This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

A collection of library resources for criminal justice majors.
Last Updated: Oct 9, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.quinnipiac.edu/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Gang Web Site

Gangs are a continuing national problem that all elements of the public safety community must effectively manage. In a 2012 survey analysis, the Bureau of Justice National Gang Center found that "Following a marked decline from the mid-1990s to the early 2000s, the prevalence rate of gang activity significantly increased between 2001 and 2005 and has since remained fairly constant". The research highlighted on this page covers a range of gang related, corrections topics from slang words used by prison gangs to prevention and intervention for gang-affiliated girls.

 

  • Fact Sheet   Highlights Youth Gang Survey Findings

Highlights of the 2011 National Youth Gang Survey” (NCJ 242884, 4 pp.) presents findings from the   National Gang Center’s National Youth Gang   Survey, which collects data to track the activity of youth gangs. The   fact sheet discusses trends in gang activity, factors influencing local gang   violence, and anti-gang measures. (OJJDP)

 

Federal Bullying Web Site

StopBullying.gov provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying

The StopBullying.gov coordinates closely with the Federal Partners in Bullying Prevention Steering Committee, an interagency effort led by the Department of Education that works to coordinate policy, research, and communications on bullying topics. The Federal Partners include representatives from the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Defense, Education, Health and Human Services, the Interior, and Justice, as well as the Federal Trade Commission and the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.

Check the State Policies & Laws section on the web site homepage to learn about a particular state.

 

New Federal Report

The Condition of Education 2013.

   Published by the U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) in May 2013.  This year's report presents 42 indicators of important developments and trends in U.S. education.  These indicators focus on participation in education, elementary and secondary education and outcomes, and postsecondary education and outcomes.

 

Digest of Education Statistics 2012.

   Published by the U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) in December 2013.  Its primary purpose is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.  The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).

 

Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2012.  

   Published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) in June 2013.

 

Police Use of Force

"60 Minutes" Features NIJ-Funded Study

On November 13, 2011, "60 Minutes" aired a segment featuring Geoffrey Alpert, one of the authors of a recent NIJ-funded study, "Police Use of Force, Tasers and Other Less-Lethal Weapons." This study discusses law enforcement's use of conducted energy devices. The segment cited the NIJ report as "the definitive study of Taser use" to date. (NIJ)

 

 

January is Human Trafficking Prevention Month

 

Visit the OVC/BJA Anti-Human Trafficking Task Force Strategy and Operations e-Guide for important resources and information regarding this crime. (OVC: Office for Victims of Crime)

 

Human Trafficking

Characteristics of Suspected Human Trafficking Incidents, 2008-2010  (U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics)

   Describes the characteristics of human trafficking investigations, suspects, and victims in cases opened by federally funded task forces between January 2008 and June 2010. This report provides information about investigations, persons involved in suspected and confirmed incidents of human trafficking, and case outcomes.

Highlights include the following:

  • Federally funded task forces opened 2,515 suspected incidents of human trafficking for investigation between January 2008 and June 2010.
  • About 8 in 10 of the suspected incidents of human trafficking were classified as sex trafficking, and about 1 in 10 incidents were classified as labor trafficking.
  • The confirmed human trafficking incidents open for at least a year led to 144 known arrests.
 

Human Trafficking Web Site

Check out humantrafficking.org for information on this topic worldwide.  Many links are provided to other resources.

 

Welcome

Thank you for visiting my Research Guide.  Its purpose is to bring together specific library resources for Criminal Justice majors. 

The guide provides multiple options for comments and feedback.  Please send your thoughts and suggestions for improving it; I will greatly appreciate them.  

 

Office for Victims of Crime

The Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) is a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.  Read more about OVC.

 U.S. Resource Map of Crime Victim Services & Information: check for state-specific information

For an overview please check:  The History of the Crime Victims’ Movement in the United States   Published December 2004

CrimeSolutions.gov

OJP Launches New Web Site
OJP (Office of Justice Programs) has launched CrimeSolutions.gov, a resource to help practitioners and policymakers understand what works in justice-related programs and practices. The Web site includes information on 125 justice-related programs and assigns "evidence ratings" to indicate whether there is evidence from research that a program achieves its goals. (OJP)

 

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs Press Releases

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, it offers justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

JUSTSTATS: U.S. Crime and Justice Statistical Materials (Bureau of Justice Statistics)

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Women & Girls in Corrections

NIC's (National Institutie of Corrections) Corrections and Mental Health blog offers a series of articles that focus on women and girls in the corrections system. (October 5, 2012)  The articles discuss ways in which the criminal justice system responds to gender, how aftercare can help women adjust to community life and avoid recidivism, and more. (NIC).    Link to articles.

 

New Database of NIJ-Funded Projects

The National Institute of Justice has launched a new database of NIJ-funded projects. (October 29, 2012)  The database can sort awards by fiscal year, originating solicitation, awardee organization, state, county, and congressional district. It also provides other detailed information, including a description of each funded project. (NIJ).   Link to database.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Janet Valeski
Contact Info
ABL 128
(203) 582-8943
Send Email
 

Report Summarizes Crime Among Households With Children

Prevalence of Violent Crime among Households with Children, 1993-2010.

Presents data from the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) on nonfatal violent crime involving members of a household as victims and reports on the annual prevalence of that violent crime among U.S. households with children from 1993 to 2010. The report, published in September 2012, estimates the number of children age 17 or younger living in households in which at least one household member age 12 or older experienced violent crime during a given year. As defined in NCVS, nonfatal violent victimizations include rape, sexual assault, robbery, aggravated assault, and simple assault. Estimates of the number of children are provided by age of children (ages 0 to 11 and ages 12 to 17), type of crime, and location of the crime. The report also examines households that experienced violent crime by whether children lived in the household, type of crime, and location of the crime. Data on victimized households by type, composition, and characteristic are also presented.

 

Take Action to Protect Children

Defending Childhood Initiative Launches New Web Page

The Attorney General's Defending Childhood initiative has launched a new Web page, "Take Action To Protect Children," to support professionals in their efforts to address children's exposure to violence. The Web page provides online resources for professionals in various fields who work with children who experience or witness violence. (OJJDP)

 

Child Abuse Reports

Child Maltreatment: Facts at a Glance 2010.
    By the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

This is a one page statistical summary.

  

Child Maltreatment 2010.
   By the U.S. Depatment of Health & Human Services, Adminstration  for Children and Families, Administration on Children, Youth and Families, Children's Bureau

Child Maltreatment 2010 presents national data about child abuse and neglect known to CPS agen­cies in the United States during Federal fiscal year (FFY) 2010. The data were collected and analyzed through the National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS), which is supported by the Children’s Bureau.

 

Evidence-Based Practices for Children Exposed to Violence: A Selection from Federal Databases.
   By the U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

This report summarizes findings and evidence from federal reviews of research
studies and program evaluations to help localities address childhood exposure to violence and
improve outcomes for children, families, and communities. 

 

Office of Justice Programs.  National Institute of Justice.  "Child Abuse and Maltreatment"

Includes a discussion of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (table of contents in left margin) and identifies many links to other resources and related content.  Note links to statistics in right margin.

 

Elder Abuse

Office of Justice Programs.  National Institute of Justice.  "Elder Abuse"

   Includes a discussion of Elder Abuse (table of contents in the left margin) and identifies many links to other web resources and related content.

 

Intimate Partner Violence

Office of Justice Programs.  National Institute of Justice.  "Intimate Partner Violence"

   Includes a discussion of Intimate Partner Violence (table of contents in left margin) and identifies many links to other web resources and related content.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip