EN 102

Library OneSearch is a search engine that provides simple access to relevant information including scholarly resources at Quinnipiac University through an integrated search of all our databases, e-books, print books, full-text journals and the Quinnipiac Library Catalog.

Library OneSearch

Typing your search in Library OneSearch is as easy to use as 1-2-3:  Search, Sort and See.

Search: Enter search terms into a single search box, or select an Advanced Search option.

Sort: Arrange results by criteria such as date, subject, academic journals and other options.

See: View results, and link directly to full text for more details.

The Library OneSearch searches across multiple databases at the same time.

To find peer-reviewed journal articles using the Library OneSearch:

1. Perform a keyword search in the Library OneSearch search bar on the Arnold Bernhard Library homepage.
2. From the results list, click on the Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals button below the search bar at the top of the page.
3. This will filter your results list to peer-reviewed articles.
   • Clicking on the All Filters button will provide you with additional limiters to help you narrow down your search.
4. As you browse the results list, if an article title catches your eye, click on the title to open up additional information about the article. Here you can typically find the Abstract (or Summary) which will help you determine if you should access the Full Text, if available.
5. To access the Full Text of an article, if available, click on the Access Options dropdown link and select either Online Full Text or PDF.
   • You may also see Access Now (PDF) links that will bring you to the full text of the article.

Search Tip: If you're looking for a specific journal and you want to browse articles within that one journal, visit the Find Journals page for more information!

For a full list of all the Databases the Library subscribes to, please access the A-Z Database list from the Library homepage.

You can sort the A-Z Database list by subject by selecting the "All Subjects" dropdown menu from the top of the page and selecting a subject from the list. Once you sort the list by subject, your "best bets" for databases within that subject will be listed at the top in a highlighted box.

Here's a list of the most popular databases for finding articles:

Peer reviewed articles typically have the following features:

• An abstract (summary) on the first page
• Organization by headings such as Introduction, Literature Review, and Conclusion
• Citations throughout and a bibliography or reference list at the end
• Credentialed authors, usually affiliated with a research institute or university
• Scholarly, technical language written for an audience of scholars and experts in the field
• More than 10 pages in length (usually, but not always)
• Published in a scholarly journal

If you need a book or journal article that is not held by Quinnipiac University, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). 

The service is free. 

ILL requests should be submitted online from the Interlibrary Loan page.   

If you are on the Library homepage,  the link to Interlibrary Loan is below Library OneSearch in the blue highlight.

Articles in PDF format will be sent and made available directly in your interlibrary loan account. You will be notified by email. 

• Your search in OneSearch or a Library Database is dependent on the keywords that you use in your query.
• Always brainstorm at least 5-10 keywords that relate to your topic before you begin searching.
• If you’re unsure of what keywords to use, browse subject headings, thesauri and indexes to get some ideas.
• Choose 1-3 keywords to input into the search bar for the best results.
  • Mix and match your brainstormed keywords to see different search results.