Skip to Main Content

History: Digital Archives

A specific collection of library resources for History majors.

Connecticut Collection

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections

The Connecticut Digital Collections represent an ongoing digitizing effort documenting the history of the State. It is a service of the Connecticut State Library and local libraries and universities. Please explore.

Additional Digital Collections

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives provides primary sources from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th century, reflecting broad views across American history and culture – including: African American life, Women’s Suffrage, American County Histories, Colonial America, the Civil War, America in World War I, and much more.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
This site is a free, open resource for students and educators who are researching U.S. Black history. It features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Digital Archives for Primary Sources and Data

Archive.org

http://www.archive.org/

Brown University Digital Collections

http://dl.lib.brown.edu/repository/collections.php

Census Online

http://www.census-online.com/

Duke University Digital Collections

http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/

Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: To 1950

http://people.wku.edu/charles.smith/biogeog/

Environmental Protection Agency Envirofacts Data Warehouse

http://www.epa.gov/enviro/

Historical Text Archive

http://historicaltextarchive.com/

Library of Congress, Digital Collections

http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Making of America, Cornell University

http://digital.library.cornell.edu/m/moa/index.html

Making of America, University of Michigan

http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?page=browse;cc=moa;c=moa;key=subject

Princeton University Digital Collections

http://diglib.princeton.edu/?_xq=diglib&_xsl=home.xsl

Project Gutenberg

http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp

Yale University Digital Collections

http://digitalcollections.library.yale.edu/

Please note: This collection of archival sites was developed by Professor Barry Ross Muchnick, Ph.D. for his QU201 Seminar.