Anti-Racism in Medicine, Nursing, & Health Sciences: Pedagogy

This free CME webinar series is part of AAPA’s commitment to identifying learning opportunities to advance the understanding of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

The Medical Laboratory Sciences (MLS) Program at UAMS (University of Arkansas Medical Sciences) instituted the A.B.L.E. principles to increase class size and diversity of its MLS program. The A.B.L.E. principles include Attitude, Belief, Labor, and Equity. It was hypothesized that the UAMS MLS could grow in size and diversity using these principles. Visit the recorded presentation.

AOTA hosted four “Be Heard—We’re Listening” sessions intended to provide our Black occupational therapy colleagues and students with an opportunity to share their thoughts on recent events that have highlighted acts of racial injustice nationally. Each session had a unique focus: general OT issues, students and recent graduates, practitioners, and educators.

This a recording of the free CORA webinar of April 9th featuring Dr. Luke Wood and Dr. Frank Harris entitled Equity-Minded Student Services in the Online Environment.

Episode of a podcast. Tiffany Gibson is a nurse, a clinical nurse educator, and recently, she moved into the role of a diversity and inclusion advocate for her hospital system.In this episode, we dive into the personal — how Tiffany’s energy has been affected by not only being a Black woman during a time of civil unrest, but also being a Black woman serving as an advocate and educator. We also talk about structural racism and tokenism within the healthcare system, how to call out racism among nurses, and how non-Black nurses can be antiracist and support Black nurses at work.

Features Yolanda Flores Niemann, PhD, Professor of Psychology, University of North Texas.
Video was directed by Carla LynDale Carter, Lecturer at the University of North Texas in the Department of Media Arts.

Supplemental resource to the Microaggressions in the Classroom Youtube video.

Workshop handout from Dr. Cynthia Ganote, Dr. Tasha Souza, & Dr. Floyd Cheung. PDF of the slides can be found HERE.

This toolkit defines respectful dialogue, identifies goals for faculty, staff, and students, provides strategies, and shares additional resources and supports. Includes several webinars, as well as a page of additional resources for respectful dialogue. From Ohio State University.

From the Chronicle of Higher Education.

From MedEdPortal.

The new Anti-racism in Medicine Collection within MedEdPORTAL provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills, elevates the educational scholarship of anti-racist curricula, and aims to convene a community of collaborators dedicated to the elimination of racism within medical education.

From the University of San Fransisco.

Presents curricular resources on the following topics:
A. Structural Causes of Racism and Inequity
B. Teaching Cultural Competence
C. Teaching and Addressing Privilege

From NYU. The scorecard was designed with the intention of being customizable to the context and conditions of a given institution. Although seemingly designed for a K-12 setting, this could be customized for the higher ed environment. The scorecard itself was based off of the Culturally Responsive Education Framework.

This tool, developed by members of the Re-Imagining Migration team and researchers at UCLA, is intended to help make the concept of a culturally responsive classroom concrete and to provide an opportunity for reflection and self-assessment.

From the University of Minnesota School of Public Health.

From Black Perspectives, is the award-winning blog of the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS).

This extremely thorough toolkit includes sections on Defining Respect in the Classroom, Teaching for Racial Justice, & Shaping Inclusion.

This toolkit defines respectful dialogue, identifies goals for faculty, staff, and students, provides strategies, and shares additional resources and supports. Includes several webinars, as well as a page of additional resources for respectful dialogue. From Ohio State University.

From Ohio State University. The SEI_CI was developed as one part of the College of Education & Human Ecology (EHE) commitment to institutionalizing equity, diversity, and
inclusion.

From University of LaVerne. his tool was developed for faculty to examine their syllabi, teaching practices, and classroom environment. The goal is to support faculty in implementing the ideals of diversity and inclusivity in their classroom.

From the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM). This toolkit was formed by contributors who sought to explore how to teach health care providers to reduce health care disparities. Their discussions have focused on race and racism but include a larger critical dialogue on bias, identity, intersectionality, and privilege

From LaFayette College. Includes a nice variety of tools for educators to conduct self-assessment as well as evaluate their own course materials. Of note is the Anti-Racist Educator Self-Examination Questionnaire and Rubric.

From the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

ACAPT's priorities include academic leadership and advocacy, with a goal to increase the diversity of students and faculty in academic PT.

From Social Work Career.

This toolkit was developed by the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research members to support the APTR Policy: Role of Academia in Combatting Structural Racism in the United States. APTR designed the toolkit resources to assist health professions faculty address and seek to reduce the effects of systemic racism in our society through their professional work: as teachers, as clinical and public health practitioners, as researchers, and as members of a university community. The toolkit has an organizing structure and provides resources such as websites, files, research articles and recommended readings.

Created by Wheaton College, this action-oriented guide features a wide range of resources to educators become anti-racist.

From Harvard University.

Includes the following the topics for physician assistant educators: Areas Culturally Appropriate Care, Health Disparities, Health Equity, and Bias, Health Literacy, LGBT Inclusion, Social Determinants of Health. Requires PAEA membership to view resources.

Use these resources within your program or curriculum to teach cultural competence to your physical therapy students.