for nurses and healthcare professionals (Print Book)
• Yellowcake (DEI Collection)
• The Good Life: Lessons from the World's Longest Scientific Study of Happiness (Payton Rae Mickey Health & Wellness Collection)
• Fourth Wing (Payton Rae Mickey Leisure Reading)

SOME THINGS WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO

• Shakespeare in the Park (Aug. 14-31): This is the last weekend of Elm City Shakespeare Company’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, Bringing a Bollywood-inspired aesthetic to a favorite play. Pack a picnic and show up early because it will fill up.
• The North Haven Fair is coming to the North Haven Fairgrounds September 4-7, 2025. A family tradition since 1942! Visit exhibits, listen to music, see the exciting entertainment around the grounds, take in a tractor pull and eat great fair food!
• Make pizza history for the GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS attempt for Largest Pizza Party. Friday September 12 from 4-7pm on the New Haven Green, all during the A-1 Toyota Apizza Feast at the New Haven Grand Prix!
• Westville Music Bowl: We are trying to decide which of the last shows of the season to see. Lake Street Dive and Lawrence? HAIM and flowerlove? Dwight Yoakam?
• A Neil’s Donut: Anytime. Best in the state.
• Milford’s first-ever Lobster Roll Festival is coming to Walnut Beach in Milford, CT on September 20th. They claim to have invented the warm buttered lobster roll. We need to investigate.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Follow us on Instagram @qunetterlibrary. We have a lot to share with you, so stay connected to get updates about resources, services, and events. Tag your stories and posts with #qunetterlibrary if you’re making your own experiences and connections with the library.   

NETTER LIBRARY HOURS

 Monday – Friday 8AM – 8PM

Saturdays & Sundays 12PM – 5PM (beginning September 6^th)

     - YOUR LIBRARY CREW!

    

SEPTEMBER 2025     netterlibrary@quinnipiac.edu     203.582.5266