Research Guides: Images and Videos : Images & Videos from the Web

Web Resources -- Searching by license types

The following set of web resources include options that allow users to search by different copyright license types. Be sure to review the different license types available through the Creative Commons. Click here to learn more about Creative Commons.

Disclaimer: these resources will certainly help you find open images. You still must read everything carefully.

1. Go to Images.Google.com

2. Run your search

3. On the results page, click "Tools". This will reveal a number of additional search filters. Select "Usage Rights"

4. Select "Labeled for Reuse". There are other options available. Be sure to review the other usage types if you wish to choose something different

5. Search for images

6. When you have found an image that you'd like to use, select the image

7. Click "View Page" to see where the image is posted. On this page, you should be able to find the licensing information. Most will have that information below the image. You may also see one or more of the Creative Commons symbols

1. Go to Flickr.com

2. Run a search

3. On the results page, select "Any License"

5. Select "All Creative Commons" to view images with different permissions. You can also specify the type of permission that you are looking for, such "No known copyright restrictions" or "Modifications allowed". Select "U.S Government works" for images in the public domain

6. Select an image

7. On the image's page, scroll down to the bottom to find the licensing information

1. Go to openi.nlm.nih.gov

2. Search for images

3. Select "License Type" and choose from the available options

4. Select an image. A link to the copyright license type may be found below the individual image on the detailed view page

More Web Resources

Be sure to review each resources' policies on using their images. Even if the image is in the public domain, always include some form of attribution to the content's creator in your work.

American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank
ASH Image Bank is a Web-based image library that offers a comprehensive, growing collection of images relating to a wide range of hematology topics. ASH members and the hematology community can use images that have been peer reviewed by ASH. Image Bank slides are easily searchable and can be downloaded with one click. Users may create unique collections called My Collection.
ASMscience Visual Library
A peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology. Both the Gallery and Visual Media Briefs include:
-Stained microscopic images of microorganisms using all types of optics;
-Electron micrographs of microbial and cellular structures;
-Macroscopic images of colonial morphology;
-Time-lapsed photography of microbial and cellular interactions; and
-Animations of microbial and cellular processes.
Atlas of Hematology
Pictures show normal cells from blood and bone marrow and also a substantial variety of hematologic diseases.
Autopsy: Training Clips
Postmortem dissection, or autopsy, was among the first scientific methods to be used in the investigation of violent or suspicious death. Autopsy remains the core practice of forensic medicine. The postmortem examiner surveys the body's surface, opens it up with surgical instruments, removes parts for microscopic inspection and toxicological analysis, and makes a report that attempts to reconstruct the cause, manner and mechanism of death. These training film clips show some of the procedures of postmortem examination.
Black & Brown Skin
Use the Conditions menu option to see a variety of conditions on black and brown skin.
DPDx Parasites A - Z Index
Images contained in the DPDx website maintained by CDC.
Medical Views
Medicine and law overlap in a death investigation calling for an autopsy to determine the manner and cause of death. Listen to two chief medical examiners talk about their work and careers. Explore the medico-legal autopsy procedures, and find out what virtual autopsy is all about!

Mind the Gap
Ebook (downloadable here) As well as offering images of conditions on black and brown skins frequently omitted in textbooks, the authors have also looked at language and descriptors that often assume the patient is white.

NIGMS: Image and Videos
This is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0. This license lets you remix, tweak, and build upon this work non-commercially, as long as you credit and license your new creations under identical terms.
NLM Medpix
Free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
If you wish to use images from Medpix for anything other than personal use, contact the original contributor for additional permission requests.
OPENPediatrics
OPENPediatrics is a free, global, open-access, and peer-reviewed knowledge-exchange platform for clinicians from all resource settings involved in the care of sick children. Includes videos, simulators, clinical image library, and podcasts.
Pathology Education Informational Resourc (PEIR) Digital Library
A multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Pathology must be acknowledged as the source of images in any software, demonstration, or presentation utilizing these images.
PathoPic
Open-access website and database of high-quality images related to anatomic and clinical pathology intended for medical education and public health information. Each image has an unique identification number and is classified according to topography, diagnosis, stain, and such.
Works best in Google Chrome.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
From the CDC. Images are either "Public Domain" (free use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use). If the image is copyright protected, you will have to contact the content provider to obtain usage permission
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The aim is to develop a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public.
Wellcome Collection
Features a biomedical collection with more than 40,000 images, covering topics such as disease, surgery and general healthcare and sciences.
Unless otherwise stated, all images from the Wellcome Collection are licensed under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution International License.
Wikimedia Commons images
A large database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Copyright information is available on each image's details page.

Stock Imagery

Here are some sources of stock footage and illustrations suitable for displaying a wide and diverse range of people. Please check the licensing agreements carefully. While all sources contain free materials, some cannot be modified or may have other terms of use.

AllGo
Size inclusive photos.
Disabled And Here Collection
This is a disability-led effort to provide free & inclusive stock images from our own perspective, with photos and illustrations celebrating disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC).
The Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
From Vice.com. Stock photos of trans and non-binary people.
Nappy.co
Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people.
Public Domain Archive
New free stock photos added weekly No attribution required.
Unsplash
Free, no attribution required artwork that improves on stock photos.

Image Directories

Check out these image directories, complied by other university libraries.

UCSD's Catalog of Clinical Images
From UC San Diego. A collection of different images resources, organized by topic and body system.
Note: Each individual resource will have a different copyright policy. Be sure to review the copyright information before using any images.

Find more images like this in Open-i.

Zhang C, Zhang F. Iron homeostasis and tumorigenesis: molecular mechanisms and therapeutic opportunities. Protein Cell. 2015;6(2):88–100. doi:10.1007/s13238-014-0119-z

Relevant Guides

Netter AMA Citation Help Guide
Created by Netter Library librarians, this guide will help the user create citations in the AMA style. Navigation is on the left side of the page.
Netter APA Citation Help Guide
Created by Netter Library librarians, this guide will help the user create citations in the APA style. Navigation is on the left side of the page.

Images and Videos

Web Resources -- Searching by license types

More Web Resources

Stock Imagery

Image Directories

Relevant Guides

Resources »

Services »

About »