National Institute of Justice. Five Facts About Mas Shootings in K-12 Schools. August 22, 2022.
Lewis, Raven A. & Carlton, Mary Poulin. What are the Predictors of School Violence? What Are Its Consequences? National Institute of Justice. February 23, 2022.
The link to the complete report is at the bottom of the page.
Frederique, Nadine. What do the Data Reveal About Violence in Schools. National Institute of Justice Journal. November 13, 2020.
A review of the most commonly cited sources of school safety data indicates that although crime and violence in schools have generally been decreasing for some time, multiple-victim homicide incidents have been increasing.
Report on Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2023
A publication from the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), Published in July 2021, it provides detailed statistical information on the nature of crime in schools. This report contains 23 indicators of crime at school from a number of sources.
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2021
This report is a compendium of indicators depicting both the promises and the challenges confronting our Nation's young people. It presents 41 key indicators on important aspects of children's lives.
This year's report continues to present key indicators in seven domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
StopBullying.gov provides information from various government agencies.
The StopBullying.gov coordinates closely with the Federal Partners in Bullying Prevention Steering Committee, an interagency effort led by the Department of Education that works to coordinate policy, research, and communications on bullying topics. The Federal Partners include representatives from the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Defense, Education, Health and Human Services, the Interior, and Justice, as well as the Federal Trade Commission and the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
Check the Laws & Policies section (click Resources) on the web site homepage to learn about a particular state.
Gangs are a continuing national problem that all elements of the public safety community must effectively manage. In a 2012 survey analysis, the Bureau of Justice National Gang Center found that "Following a marked decline from the mid-1990s to the early 2000s, the prevalence rate of gang activity significantly increased between 2001 and 2005 and has since remained fairly constant". The research highlighted on this page covers a range of gang related, corrections topics from slang words used by prison gangs to prevention and intervention for gang-affiliated girls.
Active Shooter Incidents in the United States.
The FBI has designated 61 shootings in 2021 as active shooter incidents. The FBI defines an active shooter as one or more individuals actively engaged in killing or attempting to kill people in a populated area.
A troubled past and leaked plans are common to those who take part in mass shootings. Most use handguns, National Institute of Justice-supported research shows. Article dated February 3, 2022 and covers 1966-2019.
The Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) provides a National Body-Worn Camera Toolkit on its website. The purpose is to provide
"... a comprehensive clearinghouse for criminal justice practitioners interested in planning and implementing a body-worn camera program in an effort to strengthen community trust and confidence in the justice system and improve officer and community safety."
There are many pages of information covering getting started and implementation, the national landscape, research, policy, technology, privacy, training, and stakeholders, as well as videos of experts and FAQs.
OJJDP’s Model Programs Guide (MPG), an online resource of evidence-based juvenile justice and youth prevention, intervention, and reentry programs, offers literature reviews. MPG literature reviews provide practitioners and policymakers with relevant research and evaluations on more than 40 juvenile justice topics and programs.
New: Substance Use Treatment Programs. Literature Review: A product of the Model Programs Guide.
This literature review focuses on substance use disorder among youths under 18 and on the utilization of substance use treatment programs.
In addition to literature reviews, MPG offers program profiles, information on program implementation, and resource links.
NIJ and OJJDP published "Youth and the Juvenile Justice System: 2022 National Report" in December 2022. It is the fifth edition of a comprehensive report on youth victimization, offending by youth, and the juvenile justice system. With this release, the report series has adopted a new name (the series was previously known as "Juvenile Offenders and Victims"), but the focus of the report remains unchanged: the report consists of the most requested information on youth and the juvenile justice system in the United States.
Prevalence of Violent Crime among Households with Children, 1993-2010.
Presents data from the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) on nonfatal violent crime involving members of a household as victims and reports on the annual prevalence of that violent crime among U.S. households with children from 1993 to 2010. The report, published in September 2012, estimates the number of children age 17 or younger living in households in which at least one household member age 12 or older experienced violent crime during a given year. As defined in NCVS, nonfatal violent victimizations include rape, sexual assault, robbery, aggravated assault, and simple assault. Estimates of the number of children are provided by age of children (ages 0 to 11 and ages 12 to 17), type of crime, and location of the crime. The report also examines households that experienced violent crime by whether children lived in the household, type of crime, and location of the crime. Data on victimized households by type, composition, and characteristic are also presented.
On March 1, 2003, U.S. Customs and Border Protection became the nation’s first comprehensive border security agency with a focus on maintaining the integrity of the nation’s boundaries and ports of entry.
Check the different options listed in the blue ribbon or conduct a keyword search. For instance, Border Security covers the following areas:
|
|
|
Visit the OVC/BJA Anti-Human Trafficking Task Force Strategy and Operations e-Guide for important resources and information regarding this crime. (OVC: Office for Victims of Crime) |
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention:
Human Trafficking Resources
Human Trafficking Special Feature is presented and related information is included.
Hate Crime Victimization, 2005-2019 Published September 2021
This report presents National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) data on hate crime victimizations from 2005 to 2019. Hate crimes in the NCVS include violent and property crimes that the victim perceived to be motivated by bias against the victim's race, ethnicity, national origin, gender, disability, sexual orientation, or religion. It includes crimes reported and not reported to police.
Hate Crimes and Youth: Literature Review. Last Update: February 2022
From the report: "This literature review will discuss the involvement of youths in hate crimes, both perpetration and victimization. It will provide definitions of hate crimes and related terms. The review will also provide an overview of the history of hate crime legislation in the United States, of hate crime rates and trends, of recruitment of youth into hate groups, and of interventions to prevent or reduce the occurrence of youth hate crimes. It also will discuss the consequences of hate crime and bias-based harassment of youth and examine the gaps in the literature."
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service. "Special Feature: Elder Abuse"
Explore information through many links to federal government agencies and programs.
NCEA: National Center on Elder Abuse.
Directed by the U.S. Administration on Aging, NCEA is a resource for policy makers, social service and health care practitioners, the justice system, researchers, advocates, and families.