Research Guides: Computing and Engineering: Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering Database

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)
The Civil Engineering Database is designed to provide citations and abstracts for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.

How to get to the full text of an article from the citation:

Don't try to enter a login or pay to view the article. Unfortunately, this database does not support QU Check for Full Text.
Look at the article's citation and note the journal title, year, volume, and issue.
Go to the Journal search on the library website and enter the journal title.
Choose a link to a database for the journal based on the correct journal title and the years it's available. If the journal isn't available, follow the link to Request via Interlibrary Loan.
This link will bring you to a database or publisher's site that has the full text. Look for an Archive link or a list of years or volumes and drill down to the issue and article.

ASTM Compass
Includes 13,000 standards that cover nearly 140 industries, such as steel, petroleum, construction, electronics, plastics, textiles, energy and the environment. The Engineering Digital Library also offers access to engineering-related manuals, books, data series, special technical publications and journals.

Scopus
Scopus is an excellent source for scholarly articles in Engineering. It connects seamlessly with ScienceDirect and with other databases for full text of articles.

ScienceDirect
Full text access to scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and business.

GreenFILE
A freely accessible database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes indexing for both scholarly and general interest titles and full text linking to open access publications. View and search for images found in articles.

Academic Search Ultimate
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.