Criminal Justice: Policy - Finding Laws

 

1)  Legal Reference Sources

Black’s law dictionary   
      9th ed.  Bernhard Library Reference Collection   Ref KF156 .B53 2014
                  Law Library Reference                             Ref KF156 .B53 2014 

 

 

2)  State Websites -> State Statutes (Policy)

• State of Connecticut website    
  http://www.ct.gov
• For other state websites enter the two letter abbreviation in place of “ct” (for example: ny or nj).  Remember that each state may search a bit differently.

CT Search Example for licensure: 

1. Search box at top enter Social Worker and link for licensure comes up     

 

Searching the CT State Statutes specifically: Scroll down and click on Legislative under CT Government , then click on Statutes and then Search Statutes.  Type keywords into the Document Text search box (note drop down menu options).  Example: Good Samaritan 
 

Browse Statutes link

Search Statutes link
 

 

3)  State Websites -> State Agency Regulations or Administrative Code (Policy Implementation)

• Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies: these are also searchable from the State of Connecticut website by conducting a keyword search 
• Other states may use different terminology, such as Administrative Code 

 

***Remember:  Google is a good option for searching State websites since some are not as user friendly as others, and it is usually straight forward.  Check the domain for a site from the State government, for example ct.gov, ri.gov, but some states are subcontracting with private companies for certain services, like Massachusetts for licensing. Make sure that the State government site leads to the subcontracted site.
 

 

4)  Database with Legal Research Component

Nexis Uni:: Search this database for federal and state cases; law review articles; as well as federal and state statutes and regulations..

The Nexis Uni homepage provides access to case law and legislation through the drop-down menu “All Content Types” to the right of the search box.  A screen shot is below.

Add keywords to search box after selecting US Cases and jurisdiction or US Legislation and  federal or state designation.

 

 

 

 

 

5)  Web Sites for Federal Information        

• Congress.gov:  Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative  information.  This is the place to look for Bills as well as other legislative sources such as Public Laws and committee reports.  (Policy)
       
       On the homepage the default search is for "Current Legislation" and this may prove a good place to start.  Enter keywords for search and use quotes around phrases when appropriate.  If you are not finding what you want, try extending the timeframe.  In the left margin check off the earlier Congress and run the search or at the top choose All Legislation.    
       
          If you have a Public Law such as Every Student Succeeds Act, Public Law 114-95, the title of the act can be searched in quotes and then limit results to "Became Law."  Also can search by law number, enter in quotes this way:  "public law no 114-95"
   
       Another example:  Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), Public Law 103-322  (part of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994)    The best way to search for this law is by law number, enter in quotes his way:  "public law no 103-322" 
   

 

• United States Code  -  The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. This is the freely available website from the U.S. House of Representatives, Office of the Law Revision Counsel.  Keyword searching is available.  (Policy)
   

• Electronic Code of Federal Regulations - This is the compilation of federal agency regulations.  This is the freely available website from the Federal Government, the Federal Digital System. Keyword searching is available without entering a Title Number or selecting a Section.  (Policy Implementation)

 

6)  State & Local Government on the Net  

State & Local Government on the Net:  The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments. Use the drop-down menus on the left to view directory pages for:

• States: State Government Offices - View all the websites in a given state -- from a state's home page or governor's site to the smallest counties or townships.

Browse or search Connecticut Law by subject. 

This website is sponsored by the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Libraries.

Stojkovie, S. (2016). Crime and Justice Policy. In S. Schechter, T. S. Vontz, T. A. Birkland, M. A. Graber, & J. J. Patrick (Eds.), American          Governance (Vol. 1, pp. 416-418). Macmillan Reference USA. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/
CX3629100167/GVRL?u=a13qu&sid=GVRL&xid=664cf036