Research Guides: Economics: Databases

What Is a Library Database?

A library database is a digital collection of information, articles, and resources curated by experts.

Unlike a general search engine like Google, library databases focus on providing high-quality, credible sources.

These sources often include:

Here's why library databases are the best choice for in-depth research:

Credibility: Librarians carefully select databases that contain information from reputable sources, authored by experts in their fields.
Accuracy: Library databases are well-maintained and contain a high percentage of accurate information. The content goes through a selection process to ensure it meets quality standards.
Advanced Search Features: Library databases offer advanced search options that allow you to refine your research by publication date, author, topic, and other specific criteria. These filters help you find exactly what you need!
Full-Text Access: QU pays for subscriptions to these databases, so you can often access the full text of articles and resources directly, instead of having to pay for them or search for them on separate websites.
Focus: QU offers specialized databases for specific subjects, like history, science, and business. This allows you to find targeted information relevant to your research.

ABI/Inform Collection
Nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Ultimate
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting coverage for more than 13,800 journals with more than 9,000 full-text. The database is updated daily and includes more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. PDF content dates back to 1887 and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Contains a searchable image collection.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 scholarly full-text journals. The earliest content dates back to 1665.
ScienceDirect
Full text access to scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and business.

New York Times
Requires registration. Access to current NYTimes (excluding Cooking, The Athletic, and Crosswords) and the archive back to 1851.
When you first access the NYTimes, you must register an account. At the activation page, find and select Quinnipiac University. When you register your account you must use a valid Quinnipiac email address.
New York Times (1980 - current issue)
Each issue of the NYT is indexed thoroughly, to provide access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
New York Times (Historical) 1851 to 2017
Full page and article images with searchable full text dating back to the first issue. Historical local, regional and national news.
US Major Dailies
Collection of national newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current)
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Passport (GMID)
Business intelligence on countries, consumers, and industries.
Roper Center iPOLL Databank
The largest collection of poll data available - 1936 to present, all U.S. polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. U.S. and international datasets are available for immediate download.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

IBISWorld
This resource offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect allows users to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nexis Uni
Quick and comprehensive access to more than 10,000 full-text business, legal, and news sources.

* Please use FIREFOX or SAFARI browser *

To learn more about how to use a specific database, consult a User Guide: