Research Guides: EN 102: Databases

What Is a Library Database?

A library database is a digital collection of information, articles, and resources curated by experts.

Unlike a general search engine like Google, library databases focus on providing high-quality, credible sources.

These sources often include:

scholarly journal articles
academic publications
eBooks (electronic books)
news archives
and other in-depth materials

Why Use a Database?

Here's why library databases are the best choice for in-depth research:

Credibility: Librarians carefully select databases that contain information from reputable sources, authored by experts in their fields.
Accuracy: Library databases are well-maintained and contain a high percentage of accurate information. The content goes through a selection process to ensure it meets quality standards.
Advanced Search Features: Library databases offer advanced search options that allow you to refine your research by publication date, author, topic, and other specific criteria. These filters help you find exactly what you need!
Full-Text Access: QU pays for subscriptions to these databases, so you can often access the full text of articles and resources directly, instead of having to pay for them or search for them on separate websites.
Focus: QU offers specialized databases for specific subjects, like history, science, and business. This allows you to find targeted information relevant to your research.

Article Databases

For a full list of all the Databases the Library subscribes to, please access the A-Z Database list from the Library homepage.

You can sort the A-Z Database list by subject by selecting the "All Subjects" dropdown menu from the top of the page and selecting a subject from the list. Once you sort the list by subject, your "best bets" for databases within that subject will be listed at the top in a highlighted box.

Here's a list of the most popular databases for finding articles:

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
[BUSINESS] - Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
[ALL SUBJECTS] - Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
[NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCES] - Features journal articles, dissertations, conferences, images and book chapters in Nursing and Allied Health professions from 1937 to present. Contains resources related to nursing and allied health; consumer health, biomedicine; and health sciences. Also includes research instruments, diseases and conditions, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets.

JSTOR
[ARTS & HUMANITIES] - An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly journals, with business and economic journals well represented. The majority of the database is full-text, with the earliest content dating back to 1665. Please note that the most recent few years may not be available.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
[PSYCHOLOGY] - Comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and full-text articles from major psychology journals, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage begins in 1894 and includes international material.

Science Direct
[SCIENCES] - Full text access to scholarly journals in business, the sciences and social sciences.

About Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Gale Opposing Viewpoints is a library database that provides access to a wide range of articles and perspectives on current social and political issues, presenting both "pro" and "con" viewpoints on popular topics.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints searches a variety of sources, including:

Academic Journals, including Peer-Reviewed Articles
Viewpoint Essays
Magazine Articles
News Articles
Primary Sources
Videos

You can also use this database for research topic development.

Finding Scholarly Articles in Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Perform a keyword search for your topic. Remember to use 1-3 keywords for optimal search results.
At the top of the page, select Academic Journals.
Under the Filter Your Results limiters, check off the box next to Peer-Reviewed Journals.

Consider Bias in Viewpoint Essays

When reading viewpoint essays in Gale Opposing Viewpoints, recognize that the authors are trying to persuade the reader to agree with their views.

Keep in mind that these essays are opinion pieces. They are not peer-reviewed journal articles.

It's up to you to analyze the author's credentials to determine if it's a source worthy of citing in your own work.

EXAMPLE:

Take for example the following viewpoint essay - "Global Warming Will Not Increase Food Insecurity," by Patrick J. Michaels. We see in the article commentary that Michaels is a "global warming skeptic," which informs the reader that this essay will be heavily biased.

We also see that Michaels worked for the Cato Institute. A quick Google Search of the Cato Institute shows that this institution is affiliated with right-libertarianism values, which demonstrates political bias. The Cato Institute was also founded by Charles Koch, a billionaire aligned with conservative politics who's businesses have proven to violate environmental protections. The institutional affiliations of Michaels further prove why his viewpoint is biased.

News Sources

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Requires registration. Access to current NYTimes (excluding Cooking, The Athletic, and Crosswords) and the archive back to 1851.
When you first access the NYTimes, you must register an account. At the activation page, find and select Quinnipiac University. When you register your account you must use a valid Quinnipiac email address.
New York Times (1980 - current issue) This link opens in a new window
Each issue of the NYT is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current) This link opens in a new window
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Wall Street Journal (Online)
Access to the Wall Street Journal Online is provided by Quinnipiac's Business School.
more...less...
To get access:

1. Enter Quinnipiac University into the University Name box. Click Search.

2. Log-In with your Quinnipiac credentials via SSO OR fill out the account information in the form:
- Account Type: Student / Staff / Professor
- First & Last Name
- Email (Use your QU email here)
- Password (Create a password)