Research Guides: CSC 493 Computer Science Capstone: Refining Your Topic &amp; Search

Making your topic searchable

YOUR Research Topic Worksheet
Go from a topic idea to a question to keywords that you can try in databases. Also has suggestions on where to search for what kinds of information.

Librarian

Kevin Redline

He/Him/His

Email Me

Contact:

Scholarly Communications, Research and Instruction Librarian

(203) 582-7428

Subjects: Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Cybersecurity, Engineering, Game Design & Development, Mathematics

Databases

ACM Digital Library

ACM Digital Library

Provides full text of articles and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery and citations from major publishers in computing. ACM publishes research in computer science, software engineering, graphics and multimedia, networking and security.

Scopus

Scopus
Scopus is an excellent source for scholarly articles in Engineering. It connects seamlessly with ScienceDirect and with other databases for full text of articles.

AI restriction: you may not "use the Subscribed Products without Elsevier's permission in writing in combination with an artificial intelligence tool except where such artificial intelligence tool is used in a closed hosted environment solely for use by the subscriber.

MathSciNet

MathSciNet

Offers access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.

arXiv.org

arXiv.org
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

RefWorks Instructions

ACM Digital Library

Conduct a search
Mark records you wish to save by checking them off
Scroll to top of page, just below Results, select Export Citations
Select Bibtex and click on the Download citation icon in the bottom right of the window
You will get a file named acm.bib in your browser’s Download area. Open your Downloads folder to have access to this file for the next steps.

Now in RefWorks

6. Open RefWorks

7. Click +Add from the top left toolbar

8. Select "Import References" and browse for and select the saved text file.

9. RefWorks will ask you what type of file it is. Type ACM in the search bar and select BibTex (ACM Digital Library). Click on Import

10. Click Go to Last Imported button.

11. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

12. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.

Scopus

Conduct a search
Mark records you wish to save by checking them off
Click on Export at top of results list
Dropdown select RefWorks under Reference managers
Then click on Export

Now in RefWorks

6. Open RefWorks

7. Click +Add from the top left toolbar

8. Select "Import References"

9. Select a file from your computer. Downloads - Select Scopus

9. RIS Format : Select RIS Format: Scopus, click Import

10. Check off the citations you want to put in a folder.

11. In the top row, click on Assign to folder. Under Assign to folder, check off the folder where you want to keep these citations. To start a new folder, select Create at the bottom. Name the folder. You can create a folder as a subfolder of another one if you wish. Click Create folder.