Skip to Main Content

MLA Citation Guide: Magazine Articles

How Can I Tell if it's a Magazine?

Multiple magazines with covers facing out on display. Image from Flickr by Mannobhai

Photo courtesy of Flickr by Manoj Jacob. Available under a Creative Commons license.

Not sure whether your article is from a magazine? Look for these characteristics:

Popular magazines:

  • Main purpose is to entertain, sell products or promote a viewpoint.
  • Appeal to the general public.
  • Often have many photos and illustrations, as well as many advertisements.
  • Author may or may not have subject expertise.
  • Name and credentials of authors often NOT provided.
  • Articles tend to be short –less than 5 pages
  • Unlikely to have a bibliography or references list

Trade magazines:

  • Main purpose is to update and inform readers on current trends in a specific industry or trade.
  • Audience is members of a specific industry or trade or professors and students in that trade or industry
  • May have photos and numerous advertisements, but still assume that readers understand specific jargon of the profession.
  • Usually published by an association.
  • Authors are professionals working in the specific industry or trade.

Journals:

  • Main purpose is often to report results of original research
  • Articles usually have a very specific subject focus
  • May see sections such as abstract, discussion, results, and conclusion
  • Author of the article is an expert or specialist in the field and often their credentials are listed
  • Article is intended for students, scientists, researchers and/or professionals instead of the general public
  • Usually includes a References list at the end

Articles may also come from newspapers.

In-Text Citation For Two or More Authors/Editors

Number of Authors/Editors In-Text Citation Example
Two

 (Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number)

 Example: (Case and Daristotle 57)
Three or more

 (Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

 Example: (Case et al. 57)

How to Cite When You Have Three or More Authors

If you have three or more authors cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name Middle Name (if present) followed by a comma et al.

Example: Smith, James E., et al.

Magazine Article From a Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. page numbers. Name of Database. Location element (DOI or Permalink). 

Works Cited List Example

Wolf, Kathleen L. "The Health Benefits of Small Parks and Green Spaces." Parks & Recreation, vol. 52, no. 4, Apr. 2017, pp. 28-29. MasterFile Premier, frccwc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=122333379&site=ehost-live. 
In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Wolf 29)

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name, and Third Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. Name of Database. 

 Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Fisher, Douglas, and Nancy Frey. "The Importance of Struggle." Educational Leadership, vol. 74, no. 8, May 2017, pp. 85-86. MasterFile Premier, frccwc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=122879138&site=ehost-live. 
In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Fisher and Frey 86)

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. Name of Database. 

 Note: If the author is unknown, begin the citation with the title of the article.

Works Cited List Example

"The Diet Soda-Weight Debate." Environmental Nutrition, vol. 35, no. 7, July 2012, p. 7. MasterFile Premier, frccwc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=76609619&site=ehost-live. 
In-Text Citation Example

("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

("Diet Soda")

 Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks. A, An, or The do not need to be included in your in-text citation). 

Magazine Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."Title of Magazine, Date of publication, URL. Accessed access date.

Works Cited List Example

Cosh, Kolby. "Tiny Human Brains Threaten Giant Dinosaur Bones in Alberta." Macleans, 25 July 2012, www.macleans.ca/news/canada/a-blight-at-the-museum. Accessed 13 June 2016.
In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name)

(Cosh)

Magazine Article in Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. 

Works Cited List Example

Loney, Sydney. "Family Fare." Today's Parent, Jan. 2012, pp. 59-61. 
In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Loney 59)

Magazine Article in Print - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. 

 Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Ainsworth-Vincze, Cameron, and Josh Dehass. "Where Do I Belong?" Macleans, 22 Nov. 2010, pp. 58-59.
In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Ainsworth-Vincze and Dehass 58)

Magazine Article in Print - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. 

Works Cited List Example

"Outsmart Your Cravings." Prevention, 30 Jan. 2008, p. 45. 
In-Text Citation Example  ("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

 ("Outsmart" 45)

 Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.