Research Guides: Distance Learning Library Resources: Communications

Recommended Databases for Locating Articles

Listed below are databases for research in communications. For a complete list of library databases, please click here.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with magazine and newspaper publications. Good place for POPULAR/JOURNALISTIC articles.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (see detailed instructions below)
Full text coverage of over 200 journal titles and citation coverage for additional sources in communication studies and mass media. Good place for ACADEMIC PEER-REVIEWED and TRADE articles. Can be searched simultaneously with Film & Television Literature Index - Click on "Choose Databases" above search boxes.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis is the premier source for news, business, and legal research, providing quick, easy access to more than 10,000 of the most credible sources available in a single location. It contains the full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, including top-tier news publications such as The New York Times® and The Washington Post® and local, national, and international sources; and hard-to-find transcripts from major television and radio networks such as ABC News®, CBS News®, CNN®, FOX News®, NBC®, MSNBC®, and NPR®.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the full text of over 485 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Medicine and Technology. The SAGE Full-Text Collections in Communications, Criminology, and Political Science are also available through this platform.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

New York Times (Historical) 1851 to 2017

This database provides access to the historical issues of the New York Times. It is strongly suggested that an advanced search be conducted to take advantage of the date range and other search options.

An example of how to search follows:

From the Library homepage click on Databases
Scroll down and click on New York Times (Historical)
Click on Advanced Search above search box
Enter keywords, put phrases in quotation marks
Review Date Range options and select most appropriate
Review the results: Either view the specific article (“Full text – PDF”) or the entire page (“Page view - PDF”) of the paper. Note the page that the article appears on and that is the page that will open. Looking at the front page of the paper can be very informative as to the most important news of the day. You can go page by page by clicking “Page view (clickable”) at the top of the screen.
To print an article, click on the "Print to Fit" link.

Click to enter the historical New York Times database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

To begin:

From the Library’s homepage, click on Databases
Scroll down and click on Communication & Mass Media Complete
Type in keywords
Then Limit your results; some options are:
   Check off Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
   Select Publication Type(s)
    Select Language->English
Click on Search button
Click on title to read abstract of article and review the Subject Terms
Click on Linked Full Text or PDF Full Text for the full article
Click on Check for Full Text to determine availability at Quinnipiac if a full text link is not available.