Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Reference/Background

Reference/Background Sources

Please remember that subject-specific reference sources provide background information on topics. They were written by experts in the field and use the terminology or language of that discipline. The bibliographies are valuable because they identify some of the classic research on the topic. These resources may include:

definitions
overviews
facts & dates
legislation
statistics
bibliographies

Articles in subject-specific encyclopedias are written by scholars in the field and present an overview of a topic. Not only does the article add to your knowledge of the subject but it may also help you outline your approach to the research (check the subject index at the end of the set, too) and introduce you to more specific aspects of a general, broad topic. The article may also provide you with other keywords that are used to describe your topic. In turn, as you build your vocabulary of keywords for your research topic, you will then incorporate them into your search strategies in the databases. Most articles will have a bibliography to suggest further reading, many times citing the classic research in the field.

Library Onesearch

Library OneSearch is a search engine that provides simple access to relevant information including scholarly resources at Quinnipiac University through an integrated search of all our databases, e-books, print books, full-text journals and the Quinnipiac Library Catalog.

Library OneSearch

Typing your search in Library OneSearch is as easy to use as 1-2-3: Search, Sort and See.

Search: Enter search terms into a single search box, or select an Advanced Search option.

Sort: Arrange results by criteria such as date, subject, academic journals and other options.

See: View results, and link directly to full text for more details.

DSM-5-TR: Electronic & Paper Copies

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: BERNHARD LIBRARY REFERENCE ROOM RC455.2.C4 D54 2022

ISBN: 9780890425756

Publication Date: 2022-03-18

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.

Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.
Crime in Connecticut
FBI - "Crime in the United States"
FBI - The Federal Bureau of Investigation
FBI - UCR: "Uniform Crime Reporting"
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for seeking information on crime in the nation.
NCES - National Center for Education Statistics
Primary federal entity collecting and analyzing data related to education.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Check the "Law Enforcement, Courts, & Prisons" section.

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 80000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Source for Topic Definitions

Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference area databases that may prove very helpful in identifying definitions for your topics. They are collections of subject-specific encyclopedias and other background sources that provide a good introduction to a variety of topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Offers students, researchers, and professionals a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary electronic reference sources on virtually any subject area to tackle their assignments, papers, projects, and presentations.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a library subscription database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology. You can use these types of sources to gain knowledge on a subject and to help you focus or narrow your topic.

Selected Reference Encyclopedias for Background

Child Abuse Sourcebook [electronic resource] by Valerie Juntunen (Editor); Karen Bellenir (Editor)
ISBN: 0780815246

Publication Date: 2013

Provides basic consumer health information about abuse and neglect of children and adolescents, along with facts about prevention and intervention strategies and treatment for survivors of abuse. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Crime and Punishment in America: an encyclopedia of trends and controversies in the justice system [electronic reference] by Laura L. Finley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610699280

Publication Date: 2016-12-01

Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions.
The Criminal Justice System [electronic resource] by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781682173107

Publication Date: 2017-04-30

The second edition presents some 620 articles across three volumes addressing the core issues, or "six Cs of Criminal Justice:" Criminals, Codes, Constitutions, Cops, Courts, and Corrections, in order to alleviate these misperceptions. Special attention is also given to the relationship between reality and fictionalized depictions of crime in television, literature, film, and others. Includes a time line, personages and subject indexes, and other reference materials
Domestic Violence Sourcebook [paper copy] by Omnigraphics, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BERNHARD LIBRARY REFERENCE ROOM HV6626.2 .D685 2013 LIBRARY USE

ISBN: 0780814606

Publication Date: 2016-03-01

Provides basic consumer health information about the physical, mental, and social effects of violence against intimate partners, children, teens, parents, and the elderly, along with prevention and intervention strategies. Includes index, glossary of rel
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by Francis T. Cullen (Editor); Pamela K. Wilcox (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412959186

Publication Date: 2010-09-23

Coverage will include: contexts and concepts in criminological theory the social construction of crime policy implications of theory diversity and intercultural contexts conflict theory rational choice theories conservative criminology feminist theory.
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Jay S. Albanese (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780470670286

Publication Date: 2014-01-28

***Selected as a 2015 Outstanding Reference Source by Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association*** "An excellent introduction to topics under the criminology umbrella for those unschooled in the field and a state-of-the-art refresher for those who are." --Choice Offers wide-ranging and comprehensive coverage spanning 15 substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice, including criminal law, juvenile justice, education and professionalism, history of crime, and victimization Combines state-of-the-art coverage of developments in areas such as homeland security and forensic science, with the core topics within criminology and criminal justice Edited by one of criminology's leading authorities, and peer reviewed by a team of 14 associate editors, all of whom are renowned in their fields Brings together an international team of contributors from ten countries to offer a uniquely global perspective on topics such as transnational crime 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaofcriminology.com
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior [electronic resource] by Pamela Korsmeyer; Henry R. Kranzler
ISBN: 9780028660646

Publication Date: 2008-11-19

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies
Encyclopedia of Police Science by Jack Raymond Greene (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415970006

Publication Date: 2006-10-23

In 1996, Garland published the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science, edited by the late William G. Bailey. The work covered all the major sectors of policing in the US. Since then much research has been done on policing issues, and there have been significant changes in techniques and in the American police system. Technological advances have refined and generated methods of investigation. Political events, such as the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 in the United States, have created new policing needs while affecting public opinion about law enforcement. These developments appear in the third, expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science. 380 entries examine the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practices. The added coverage makes the Encyclopedia more comprehensive with a greater focus on today's policing issues. Also added are themes such as accountability, the culture of police, and the legal framework that affects police decision. New topics discuss recent issues, such as Internet and crime, international terrorism, airport safety, or racial profiling. Entries are contributed by scholars as well as experts working in police departments, crime labs, and various fields of policing.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime [electronic resource] by Helen Taylor Greene, Shaun L. Gabbidon, Editors
Publication Date: 2009

Covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Explores the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrates how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America [electronic reference] by Jeffrey Ian Ross (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412999571

Publication Date: 2013-03-28

This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams.
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice [electronic resource] by Margaret E. Beare (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412990776

Publication Date: 2012-04-26

Transnational crimes involve border crossings as an integral part of the criminal activity. They also include crimes that take place in one country with consequences that significantly affect other countries. Examples include human trafficking, smuggling (arms, drugs, currency), sex slavery, non-domestic terrorism, and financial crimes.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention [electronic resource] by Bonnie S. Fisher, Steven P. Lab, Editors
Publication Date: 2010

This work discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system, as well as topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims' needs
Essential Criminology by Mark M. Lanier; Stuart Henry; Desire' J. M. Anastasia
ISBN: 9780813348858

Publication Date: 2007-12-01

In the fourth edition ofEssential Criminology, authors Mark M. Lanier, Stuart Henry, and Desiré J.M. Anastasia build upon this best-selling critical review of criminology, which has become essential reading for students of criminology in the 21st century. Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts,Essential Criminology is, as its title implies, a concise overview of the field. The book guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured. It then covers the major theories of crime, from individual-level, classical, and rational choice to biological, psychological, social learning, social control, and interactionist perspectives. In this latest edition, the authors explore the kind of criminology that is needed for the globally interdependent twenty-first century. With cutting-edge updates, illustrative real-world examples, and new study tools for students, this text is a necessity for both undergraduate and graduate courses in criminology.
Mass Shootings in America: understanding the debates, causes, and responses [electronic & paper copies] by Jaclyn Schildkraut (Editor); Frank DeAngelis (Foreword by)
Call Number: BERNHARD LIBRARY BOOK STACKS, 2ND FLOOR HV6529 .M378 2018

ISBN: 9781440856242

Publication Date: 2018-05-25

This work examines mass shootings in the United States, focusing on events from 1966 to 2016. In addition to providing essential information about each shooting, it surveys underlying causes of such events and potential reforms to prevent future ones. It includes essays from experts in the fields of criminal justice, sociology, and psychology about key issues surrounding the phenomenon of mass shootings and a collection of opinion pieces that provide insights into debates surrounding gun laws and other issues related to mass shootings. The title also features an encyclopedia section containing entries on every mass shooting in the United States from 1966 to 2016 for easy reference and a collection of illuminating and historically important primary documents pertaining to mass shooting events and the broader problem of violence in American society.
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: an Encyclopedia [electronic resource] by Wilbur R. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412988766

Publication Date: 2012-08-10

The encyclopedia provides the historical context to better understand contemporary criminological debates and the contemporary shape of the U.S. system of law and justice.