This page goes beyond what you already know about entering a word or phrase into a search box and wading through many results.
if you haven't done so already, watch Boolean Operators: Pirates vs. Ninjas to learn how to connect your terms to get better results.
Then, the series of Scopus videos shows you how to use Scopus most effectively as a Quinnipiac student.
Since these videos were created by the vendor of Scopus, take a look at the Full Text links in Scopus box for typical options for getting to the whole article.
Scopus provides access to peer-reviewed research and conference literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 23,500 academic journals, conference papers, trade publications, books, and links to quality web sites. It contains over 77.8 million citations. Scopus does not use its own controlled vocabulary, but displays author keywords and any other controlled vocabularies (MeSH, EMTREE, GEOBASE) assigned to the article at publication. It is a subscription database; our success is paid by Quinnipiac University. Includes links to subscribed full text through Quinnipiac and Open Access full text.
Scopus does not use a single controlled vocabulary to assign subjects to articles. When an article has author-supplied keywords, publisher-supplied keywords, or controlled vocabulary from other databases (such as MeSH from PubMed, or Engineering controlled terms for Engineering Village), these are included in the article's record.
There are three places to find the full text of an article in Scopus. When Scopus can link to an article directly, the Download link will save it to your computer’s Downloads folder. If you get the message, “This document could not be downloaded. Check with publisher(s) or try your link resolver” go on to the Q Check for Full Text and Check for full text options (opens in a new window) links. If we don’t subscribe to the journal, the Q Check for Full Text link will offer a Request This Item link to our Interlibrary Loan system, which may be able to get it from another library.
