Please remember that subject-specific reference sources provide background information on topics. They were written by experts in the field and use the terminology or language of that discipline. The bibliographies are valuable because they identify some of the classic research on the topic. These resources may include:
There are many other reference materials that may be helpful and save you time. Please just ask for suggestions.
APA Dictionary of Psychology: This is available on the APA website.
More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.
APA Style Dictionary Entry References and In-Text: check here for the APA citing information for the reference list and in-text citation examples.
APA Dictionary of Psychology [electronic resources] by 
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology [electronic resource] by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology [electronic resource] by 
Handbook of Psychology [electronic resource] by 
Psychology of Classroom Learning: an encyclopedia [electronic resource] by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology [electronic resource] by 
The Senses: a comprehensive reference [paper copy] by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by Encyclopedia of Psychology
This encyclopedia, which was published by APA, is available in PDF format in PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS
(PsycBOOKS is a subset of PsycINFO). Enter the title in quotation marks in either database and open the drop down and select SO Publication Name and the list of volumes (unfortunately not in volume number order) will be retrieved from the PsycBOOKS search.
Click on the title of a volume and scroll down to see the topics covered. Enter the topic in quotes into the second search box at top of screen. Each topic entry will be in PDF format.
To search a topic in the encyclopedia, enter the title in quotes and change the drop down menu on the right to SO Publication Name. The topic keyword(s) should be entered in the search box(s) below.
