Research Guides: Finance: Home

About This Guide

This Finance Research Guide will help you navigate business-related topics using Library resources as well as credible sources accessible via the Web. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources and search tips!

Please don't hesitate to contact the Library Liaison to the School of Business, Rebecca Toolsidass, via email or check with the librarian at the Reference Desk if you have any questions!

Research Starting Points

To get you started on your research, here is a list of top databases for Finance students:

ABI/Inform Collection
Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Edgar
A database of corporate filings maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect allows users to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nexis Uni
Quick and comprehensive access to more than 10,000 full-text business, legal, and news sources.

* Please use FIREFOX or SAFARI browser *
Value Line
Value Line is an independent provider of investment-related information. Online access allows you to screen stocks, track portfolios and get access to online educational tools and up to the minute information on our listed companies.

News Sources

New York Times
Requires registration. Access to current NYTimes (excluding Cooking, The Athletic, and Crosswords) and the archive back to 1851.
When you first access the NYTimes, you must register an account. At the activation page, find and select Quinnipiac University. When you register your account you must use a valid Quinnipiac email address.
New York Times (1980 - current issue)
Each issue of the NYT is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
US Major Dailies
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current)
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Professional Associations

CFA Institute
The CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) Institute aims to lead the investment profession globally by promoting the highest standards of ethics, education, and professional excellence for the ultimate benefit of society.