Research Guides: Interactive Media and Communications : Scholarly Articles

Characteristics of Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles typically have the following features:

An abstract (summary) on the first page
Organization by headings such as Introduction, Literature Review, and Conclusion
Citations throughout and a bibliography or reference list at the end
Credentialed authors, usually affiliated with a research institute or university
Scholarly, technical language written for an audience of scholars and experts in the field
More than 10 pages in length (usually, but not always)
Published in a scholarly journal

Recommended Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full text coverage of over 200 titles and citation coverage for additional sources in communications studies and mass media.
Nexis Uni

Quick and comprehensive access to more than 10,000 full-text business, legal, and news sources.

* Please use FIREFOX or SAFARI browser *
Sage Journals Online

Online access to the full text of over 485 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Medicine and Technology. The SAGE Full-Text Collections in Communications, Criminology, and Political Science are also available through this platform.
Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Other Helpful Databases

ABI/Inform Collection

Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Ultimate

Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
JSTOR

An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly full-text journals. The earliest content dates back to 1665. It is prohibited to use JSTOR content in open, generative AI tools such as ChatGPT.

JSTOR provides an Interactive Research AI tool. Users must be affiliated with QU and logged in with a personal account. JSTOR's Interactive Research Tool provides a summary of key points of an article, related articles, or users can ask questions about the article. JSTOR Overview.
MainFile

A multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias. View and search for images found within articles.
MasterFILE Premier

Provides full text of magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
ScienceDirect

Full text access to scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and business.

You may not “use the Subscribed Products without Elsevier's permission in writing in combination with an artificial intelligence tool except where such artificial intelligence tool is used in a closed hosted environment solely for use by the subscriber.”

All Databases

For a complete list of all library databases, please click here.